How to Be a Gentleman : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 29, 2011
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 9 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    There's nothing to really dislike about CBS' new sitcom How to Be a Gentleman. There's just not that much there at all.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 12, 2011
    58
    The cast is an embarrassment of potential, but Dillon is wearing as a Drama-like dude; the cultural-obsession-with-youth trope is old; and the learning-to-be-a-man stuff is pat. It's very meh.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 29, 2011
    42
    On top of having a dated premise, it just feels tired.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 29, 2011
    42
    This series won't last long enough for him to complete his education.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 28, 2011
    40
    How to Be a Gentleman feels as if it comes from someone who knows a fair amount about constructing a sitcom but not quite enough about being funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 28, 2011
    42
    There's no "here" here.
  7. Reviewed by: Raffi Paul
    Sep 29, 2011
    60
    As ordinary as this plot sounds, How To Be a Gentleman has a couple of things going for it, namely, Hornsby and Dillon.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    Is CBS out of their minds? This is the worst show on TV since Glee. I didn't laugh for one second during the premiere. This needs to beIs CBS out of their minds? This is the worst show on TV since Glee. I didn't laugh for one second during the premiere. This needs to be cancelled. Watch Parks and Recreation at 8:30 on NBC instead. Full Review »
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    0
    The only thing that I hate more than the pilot episode to How To Be a Gentleman is federal taxes. Kevin Dillon is not in the rightThe only thing that I hate more than the pilot episode to How To Be a Gentleman is federal taxes. Kevin Dillon is not in the right post-Entourage role. The writing is weak. The characters are flat. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    The only positive thing I can say about this sludge is that it cured my constipation.
    Is Johnny Drama really this talentless? Apparently.
    The only positive thing I can say about this sludge is that it cured my constipation.
    Is Johnny Drama really this talentless? Apparently. The writing made me cringe, the acting made me think I (or anyone for that matter) could act, and the concept
    was, well, deull and lack any imagination. Really, who would pay to air this crap?
    Oh, right.
    Full Review »