• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 28, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 8
In Treatment Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The remake of a hit Israeli show airing 5 days a week looks into therapist Paul Weston (Gabriel Byrne) practice along with his own sessions with a psychologist.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. 100
    In Treatment is exhilarating.
  2. In Treatment feels neither soapy nor formulaic, because of the intensity with which it's presented.
  3. It's an engaging series that's definitely worth at least a trial spin.
  4. Cleverly conceived, it boasts a star-studded cast (Gabriel Byrne, Dianne Wiest, Blair Underwood) who achieve, at times, theatrical transcendence.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    70
    The writing is uniformly strong and Byrne excellent not only at reading Paul's dialogue but conveying what he's withholding--his true feelings about his patients, his inner turmoil over his disintegrating home life. But the storylines vary wildly from riveting to tedious.
  6. In Treatment is fascinating TV, but it's not a pleasant experience. Watching these therapy sessions is akin to eating your TV broccoli.
  7. The writing is forced and thin, some of the acting stagey, most of the characters unlikable and - the show-killer quality that HBO execs apparently failed to see--profoundly boring.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 92
  2. Negative: 2 out of 92
  1. LeslieW.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Great show. Rarely does one have an opportunity to see the intimate truths about people that they usually hide in daily life -a fabulous Great show. Rarely does one have an opportunity to see the intimate truths about people that they usually hide in daily life -a fabulous topic for a tv show. Strong acting skills, great dialogue and a rich story line are critical given the nature of this show and I believe that they do a fantastic job on all three. Expand
  2. BC.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    Riveting and compelling. At last a portrayal of how a real therapist works. For too long this helping profession has been the butt of jokes Riveting and compelling. At last a portrayal of how a real therapist works. For too long this helping profession has been the butt of jokes and derision, portraying inappropriate involvement with patients, etc. Since the media has only been able to ridicule that which it does not understand, it has made the profession laughable. When people are afraid of something and don't umderstand it,they tend to distort, minimize and demonize it, much like in racism. While this therapist may have his own problems, he attempts to deal with them, he does not act out inappropriately with his patients. While Dr. Melfi of Suprano fame was better that the average therapist, her character did not have the same depth, complexity or intensity of Paul's. She was also seen discussing her patient with her family, which was a blatant violation of confidentiality. Additionally,She threw Tony Suprano out in the end which was purely a betrayal. Paul, up to now, is on the mark more often than not. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    30 episodes (no pun) in and I am addicted (pun). As a chartered psychologist but not clinically orientated. It is drawing me towards the dark30 episodes (no pun) in and I am addicted (pun). As a chartered psychologist but not clinically orientated. It is drawing me towards the dark side (pun). I hope clinical practice is this interesting (no pun). Expand
  4. SusieS.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    So very captivating. I thought I would find the series depressing and boring. Instead, I find myself making sure the kids stick to their So very captivating. I thought I would find the series depressing and boring. Instead, I find myself making sure the kids stick to their bedtime so I don't miss a second of a new episode. Most compelling to me is Sophie (Wednesdays). Hers is the only session in which Paul seems utterly focused on the patient. For all his emotional entanglements with his other patients, Sophie seems to be the one he most wants to "help" and she is by far the most endearing character of the series. Cheers to HBO for more great viewing. Collapse
  5. Denise
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Consistently rivetting psychological drama far and away the best show on tv.
  6. LisaB.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    I love... love... love. ..in treatment the best show on hbo.. Please have a second season!!
  7. Dorian
    Feb 9, 2008
    3
    What a let down. As others have pointed out, this series feels like a series of one-act plays commonly found in an off-Broadway production. What a let down. As others have pointed out, this series feels like a series of one-act plays commonly found in an off-Broadway production. While Gabriel Byrne is fine (as always), the other characters, err, "patients" are, for the most part, tedious, self-absorbed and unlikable, while the dialogue comes off as stagy and forced, a death knell for a show that is nothing BUT talk. In fact, the whole thing just comes off as inauthentic, gimmicky and self-important, more an exercise in "duo" acting, than anything else. No doubt, the melodrama will appeal to soap-opera fans, as well as therapists who have been DYING for a show to portray them as they imagine themselves to be: unsung heroes who are too often ridiculed, misunderstood or not appreciated by the world at large. However, judging by this shows portrayal, it seems that being a therapist is synonymous with being an emotional receptacle for histrionic narcissists; I, for one, see this show as doing no favors for the profession. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews