• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 28, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 8
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    The power of the writing and performances are such that after just 30 minutes, you feel as if you know each of these characters intimately--and you find yourself already caring about them. And you wonder what role they will play in the troubled life and journey of Dr. Paul Weston.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    Gabriel Byrne is in every minute of the show, delivering one of TV's most faceted and intriguing performances....All of the new characters promise to engage as their stories and backstories begin to unfold.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 25, 2010
    90
    There are only three patients this time around, and their stories, written by executive producers Anya Epstein and Dan Futterman, offer a thematic cohesion that seems richer, though perhaps more familiar. More important, the show remains a rare and wonderful opportunity to watch fine actors work their way through excellent material, earning it consistent praise and HBO's commitment, despite low ratings.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    Unlike a few characters in seasons one and two whose lives I just wasn't interested in, I won't be skipping any therapy sessions this season. They are all fascinating.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 25, 2010
    100
    In Treatment deftly picks up where it left off--midpoint in the journey of Paul Weston's soul--and reminds us why we took this trip with him in the first place. The new cast is superlative, Bryne is intoxicating, and Ryan is an especially excellent addition. Bon voyage.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2010
    88
    Therapist Paul Weston a human-shaped cloud who grumbles with the low thunder of the maladjusted, has drifted back for a gripping new season of HBO's In Treatment. Gabriel Byrne plays the part flawlessly, and he's up against two especially rewarding talents. [1 Nov 2010, p.42]
  7. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Oct 28, 2010
    90
    I've seen two weeks of the season, and so far I'm rapt. In Treatment may be in uncharted ground with its new, original stories, but it remains a show that rewards patience, and patients.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    This season has managed to make me angry and anxious. Not in a bad way but in a good way because the way they present and act makes me feelThis season has managed to make me angry and anxious. Not in a bad way but in a good way because the way they present and act makes me feel like I am the one in the couch and no matter what side I see myself in I can just taste tension. This kind of immersion I have never felt before with any show. Full Review »
  2. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Wow. They've done it again! This time without scripts from Israel. Every episode is fascinating. The acting is amazing, though it's a littleWow. They've done it again! This time without scripts from Israel. Every episode is fascinating. The acting is amazing, though it's a little hard to tell with Debra Winger as her role is that of a person who's largely fake. We were a little confused by the first episode with the young adopted man, as it seemed that we were entering in the middle, but that turned out to be smart and effective. My main question is whether Paul, the psychotherapist will survive until the end of the season. All in all, clearly one of the best shows on TV. Full Review »
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    Out of psychic steam. This domestic third series is a real let down - a crash and burn version that will not make it to a fourth series.Out of psychic steam. This domestic third series is a real let down - a crash and burn version that will not make it to a fourth series. Though the acting is still top-notch, Paul Weston has run out of road - he is too depressed and is repeating himself. The patients are interesting but not that credible - the intellectual Sunil would not put up with the **** he is being forced to suffer. Jesse flip flops five times an episode. Frances is a narcissist - the best performer this year IS Debra Winger. And the flirtation with the new therapist is just terrible - a bum note in a series that had, until this one, not sounded a single one.

    Still, this is unmissable - intelligent, superbly acted, sometimes moving, always different.
    Full Review »