Human Target : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2010
Season #: 1, 2
Human Target Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The series adaptation of the graphic novel has Mark Valley as Christopher Chance, who takes the place of his clients while investigating who is behind the threats.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    Target is pure, utter, ridiculous, over-the-top-into-the-ravine entertainment.
  2. 80
    Mark Valley, droll and dashing, is long overdue a hit series, and I’d like to think this fast-paced piece of popcorn fluff could be the ticket. I’d watch Human Target for the retro-cool opening credits alone.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    Although the series departs from its comicbook roots, the premiere establishes a topnotch look, clever style and bigscreen tone. Perhaps most significantly, the second hour happily matches or surpasses the first.
  4. 70
    It's a slam-bang action adventure with comedy and a little bit of personal drama. And it doesn't aspire to be anything more than that.
  5. Although this Valley is too deep at times, there are enough elements to provide a fun, action-packed experience.
  6. Nothing very important is happening here, but if you love "24" for its silliness rather than its sometimes muddled message, "Human Target" might just hit the bull's-eye for you.
  7. 30
    Even the flashy action is of a piece with all this conventional structuring, as Chance regularly takes a few minutes to run and jump or punch and shoot. Such predictability does Human Target no favors.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    Extremely well written show, very well acted, great chemistry. One of the best shows on TV. All of the main actors are superb. Please keepExtremely well written show, very well acted, great chemistry. One of the best shows on TV. All of the main actors are superb. Please keep renewing this show. Expand
  2. LoriK
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    We really enjoy the special effects. It is an action packed show that can be viewed by the whole family. The story line is also very good I We really enjoy the special effects. It is an action packed show that can be viewed by the whole family. The story line is also very good I hope it will stay on the air we are sick of reality shows. Expand
  3. MarcD.
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    Not a bad little show, but it feels thin. The powerhouse supporting cast is the best thing about the show. Jackie Earl Haley is perfect in Not a bad little show, but it feels thin. The powerhouse supporting cast is the best thing about the show. Jackie Earl Haley is perfect in his role. Seems like The Watchmen opened up a bunch of "scary guy" parts for the tiny dude. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2015
    8
    FOX has become notorious for cancelling great shows before they'd even gotten started. To them, if the show isn't in the top 50 after it'sFOX has become notorious for cancelling great shows before they'd even gotten started. To them, if the show isn't in the top 50 after it's initial 13 episode run, it isn't worth their time or money. As a result, some of the most imaginative and intense shows to come along in years are cancelled before they've even gotten started. Human Target is on a list that includes, Alcatraz, The Chicago Code, Gracepoint, Almost Human, Dollhouse, and dozens of others that you've probably never heard of. Unless it's a top 50 show right from the start, or a lame animated comedy, Fox has no use for it and shows like Human Target are replaced with Bob's Burgers and The Cleveland Show.

    For those unfamiliar with the story, Human Target is based on a long running DC comic by the same title. It is the story of Christopher Chance (Mark Valley), a mysterious man with a mysterious past. Joined by a former police detective, and a hacker/thug named Guerrero, Chance has formed a company that discreetly serves an elite clientele. Their job is to protect their clients from threats at any cost, by injecting themselves into the persons life. Chance's job is to identify the threat and eliminate it before anything happens to the client.

    I don't know how Mark Valley is not a household name at this point. This guy is so intense, always has tremedous, unorthodox ways of getting out of trouble, and to be honest, he really reminds me of MacGyver. Valley has the looks, the charm, and of course the skills to make Christopher Chance jump off the pages and come to life.

    But this show isn't just an episonic show, there is also a deep and complex back story that gets more intense with each episode. We know the players and what they are capable of very quickly in the series, but what we don't know is their history. As more and more is revealed, the characters just get deeper and more intense.

    Human Target was a great show, it was original, exciting, and better than almost anything on FOX at the present time. Mark Valley is very impressive, as is the writing. Every episode has at least one thing in it that you did not see coming, and if it were up to me, this show would have been on for years. Thanks for exciting me, getting my hopes up, and disappointing me once again FOX!
    Expand
  5. PeterD
    Jan 22, 2010
    7
    Not awe inspiring, but charming. I find it sort of amusing how people equate some of the set pieces with the comic, when the comic (at least Not awe inspiring, but charming. I find it sort of amusing how people equate some of the set pieces with the comic, when the comic (at least in its most recent version) wasn't much for goofy over the top action. Expand
  6. SeanR
    Jan 17, 2010
    6
    The action is fairly innovative (dig that air shaft fight), but the details of the episode's and the season's plot don't stand The action is fairly innovative (dig that air shaft fight), but the details of the episode's and the season's plot don't stand up to much scrutiny. Worth watching to see if the writing catches up to Valley and the action's charm. Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    1
    Somewhere in the second episode, I realized that *I* was the human target. I had been targeted by some company to watch this awful, sloppySomewhere in the second episode, I realized that *I* was the human target. I had been targeted by some company to watch this awful, sloppy mess of a program somebody had churned out. And it must've worked, because I gave it over half a season, mostly based on fan reviews.

    Bad acting, derivative plots, no chemistry between any character, bad special effects, and the MUSIC! Heh. The music! I think it's imported from James Bond action sequences in the 90s, and it's playing very LOUDLY the whole time.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  2. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  3. Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns

    Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns Image
    Published: April 22, 2010
    Earlier this week, we told you which TV shows were in danger in cancellation. Now, learn about what you can do to save your favorite show -- and what other fans have done in the past to mount successful campaigns.
  4. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.