How to Get the Guy : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 12, 2006
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 9 out of 37

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KellyA
    Jul 3, 2006
    2
    One point for potentially being a good idea and another for the coaches trying there best at what they were given. The show focused entirely too much on alcohol consumption. I understand having a drink, but getting drunk on your third date isn't very attractive. Whether they should be or not, teenagers were probably watching and the show portrayed that it was OK to make out or more One point for potentially being a good idea and another for the coaches trying there best at what they were given. The show focused entirely too much on alcohol consumption. I understand having a drink, but getting drunk on your third date isn't very attractive. Whether they should be or not, teenagers were probably watching and the show portrayed that it was OK to make out or more with the guy the third time you've seen him. I know it is for adults, but I didn't feel that there was a good messge being sent (even to myself). Expand
  2. KellyT.
    Oct 7, 2007
    0
    What a bunch of crap! None of these women, in the grand scheme of things - or the men for that matter - were all that attractive. But the one that irritated me the most was the oriental girl (I'm bi-racial myself, so don't accuse me of being a racist). It is so obvious to me that she dumped Josh because she had an overly high opinion of herself and thought that she could do What a bunch of crap! None of these women, in the grand scheme of things - or the men for that matter - were all that attractive. But the one that irritated me the most was the oriental girl (I'm bi-racial myself, so don't accuse me of being a racist). It is so obvious to me that she dumped Josh because she had an overly high opinion of herself and thought that she could do better. Poor Josh! I tried to like him, but what was there to like? So, when this girl realized that she wasn't all that hot (I have seen many, many more Asian women who are thousands of times more beautiful than she is), she decided that she better go back to Josh before her luck ran out completely. She does not love Josh; she's a gold-digger and deep down Josh knows it, too. Most of these guys probably would not have dated any of these girls if they weren't going to be on TV. Nothing against the other girls - they just need to believe in themselves because they DO have a lot going for them. Just don't settle, like what's-her-name is doing with Josh! Expand
  3. TB
    Jun 14, 2006
    0
    Utterly embarrassing, a waste of airtime. Who on earth would set a het dating show in San Francisco? The "coaches" are annoying, and the victims are hard to believe as having problems getting a date. Just a terrible show. Watch a test pattern instead.
  4. ABC
    Jun 17, 2006
    3
    How to Get a Guy - mindless reality t.v. at a low point..women trying to pick up guys..sinking to a lowpoint as 'hookers'
  5. C.B.
    Jun 19, 2006
    2
    Wow is this show bad.
  6. robb
    Jun 19, 2006
    0
    Not good as an opiate. I'd suggest a Bud. And I HATE Budweiser.
  7. lynns
    Jun 26, 2006
    2
    Why are we surprised to see such a horrible show in an age where everyone wants their 15 minutes of reality fame? These female and male twits are getting way over exposed in this painfully dull dating marathon. Speaking of snoozefest, with all of the lip locking they have learned from the self appointed "expert" coaches, this cast of acting wannabes would do better performing in Sealy Why are we surprised to see such a horrible show in an age where everyone wants their 15 minutes of reality fame? These female and male twits are getting way over exposed in this painfully dull dating marathon. Speaking of snoozefest, with all of the lip locking they have learned from the self appointed "expert" coaches, this cast of acting wannabes would do better performing in Sealy Posturpedic Mattress commercials than torturing us further with their romantic "woes". Expand
  8. GGR
    Jun 27, 2006
    1
    I only catch it because there is nothing else on at that time. It's still really bad. Too much irritating editing, too many stupid games and techniques and too many slick, shiny people make for a nauseating hour. I mean, I got married without even dating the person I married. We just were friends that decided that we always wanted to hang out together. And you know, sleep together. I only catch it because there is nothing else on at that time. It's still really bad. Too much irritating editing, too many stupid games and techniques and too many slick, shiny people make for a nauseating hour. I mean, I got married without even dating the person I married. We just were friends that decided that we always wanted to hang out together. And you know, sleep together. Mindless dating games are overrated. Expand
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. 30
    It's thoroughly artificial and proud of it. The four women are a little too attractive, their comments and voiceovers feel a little too semi-scripted, and everyone is a little too willing to ignore the camera crew on the dates.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    33
    Guy is almost that bad date that makes for a good story, but instead it's just a bad date that won't say good night. [16 Jun 2006, p.70]
  3. It's an artificial conceit for a superficial show.