• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2010
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    If you are a fan of tight, well written, well acted action movies than this is the show for you. Every time I watch an episode I am constantly surprised at how good it is. Imagine, if you will, an extremely talented script writer who has clearly watched and internalized every single action movie for the last 40 years, ripped through all of slow moving and poorly constructed plot linesIf you are a fan of tight, well written, well acted action movies than this is the show for you. Every time I watch an episode I am constantly surprised at how good it is. Imagine, if you will, an extremely talented script writer who has clearly watched and internalized every single action movie for the last 40 years, ripped through all of slow moving and poorly constructed plot lines and said, "I can do this better." That is what Human Target is. I have yet to be let down. The biggest mystery for myself is how they afford all of the incredible sets and locations they shoot in. It's so much bigger than a TV show, each episode is essentially an action movie that lasts an hour. It's not your typical procedural where they traipse back and forth across the same 4 sets and then chase a guy down at the end of the ep. They fly all over the world, blow big things up (i.e. choppers and planes), take out the bad guys and try to send a message of redemption for unsavory past deeds and most importantly it is all about doing the right thing. This is what T.V. should be. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2010
    7
    The beginning of the second season didn't exactly flow naturally from the cliffhanger ending of the first and they changed the magnificent opening credits music to something similar but underwhelming. However, the core adventuring party is still fun, the new female rogue character seems nice and the tone is still the winning mixture of high adrenaline and not really being worried aboutThe beginning of the second season didn't exactly flow naturally from the cliffhanger ending of the first and they changed the magnificent opening credits music to something similar but underwhelming. However, the core adventuring party is still fun, the new female rogue character seems nice and the tone is still the winning mixture of high adrenaline and not really being worried about heroes win win the day - they always will. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    8
    The second season pilot was a great episode, but the resolution to last seasons cliffhanger seemed like more of an after thought than a solution.

    It was almost as if they said, "oh yeah, we need to fix that problem, then we can move on"

    Overall I'm happy with the direction the series seems to be going in.
  4. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    I love the new (female) additions to the cast. Jackie Earle Haley & Chi McBride are obviously phenomenal, but the new "big boss", who was awesome in "Luther". will be excellent on Human Target. And the new wiley street-level thief seems like she'll be a lot of fun. Yes, this is a comic-book type of show, but we need some testosterone on TV in the absence of The Unit. A little right vs.I love the new (female) additions to the cast. Jackie Earle Haley & Chi McBride are obviously phenomenal, but the new "big boss", who was awesome in "Luther". will be excellent on Human Target. And the new wiley street-level thief seems like she'll be a lot of fun. Yes, this is a comic-book type of show, but we need some testosterone on TV in the absence of The Unit. A little right vs. wrong action. Collapse
  5. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Good start, hopefully better than the first season. As a major fan of the GN i am increasingly excited about Mark Valley and the force he brings to HT and i hope this show becomes one of my favorites.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Feb 3, 2011
    50
    In its second season it's a wisecracking caper series with glossy B-movie production values, an appealing cast, an overlay of global espionage fantasy, and action scenes so inventively choreographed that you can almost forgive their cliched shaky-cam imagery and "What the hell just happened?" editing. And that's it.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 19, 2010
    75
    The interplay of the sexes has been used to better effect on other action vehicles--including FX's animated Archer--but the actresses lighten the tone, adding zip to a show that thrives on speed. [29 Nov 2010. p.42]
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 17, 2010
    70
    Human Target is still Human Target. If you enjoyed the show last year, you will now. If, like me, you were hoping for something just a little bit deeper, you might need to wait a while to see.