How to Be a Gentleman : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 29, 2011
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 9 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 29, 2011
    70
    I've watched the pilot possibly too many times not to notice how the parts have been glued together and the jokes teed up, but the performances are good.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 28, 2011
    70
    How to be a Gentleman has some sharp writing, good byplay between the stars and a fair number of laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 28, 2011
    67
    This is a comedy with a solid core group of characters and a chance to go the distance.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    Sep 26, 2011
    75
    The notion that decent guys need to learn how to be "real men" from macho jerks is a little silly, even for a sitcom. But the pilot does serve up some laughs, especially when Flight of the Conchords vet Rhys Darby is on screen.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    Is CBS out of their minds? This is the worst show on TV since Glee. I didn't laugh for one second during the premiere. This needs to beIs CBS out of their minds? This is the worst show on TV since Glee. I didn't laugh for one second during the premiere. This needs to be cancelled. Watch Parks and Recreation at 8:30 on NBC instead. Full Review »
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    0
    The only thing that I hate more than the pilot episode to How To Be a Gentleman is federal taxes. Kevin Dillon is not in the rightThe only thing that I hate more than the pilot episode to How To Be a Gentleman is federal taxes. Kevin Dillon is not in the right post-Entourage role. The writing is weak. The characters are flat. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    The only positive thing I can say about this sludge is that it cured my constipation.
    Is Johnny Drama really this talentless? Apparently.
    The only positive thing I can say about this sludge is that it cured my constipation.
    Is Johnny Drama really this talentless? Apparently. The writing made me cringe, the acting made me think I (or anyone for that matter) could act, and the concept
    was, well, deull and lack any imagination. Really, who would pay to air this crap?
    Oh, right.
    Full Review »