I Just Want My Pants Back Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The comedy series is based on the book about an aspiring actor and his 20-something friends as they struggle with their relationships and careers while living in Brooklyn, New York.

    [A sneak peak of the pilot was shown on 2011 August 28 ahead of its official 2012 premiere.]
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 1, 2012
    80
    I Just Want My Pants Back is easily the channel's best effort since plunging into the scripted business, a smart and funny look at a group adept at orchestrating hookups but with few genuine connections.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 2, 2012
    75
    It opens into a fairly entertaining ensemble show about beautiful, bright people.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 2, 2012
    70
    They're a bit too cute. Yet behind all the hipster wordplay, the characters are strangely charming.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 2, 2012
    70
    While not quite as inspired as last year's breakthrough comedy Awkward, MTV's Pants appears to have legs.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 2, 2012
    63
    Some of this show is funny, but you may want to put paper down on your couch to keep you from catching an STD.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Aug 26, 2011
    60
    The laughs are here, some a little on the cheap side, but no more often than cheap laughs pop up in real life. Otherwise, by early indications, Pants makes us care about its characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 2, 2012
    58
    Pants hits the tube already out of style.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    When watching the pilot, I was curious of just what it was going to be like. Going into it, I didn't know what the title meant, but as the episode progressed, it became more and more clear... he just wants his pants back. It was a VERY entertaining and enjoyable episode that was vaguely reminiscent of the brilliantly funny and entertaining MTV animated comedy 'Downtown', which was tragically canceled after a mere 13 episodes. I loved the pilot of this series, and I look forward to more!!! :) Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This show was awsome. Great sex scenes, the drama, and the comedy. i look forward to the whole season and possibly more seasons. This show deserves more seasons Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Fun, sexy, doesn't take itself to seriously. Easy viewing. Not going to win any awards... but I really enjoy the characters and living on a shoe-string humour. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    3
    On the bright side, It's exactly what the producers wanted. It's just like the twenty something kids I went to art school with (as a returning student). Unfortunately, twenty somethings aren't even interesting to each other, let alone anyone else.. seriously, mtv, hipsters just want desperately to fit in without without looking like it's the only thing they think about, and that's not enough meat to hang a show on. There's a reason that shows about life before being forced to join the ranks of the working class, and shows about desperately wanting out of it after getting your fill work better. Because everything that happens in the between time is largely forgettable. I wouldn't ask any of these people how their day went for fear they might actually tell me, so I definitely don't want to spend time watching it. I only tuned in because the title sounded fun. Tuning out now. Collapse
  5. Feb 23, 2012
    0
    this show SUCKS. it is so vulgar its disgusting and not funny at all - sometime in the first 5 minutes of every episode it automatically starts off talkng bout sex or masturbation its rediculous. IM NOT 13 ANYMORE I DONT WATCH MTV FOR THE SEXUAL CONTENT! damn this is worse than teen wolf and aqkward soley for the lame sexual puns i cant even stand to watch. Expand