Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Apr 30, 2013
    100
    There’s something communal about Schumer’s approach to comedy. It’s not just about punchlines. It’s about conversations. And she makes the women around her seem funnier, just by letting them in on the joke. Some of the best moments happen when she’s interviewing people, inspiring the type of real talk you don’t often get to hear once you’ve outgrown the girls’ locker room.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Apr 29, 2013
    83
    Her shrewd, straightforward perspective and her semisweet, offhand attitude make her reflections fresh and relatable.
  3. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Apr 30, 2013
    70
    In its scripted segments, the series is stylishly produced, and its wit is dry while its tone is bubbly. Not every segment is a hit, but the ones that are deserve to be quoted, repeated and discussed.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 30, 2013
    70
    Schumer is brash, outspoken, bold, raunchy and tomboyish enough to fit right in and her show is often quite funny for viewers (especially men) who are not easily offended.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Accompanied by its own behind-the-scenes Web series, Inside Amy Schumer still represents more the promise of talent than one fully realized.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Her persona combines Whitney Cummings’ bawdiness and Mindy Kaling’s entitlement with a self-proclaimed slutty streak (“I am sluttier than your average bear,” she proclaims), a familiar combination that feels original only in flashes. Schumer is sharper than her material.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    The good bits are hilarious; the others often kind of just lie there.
  8. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    Schumer’s sharpness comes through best in such moments, when she’s in stand-up mode and taking significant risks beyond the genre’s still-customary boundary lines of gender.... Meanwhile, her sketches and woman-on-the-street interviews with passersby feel burdened with the task of pleasing a male audience (while enlightening them a scoch).
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    Although I prefer her standup which I think is top notch, the show left something to be desired. I caught myself laughing as much as I wasnt laughing. It was very hit and miss, but this was only the first episode. Sketch comedies are always hit and miss, and this one was no different. She is a brilliant comic, very likeable and relateable, and I believe once she finds her groove doing this show it will only get better. Her own stand up is proof of that,and I will continue to watch each week and see what she brings next as the funny parts are hilarious and worth the price of admission of sitting through the ones that are not. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    I first saw Amy Schumer on the Comedy Central Roasts. She was unbelievably cruel even for the venue. I got over my initial revulsion and watched her new show. It doesn't stray too far from her stand up act. Many will find it crude and offensive. I found it hilarious and brutally honest though she might consider sending some of her residuals to Sarah Silverman. Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2013
    2
    Show was painful to watch. Not very funny, pretty bland in general. She likes to speak as if she is the spokesperson for women when she's only speaking for herself. Some girls actually love it when you cum on their face Amy, some even demand it. You sound like a lame lay anyway. Your show will be cancelled soon so maybe you can go back and work on your bedroom skills instead of just laying there like a fat cow. Full Review »