Important Things with Demetri Martin : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 75
  2. Negative: 12 out of 75

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    It's funny at times but the show is very inconsistent. The skits as well as the stand up are either funny or they are not, There is no middle ground. I would say that's the biggest flaw of the show because it's incredibly awkward watching Demetri delivering an unfunny joke then watching the audience awkwardly laughing at it. Also, Not a fan of the recurring characters, More annoying then funny.
  2. HunterH
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    I love this show. Demetri's interstitials are very well done. His stand-up is a little dry and relies on a lot of editing genius. However a funny show over all.
  3. SamS
    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    Martin is not amusing. He finds himself much funnier than he is, and that is insanely bothersome to me.
  4. HillB.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    It was hilarious!!! "These are Jokes".
  5. ColeM.
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    I love this show. Demetri Martin is my favorite comedian and I hope I will grow up to be as funny as him!!!
  6. BridgerP.
    Apr 24, 2009
    6
    I love demetri's stand-up shows, as I was like him when I was a child, but this show, he tries to be tooooo funny and you can tell he is just trying to be funny. Okay for the younger demographics, but can get slightly annoying
  7. bobs
    Apr 24, 2009
    10
    Demetri Martin is amazing!
  8. Ellen
    Apr 20, 2009
    10
    Can't wait for Season 2!!!!
  9. PatH.
    Apr 19, 2009
    10
    there better be a second season its amazing
  10. TaraK
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    Demetri Martin is hilarious. He's intelligence and humor mixed together makes excellent nerd comedy! I look forward to his next season!
  11. WilliamD
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    It has wit, originality, and strangeness. It's not the funniest show out there, just the most entertaining.
  12. CardB.
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    awesome
  13. ClintM.
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    This show rock! And now we know what a Millenivanillium is! Thanks Demetri !
  14. joshr.
    Mar 22, 2009
    10
    What a great way to bring Martin's comedy each week.
  15. ChrisS
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    Demetri's jokes are hilarious. The best part of the show is when he uses multiple instruments and sings his song. Awesome work!
  16. RobertS
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    Great show! Its extremely funny along with not going to far into the completely stupid and disgusting.
  17. RalphW
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    While not as entertaining or edgy as Chappelle's Show, Important things is remarkably good and a breath of fresh air compared to Mind of Mencia and The Sarah Silverman Show. Don't expect to hold your sides laughing but don't expect to be bored either. The show moves along and definately has its moments. Furthermore, there is a feeling that it will only get better as it While not as entertaining or edgy as Chappelle's Show, Important things is remarkably good and a breath of fresh air compared to Mind of Mencia and The Sarah Silverman Show. Don't expect to hold your sides laughing but don't expect to be bored either. The show moves along and definately has its moments. Furthermore, there is a feeling that it will only get better as it continues. Chill out, crack a beer, and enjoy. Expand
  18. JohnT
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Great show!
  19. TaylorH
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Thought provoking comedy + truly funny material = awesome.
  20. FrankR
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    Funniest show I've seen in a while! Demetri combines his classic stand up humor with many new sketches as well. Two thumbs way up!
  21. ashley
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    Wow what a great show!!! its my favorite TV show!!
  22. JamesW
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Awesome show i have always loved his show
  23. JonathanL
    Feb 25, 2009
    10
    This show is incredibly funny, original and intelligent, too. I've been a fan of Martin since he was the "Trendspotter" on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, and I've been waiting for this show to come on air since Late 2007. This show exceeded my expectations and had one of the best Series Debuts in comedy history, beating American Idol. Martin showcases his versatility and This show is incredibly funny, original and intelligent, too. I've been a fan of Martin since he was the "Trendspotter" on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, and I've been waiting for this show to come on air since Late 2007. This show exceeded my expectations and had one of the best Series Debuts in comedy history, beating American Idol. Martin showcases his versatility and poignant intelligence like never before, and "Important Things with Demetri Martin" is definitely worth the watch! Expand
  24. gregm.
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    Very funny show. I found the whole thing to be funny. Some parts may be too quirky for the mainstream, but the show has enough universally funny moments to be a success.
  25. BC
    Feb 12, 2009
    3
    I thought the show was boring. Martin was not funny and the show seemed to just drag on.
  26. Dylan
    Feb 11, 2009
    9
    If you are a fan of Demetri Martin's comedy, then you will love his show. For those that do not know of Martin's stand-up work, expect something far different from other comedians and sketch comedy shows. Martin is entirely deadpan in his deliverance, which comes off not as stupidity, but simply another element of the joke. Demetri Martin is hilarious and though the show has If you are a fan of Demetri Martin's comedy, then you will love his show. For those that do not know of Martin's stand-up work, expect something far different from other comedians and sketch comedy shows. Martin is entirely deadpan in his deliverance, which comes off not as stupidity, but simply another element of the joke. Demetri Martin is hilarious and though the show has some poor moments, the end product will deliver to you more laughs than most other similar shows. Expand
  27. SamuelL.
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    I was at a taping of these shows and it was hilarious. the one we just watched was hilarious too. demetri martin to stay, please!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. As is the case with nearly all sketch-comedy series, this one from "The Daily Show" alum Demetri Martin--and produced by Jon Stewart's Busboy Prods.--is very much hit-and-miss, with the misses outnumbering the hits in the first installment and the hits predominating in the second.
  2. Important Things is inconsistent--the sketches are on the whole less funny than the stand-up, but they have their moments, and the show is on the whole worthwhile.
  3. 80
    You'll find an important (and rare) thing: an off-kilter show that's at once smart, outlandish and very funny.