Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 6, 2013
    90
    Suspenseful, tragic yet also uplifting in its audacious collision of fantasy and emotional realism, this haunting gem reminds us that we shouldn't speak ill of the dead.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jun 6, 2013
    80
    An atmospheric thriller wrapped around a nugget of social commentary.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 6, 2013
    80
    In the Flesh, which starts strong and gets even stronger.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 6, 2013
    80
    It's a powerful meditation on what happens to a community once a galvanizing threat is removed but then returns, albeit in a more benign state.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 6, 2013
    80
    In The Flesh at first seems to be offering itself as a fractured metaphor, with zombies standing in for blacks, gays, Muslims or the social victim of your choice. But the show quickly veers into something sweeter, sadder and more thoughtful--a meditation on forgiveness, redemption and second chances.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Like its much-watched counterpart on AMC, In the Flesh isn't always easy to watch. But I didn't want to miss a minute. Zombies and all.
  7. Reviewed by: Pete Ski
    Jun 6, 2013
    80
    While Kieren does contend with zombie-style gore, the show isn’t a kill-fest like The Walking Dead. But as it raises the sorts of questions that classic zombie fare, In the Flesh also draws some perceptive connections to our own social and political contexts.
  8. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 5, 2013
    80
    In the Flesh skillfully navigates several genres at once, all of them heavy, none of them comic.
  9. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 5, 2013
    80
    The list of people who have been reviled and labeled, explicitly or subtly, as something less than human is long: blacks, Jews, foreigners, people with AIDS, people with disabilities. Zombies notwithstanding, this appealing series, created and written by Dominic Mitchell, works this territory as credibly as any more conventional drama.
  10. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 5, 2013
    80
    In the Flesh offers a fresh, clever take on the zombie story.
  11. 75
    In the Flesh, which runs just three hours over the three nights, is best not analyzed too deeply for meaning and just enjoyed for its odd and fascinating concept.
  12. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 3, 2013
    75
    Overall, the emotional honesty of Kieran's character and his all too human craving for acceptance and happiness make In the Flesh oddly moving.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 86
  2. Negative: 5 out of 86
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    At first, I wasn't sure about the premise. But the show surprised me. It takes a different look at zombies than any I had seen before. DoneAt first, I wasn't sure about the premise. But the show surprised me. It takes a different look at zombies than any I had seen before. Done wrong, it could have been a disaster. But with solid writing and strong acting, I started to care for the characters and what they were going through. It's a solid show and I'm curious to see where they go from here. Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2017
    7
    It’s so typically English to take something as shocking as a Zombie insurrection and make it somehow mundane. It takes itself and the subjectIt’s so typically English to take something as shocking as a Zombie insurrection and make it somehow mundane. It takes itself and the subject matter seriously. Its depiction of plain northern village life is very well done. The allegorical nature of the show is spread a bit too thick and it wandered into maudlin saccharine sweet territory a few times. But all in all, quite good and enough here to warrant a second series.. Full Review »
  3. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Decriminalizing a sickness is a first for Western Civilization if Britain can still be considered as such.

    This is a delightful take on
    Decriminalizing a sickness is a first for Western Civilization if Britain can still be considered as such.

    This is a delightful take on traditional zombification. Unlike Walking Dead one is not left wanting a newly major character be killed off: #KillKarl

    Unfortunately this series as with most in the BBC is afflicted with the Social Cancer (tm) of socialism producing an unpalatable THREE WHOLE EPISODES per season :(
    Full Review »