Human Target : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2010
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 82
  2. Negative: 8 out of 82

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. LoriK
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    We really enjoy the special effects. It is an action packed show that can be viewed by the whole family. The story line is also very good I hope it will stay on the air we are sick of reality shows.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    1
    Somewhere in the second episode, I realized that *I* was the human target. I had been targeted by some company to watch this awful, sloppy mess of a program somebody had churned out. And it must've worked, because I gave it over half a season, mostly based on fan reviews.

    Bad acting, derivative plots, no chemistry between any character, bad special effects, and the MUSIC! Heh. The
    Somewhere in the second episode, I realized that *I* was the human target. I had been targeted by some company to watch this awful, sloppy mess of a program somebody had churned out. And it must've worked, because I gave it over half a season, mostly based on fan reviews.

    Bad acting, derivative plots, no chemistry between any character, bad special effects, and the MUSIC! Heh. The music! I think it's imported from James Bond action sequences in the 90s, and it's playing very LOUDLY the whole time.
    Expand
  3. Paul
    Jan 18, 2010
    5
    Anything based on a comic book is going to be a little out there, but this is wildly implausible. Gotta stop a train in 20 miles but you can't use the emergency brakes because they might blow up (blow up ?!?)? How about decelerating? I'm neutral on this one. It's just a "shoe horn in as much action as you can" show, which makes the action kinda mechanical, which means Anything based on a comic book is going to be a little out there, but this is wildly implausible. Gotta stop a train in 20 miles but you can't use the emergency brakes because they might blow up (blow up ?!?)? How about decelerating? I'm neutral on this one. It's just a "shoe horn in as much action as you can" show, which makes the action kinda mechanical, which means little suspense. Whether it sticks as a guilty pleasure is hard to say, but there's so many good actions show that actually are well written, why wouldn't I watch one of those? Like the show that followed it: 24. Expand
  4. Venator
    Jan 24, 2010
    5
    Gotta say the users had it breaken down better than the critics, so nothing to add.
  5. GordonT
    Jan 24, 2010
    3
    A really stupid poorly written show. Don't waste your time.
  6. MarcD.
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    Not a bad little show, but it feels thin. The powerhouse supporting cast is the best thing about the show. Jackie Earl Haley is perfect in his role. Seems like The Watchmen opened up a bunch of "scary guy" parts for the tiny dude.
  7. BrianN.
    Jan 20, 2010
    8
    Very good show but could use a little action a la '24'. Valley plays the "Bond on steroids" role well without being arrogant about it. I was happy to see Chi McBride back on telelvision and hope they give him more onscreen time in the future. Jackie Earle Haley's character Guerrero hooked me immediately so definitely give him more air time as well. Notable debut for Human Very good show but could use a little action a la '24'. Valley plays the "Bond on steroids" role well without being arrogant about it. I was happy to see Chi McBride back on telelvision and hope they give him more onscreen time in the future. Jackie Earle Haley's character Guerrero hooked me immediately so definitely give him more air time as well. Notable debut for Human Target, looking forward to seeing the series reach its full potential in the coming months. Expand
  8. MaddogJones
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    Great show, very entertaining. Leave your brain at the door and enjoy an action packed, humorous, fun show.
  9. DalalsP
    Jan 18, 2010
    6
    It was okay. The plot was pretty boring and predictable but it looks like there might be some potential. Like the three main characters.
  10. SeanR
    Jan 17, 2010
    6
    The action is fairly innovative (dig that air shaft fight), but the details of the episode's and the season's plot don't stand up to much scrutiny. Worth watching to see if the writing catches up to Valley and the action's charm.
  11. PeterD
    Jan 22, 2010
    7
    Not awe inspiring, but charming. I find it sort of amusing how people equate some of the set pieces with the comic, when the comic (at least in its most recent version) wasn't much for goofy over the top action.
  12. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    As a matter of fact,those two actors as supporting role impress me more.I think this show is better than Burn Notice,especially the women roles are much prettier.HAHA~
  13. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    Extremely well written show, very well acted, great chemistry. One of the best shows on TV. All of the main actors are superb. Please keep renewing this show.
  14. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    TV needs more shows that provide some escapist entertainment. This is a great example, and it's well done. A few laughs and some action, and the occasional multi-episode arc. If you're not checking out Human Target, you're missing out.
  15. Jun 3, 2015
    8
    FOX has become notorious for cancelling great shows before they'd even gotten started. To them, if the show isn't in the top 50 after it's initial 13 episode run, it isn't worth their time or money. As a result, some of the most imaginative and intense shows to come along in years are cancelled before they've even gotten started. Human Target is on a list that includes, Alcatraz, TheFOX has become notorious for cancelling great shows before they'd even gotten started. To them, if the show isn't in the top 50 after it's initial 13 episode run, it isn't worth their time or money. As a result, some of the most imaginative and intense shows to come along in years are cancelled before they've even gotten started. Human Target is on a list that includes, Alcatraz, The Chicago Code, Gracepoint, Almost Human, Dollhouse, and dozens of others that you've probably never heard of. Unless it's a top 50 show right from the start, or a lame animated comedy, Fox has no use for it and shows like Human Target are replaced with Bob's Burgers and The Cleveland Show.

    For those unfamiliar with the story, Human Target is based on a long running DC comic by the same title. It is the story of Christopher Chance (Mark Valley), a mysterious man with a mysterious past. Joined by a former police detective, and a hacker/thug named Guerrero, Chance has formed a company that discreetly serves an elite clientele. Their job is to protect their clients from threats at any cost, by injecting themselves into the persons life. Chance's job is to identify the threat and eliminate it before anything happens to the client.

    I don't know how Mark Valley is not a household name at this point. This guy is so intense, always has tremedous, unorthodox ways of getting out of trouble, and to be honest, he really reminds me of MacGyver. Valley has the looks, the charm, and of course the skills to make Christopher Chance jump off the pages and come to life.

    But this show isn't just an episonic show, there is also a deep and complex back story that gets more intense with each episode. We know the players and what they are capable of very quickly in the series, but what we don't know is their history. As more and more is revealed, the characters just get deeper and more intense.

    Human Target was a great show, it was original, exciting, and better than almost anything on FOX at the present time. Mark Valley is very impressive, as is the writing. Every episode has at least one thing in it that you did not see coming, and if it were up to me, this show would have been on for years. Thanks for exciting me, getting my hopes up, and disappointing me once again FOX!
    Expand
  16. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    Awesome first season! Every episode feels a bit like a fun and fast paced action movie Unfortunately FOX wasn't too happy with the ratings and changed the whole concept. So in a short: Awesome first season but the second one didn't work for me.
  17. Jun 22, 2015
    10
    A well-done show permits suspension of disbelief, and this was well done. Loved the show, hated that it was canceled. It never disappointed. It was pure fun, with plenty of excitement.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Right now it's an action-packed drama that entertains with ease. That's plenty good enough.
  2. 50
    There’s too much hinting around about Chance’s troubled past--reflecting the solemn pretensions of the comic book-- and the writing, in terms of both humor and plotting, isn’t at the level of the show’s role models.
  3. 75
    The tweaks this new Fox hour brings to the template are a higher degree of special-effects-fueled action, a faster pace and a consistently amusing tongue-in-cheek tone.