Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 8, 2011
    100
    The photography is sweepingly gorgeous--this must be the best of all possible planets. [18 Apr 2011, p.46]
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 8, 2011
    80
    Human Planet can't match the sweeping grandeur of the nature documentaries that preceded it under the same auspices, "Planet Earth" and "Life." But to paraphrase what a kindly farmer once said to his sheepherding pig, It'll do.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 11, 2011
    75
    Another Discovery/BBC beauty, but short on answering obvious questions.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 8, 2011
    60
    Sure, it all makes for pretty filmmaking, but isn't not having to risk your life for a simple meal one of the benefits of civilization? There's something unsettling about glorifying subsistence living for the sake of our high-definition televisions.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. May 13, 2011
    2
    Where are the women? I just watched the jungle/mountains/grasslands video, and noticed that all of the stories focus on men, with the exception of one story, which shows an old, blind woman who is saved by a visiting doctor. I was very disappointed to discover that even in the year 2011, male filmmakers continue to focus on the "heroics" of other men while ignoring or failing to explore the heroic contributions of women everywhere in this world. I'm surprised that nobody else has noticed this. Most of us have spent our entire lives learning about the contributions of men, while hearing or reading very little about women. Why can't the Human Planet series break through the old and predictable male perspective and produce work that encompasses everybody? Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    The photography is simply beautiful: absorbing, stunning, and often times strikingly gruesome. The behind the scenes bit at the end of every episode also helps you appreciate how difficult to obtain a lot of the footage was. The only letdown is the final episode. As a standalone episode it is solid, but feels out of place alongside the more memorable and enlightening ones before it. 9.6/10 Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    During each of the eight episodes of this sweeping documentary I found myself staring at the screen, mouth agape. There are moments in each of the realms that will take your breath away. Tells stories of life at the fringes of our planet's livability with grace and beauty. I'll admit that I love documentaries in general, but this is a supremely watchable series for fans of all genres. Learn about your world. Well done. Full Review »