• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 30, 2011
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Dec 2, 2011
    70
    It's hard to know why a conventional sitcom turns out to be better than average, with some of the same appeal--mapcap and yet still warm and relatively gimmick-free--as the 1980s' "Kate & Allie."
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 30, 2011
    67
    Hate touches a comic nerve, the war of independence between teenage girls and their moms, but invariably settles for a hug when a few more slammed doors might be funnier.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Nov 30, 2011
    60
    The hardball banter over coolness quotient is coupled with some pretty amusing generation-gap comedy.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Nov 28, 2011
    58
    This is less the stuff of a sitcom than an episode of MTV's True Life: Our Mothers Are Neurotic.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Nov 30, 2011
    50
    The only fun comes from Pressly and Finneran, who are so likeable they almost overcome the overwrought action.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 28, 2011
    50
    The show is passable when its writers remember it is an ensemble piece.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Nov 29, 2011
    42
    The bedeviled moms can be bawdy fun on occasion in this broad Fox sitcom. But their unctuous, obnoxious 14-year-olds basically ruin every scene they're in.
  8. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Nov 29, 2011
    42
    This feels more like a rushed afterthought by Fox instead of a fully developed premise that could carry a pair of seasoned actors to their retirement, or at least to a big payday.
  9. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Nov 30, 2011
    40
    Having come up with an intriguing premise, co-creators Sherry Bilsing-Graham ("The New Adventures of Old Christine," "Friends") and Ellen Kreamer ("The New Adventures of Old Christine,") are either too timid or too hamstrung by network expectations to execute it.
  10. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Nov 29, 2011
    38
    Aside from a few funny jokes padded between layers of groaners, there's quite a bit to hate--or at least strongly dislike--about Fox's new sitcom.
  11. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 22, 2011
    38
    An abysmal new series, but Tony winner Katie Finneran is a great comic talent. [5 Dec 2011, p.48]
  12. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 29, 2011
    33
    With the show so half-hearted about its subject matter, Teenage Daughter has to lean on the hackiest of punchlines.
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    33
    It was too much like what you see in an afternoon at Tyson's Corner.
  14. Reviewed by: David Eckstein
    Nov 30, 2011
    30
    It quickly devolves into borderline slapstick comedy that was old when the Three Stooges were doing it.
  15. Reviewed by: Michael Abernethy
    Nov 30, 2011
    30
    I Hate My Teenage Daughter offers precious few chuckles and lots of angst and argument.
  16. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Nov 29, 2011
    30
    It should be funnier, but aptly enough, the pilot fails by also clumsily trying too hard, pushing what should be lighthearted portraits of insecure, inadequate mothers into grotesque caricatures.
  17. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 29, 2011
    30
    That foundation [of reality-based underpinnings], however, pretty much crumbles amid the broad tone, constant squabbling and improbabilities.
  18. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Nov 30, 2011
    25
    You're left with a show mothers and daughters can both hate.
  19. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Nov 29, 2011
    25
    Sad to say, another round of Black Friday madness would deliver more laughs than this brainless new sitcom.
  20. We're left with a shrill sitcom that's hard not to hate.
  21. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    25
    It's one joke ground to dust as the moms abuse their daughters and vice versa, ad infinitum.
  22. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Nov 30, 2011
    20
    It should be called We Hate Every Character on Our Own Sitcom.
  23. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 30, 2011
    20
    The writing is so trite that when the teens balk in an upcoming episode at the idea of a Family Night (to which the ever-present ex-husbands are invited), we share their despair.
  24. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 29, 2011
    20
    There's exactly one funny moment in the dreadful Fox sitcom I Hate My Teenage Daughter.
  25. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 29, 2011
    20
    To make them all screwy but lovable, in the vein of "Raising Hope," requires more work than this show seems to want to do.
  26. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Women are as capable of writing a misogynist, soul-killing TV comedy as anyone else. Exhibit A: I Hate My Teenage Daughter, a shrieky nightmare.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 23 out of 30
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    Jamie Presley tries hard to bring this show to life, but the other woman's character is annoying and the writing is terrible, so ultimately she fails.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    If you think that a mother calling her own daughter a **** is high comedy, then this is the show for you. Those of us who actually love ourIf you think that a mother calling her own daughter a **** is high comedy, then this is the show for you. Those of us who actually love our children, despite whatever conflicts we have have, may want to pass on this. Full Review »
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, this show had mostly its funny moments, but also had some boring moments as well. Other than that this show has me laughingIn my opinion, this show had mostly its funny moments, but also had some boring moments as well. Other than that this show has me laughing till the last scene, and I love Jaime Pressley's acting in this. Plus the two daughters really show good acting skills in their acting. Full Review »