Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 18, 2015
    90
    Humans feels like that sort [The Twilight Zone] of instant and very humanistic classic. [22-28 Jun 2015, p.10]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 25, 2015
    88
    [A] compelling, smartly acted new co-production from AMC and Britain's Channel 4 that explores who we are and how fragile our own grip on humanity can be.
  3. Reviewed by: Emily L. Stephens
    Jun 25, 2015
    83
    In the first two episodes, Humans looks like a promising excursion into familiar territory, and one that plays well on several levels. It’s a domestic drama, a sci-fi thriller, and a meditation on alienation, all wrapped up in one sleek package.
  4. Reviewed by: Mekeisha Madden Toby
    Jun 30, 2015
    80
    While a subplot involving a John Brown-type Synth liberator, Leo (“Merlin’s” Colin Morgan), is a heavy-handed distraction, Humans holds up as a slightly humorous, thought-provoking, creepy piece of sci-fi filled with sympathetic performances and solid writing.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 30, 2015
    80
    Humans is a clever piece of work.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 30, 2015
    80
    The Synths start to act in unexpected ways, and several ominous developments warn us that artificial intelligence must be controlled and directed. What stays with us about Humans, though, are the reminders of all the little ways things will change once we hand part of our lives over to robots.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Jun 26, 2015
    80
    And yet, given how derivative it is, (say it with me now), Humans turns out far better than you'd think possible. The performances, pacing and direction are that compellingly good, at least in the first two episodes made available to critics.
  8. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 25, 2015
    80
    Humans, a British product based on a Swedish series, feels fresh nonetheless, thanks to a multiple-plotline approach, a deft cast and its refusal to be simplistic.
  9. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 25, 2015
    80
    The show is at its best when it digs into the psychological subtleties of the synth-human relationship, including the notion that, with their precision and regularity, they could render us inferior, helpless, and despairingly unambitious.
  10. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 25, 2015
    80
    While the past few TV seasons have had more than a few robot shows, this one bears watching, largely because it doesn’t insist there’s a “robots are good” or “robots are bad” way of thinking.
  11. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jun 25, 2015
    80
    A charming, exciting, and impeccably written sci-fi drama for grown-ups.
  12. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 25, 2015
    80
    Like the dystopian British anthology Black Mirror, Humans is a sci-fi premise smartly reimagined for our own age of tech outsourcing.
  13. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 24, 2015
    80
    Humans finds a way to bring intrigue to a very familiar conflict.
  14. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 23, 2015
    80
    Humans intelligently adds to this decades-long conversation [what it means to be human] with strong writing, interesting performances, and, most of all, an eerie, disconcerting tone that forces us to question exactly what we want to happen.
  15. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 25, 2015
    75
    A stylish, intelligent production.
  16. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 25, 2015
    75
    In a vacuum, the series is a solid, if not thrilling, piece of classic science fiction, exploring questions about the line between man and robot, whether computers can have souls, and whether mankind is destined to be rendered obsolete by the machines we're creating.
  17. It's familiar sci-fi territory, of course, but the show tackles it in intriguing style while delivering some suspenseful touches.
  18. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 26, 2015
    70
    Humans does introduce some intriguing scenarios that may, or may not, pay off.
  19. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 25, 2015
    70
    For now, though, it's a familiar-looking drama that raises some less familiar questions about the things that makes us human--and the things that threaten to rob us of our humanity.
  20. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 24, 2015
    70
    This main narrative of Humans, which is based on a Swedish series and written by Sam Vincent and Jonathan Brackley, is solid if somewhat familiar; the truth and beauty of the series lies in the various B plots.
  21. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Jun 22, 2015
    67
    Some beats are poignant.... But there's nothing here that Blade Runner; I, Robot; Black Mirror; and many more haven't done before and done better. [26 Jun 2015, p.56]
  22. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Jun 30, 2015
    60
    Most of Humans' characters are bores, and the story unfolds with the stately pacing of the typical cable drama.
  23. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 25, 2015
    50
    Simultaneously juggling a quartet of plots is hardly unusual for the modern major drama, but Humans doesn’t wring much life (artificial or otherwise) from any of them. And while there are unexpected twists and mysteries that linger through the second hour, they’re not compelling enough to arouse much curiosity about where they might begin to intersect.
  24. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 23, 2015
    50
    The scripts are adequate and many of the performances are effective. In spite of revisiting familiar territory, Humans could be more engaging if it had a greater sense of urgency. As it is, the show is, you should pardon the expression, just a tad too robotic.
  25. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 17, 2015
    50
    Humans does have that pleasingly antiseptic feeling of euro-cool about it (think of how the Benedict Cumberbatch “Sherlock” series looks, or BBC America’s “Orphan Black”), which can sometimes lure viewers into the belief that they’re watching something classy and sophisticated, when really they’re just snacking on the TV equivalent of rice cakes.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 156
  1. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    Sci-fi/psychological is rising to a peak right now... Orphan Black, Mr. robot, and now this...my other favorite sci-fi is getting cancelledSci-fi/psychological is rising to a peak right now... Orphan Black, Mr. robot, and now this...my other favorite sci-fi is getting cancelled with only six more episodes this summer (looking at you Continuum). Anyway, this show is stellar and the pilot episode wastes no time diving into the deep. I was concerned it was going to take a while to build up to the disturbing synth behavior, but we are dropped into the disturbing scenario almost from the get-go. If you want an even better pilot than this DO NOT MISS MR. ROBOT; still I give both a ten trusting the rides of both are going to be worth it, Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2015
    9
    so far so good! a standard and currently popular psychological series with a breath of sci-fi with great cast and play. i can feel the hatredso far so good! a standard and currently popular psychological series with a breath of sci-fi with great cast and play. i can feel the hatred and rage for one or two character for being astonishingly stupid, i can feel the sadness, i can feel the joy ..... well what can i say? the casts are just good at it! Full Review »
  3. Jul 11, 2015
    6
    Any time the story involves anthropomorphic robots, you know it's going to be about them developing consciousness. And that doesn't reallyAny time the story involves anthropomorphic robots, you know it's going to be about them developing consciousness. And that doesn't really matter anymore, the important thing is how you conduct your show and how you make a trite storyline feel fresh and innovative nonetheless.

    Humans does it quite well, first and foremost by inserting the humanoid robots in a completely everyday suburban context and in what feel like contemporary times, instead of the far future. It's a cool start of the season, I'm just hoping the story becomes a little more intricate.
    Full Review »