• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 30, 2011
I Hate My Teenage Daughter Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Annie (Jaime Pressly) and Nikki (Katie Finneran) are best friends and single mothers to their teenage daughters who are "mean girls."
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Dec 2, 2011
    70
    It's hard to know why a conventional sitcom turns out to be better than average, with some of the same appeal--mapcap and yet still warm and relatively gimmick-free--as the 1980s' "Kate & Allie."
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Nov 28, 2011
    58
    This is less the stuff of a sitcom than an episode of MTV's True Life: Our Mothers Are Neurotic.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Nov 29, 2011
    42
    The bedeviled moms can be bawdy fun on occasion in this broad Fox sitcom. But their unctuous, obnoxious 14-year-olds basically ruin every scene they're in.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 29, 2011
    30
    That foundation [of reality-based underpinnings], however, pretty much crumbles amid the broad tone, constant squabbling and improbabilities.
  5. Reviewed by: David Eckstein
    Nov 30, 2011
    30
    It quickly devolves into borderline slapstick comedy that was old when the Three Stooges were doing it.
  6. We're left with a shrill sitcom that's hard not to hate.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Women are as capable of writing a misogynist, soul-killing TV comedy as anyone else. Exhibit A: I Hate My Teenage Daughter, a shrieky nightmare.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 10 out of 13
  1. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, this show had mostly its funny moments, but also had some boring moments as well. Other than that this show has me laughingIn my opinion, this show had mostly its funny moments, but also had some boring moments as well. Other than that this show has me laughing till the last scene, and I love Jaime Pressley's acting in this. Plus the two daughters really show good acting skills in their acting. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    This show is absolutely hilarious! It continually makes me smile, great fun for the entire family. Although its not the most original show itThis show is absolutely hilarious! It continually makes me smile, great fun for the entire family. Although its not the most original show it sure has its laughs! Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    I don't understand what the hate from the critics is all about.
    I guess it wasn't a breakthrough in comedy, but i was funny. Not all the time,
    I don't understand what the hate from the critics is all about.
    I guess it wasn't a breakthrough in comedy, but i was funny. Not all the time, but yes it was funny.
    Certainly a lot more entertaining then some of the recent comedy pilots.
    Collapse
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    2
    I was waiting for this to end from the minute it began. It's so cheesy...and it doesn't let Katie Finneran be brilliant like she usually is.I was waiting for this to end from the minute it began. It's so cheesy...and it doesn't let Katie Finneran be brilliant like she usually is. This won't last a season. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    1
    Katie Finneran is a legendary actress and Jaime Pressly is a sharply funny, but this was awful. Terrible writing and the laugh track is justKatie Finneran is a legendary actress and Jaime Pressly is a sharply funny, but this was awful. Terrible writing and the laugh track is just annoying. I'll give it a 1 just for Katie. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    just terrible, terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,just terrible,just terrible, terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,just terrible, terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    If you think that a mother calling her own daughter a **** is high comedy, then this is the show for you. Those of us who actually love ourIf you think that a mother calling her own daughter a **** is high comedy, then this is the show for you. Those of us who actually love our children, despite whatever conflicts we have have, may want to pass on this. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.