Inside Amy Schumer Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The new series with comedian Amy Schumer includes stand-up, scripted sketches, and interviews with people on the street.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Apr 30, 2013
    100
    There’s something communal about Schumer’s approach to comedy. It’s not just about punchlines. It’s about conversations. And she makes the women around her seem funnier, just by letting them in on the joke. Some of the best moments happen when she’s interviewing people, inspiring the type of real talk you don’t often get to hear once you’ve outgrown the girls’ locker room.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Apr 29, 2013
    83
    Her shrewd, straightforward perspective and her semisweet, offhand attitude make her reflections fresh and relatable.
  3. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Apr 30, 2013
    70
    In its scripted segments, the series is stylishly produced, and its wit is dry while its tone is bubbly. Not every segment is a hit, but the ones that are deserve to be quoted, repeated and discussed.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Accompanied by its own behind-the-scenes Web series, Inside Amy Schumer still represents more the promise of talent than one fully realized.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    Schumer’s sharpness comes through best in such moments, when she’s in stand-up mode and taking significant risks beyond the genre’s still-customary boundary lines of gender.... Meanwhile, her sketches and woman-on-the-street interviews with passersby feel burdened with the task of pleasing a male audience (while enlightening them a scoch).
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    The good bits are hilarious; the others often kind of just lie there.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Her persona combines Whitney Cummings’ bawdiness and Mindy Kaling’s entitlement with a self-proclaimed slutty streak (“I am sluttier than your average bear,” she proclaims), a familiar combination that feels original only in flashes. Schumer is sharper than her material.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Amy is hilarious, her show is hilarious, finally a female comic getting some much due recognition! She is so funny and totally deserves a show on comedy central. All the haters out there need a shot of cum right in the face, yeah that's right, see how much you like it. Expand
  2. May 29, 2013
    10
    This is the kind of show I was waiting for since middle school but never found til now. Props to Comedy Central for finding her and giving her a show. She has a lot of talent and her topics and skits are exactly the kind of humor I think in my head all day. Love it! Some of her humor takes a second to sink in but once it does your left feeling lighter and giddier with a twist! Expand
  3. May 15, 2013
    9
    It's only been three episodes but so far I am extremely impressed with Inside Amy Schumer. I've found myself laughing out loud many times watching this show and look forward to each week's new episode. It truly is hilarious. The humor is mostly about sex and definitely aimed towards women, but is that really a bad thing? I mean after all she is a woman, and one that knows sex. So if she an make it funny than yeah I'm okay with that. Thankfully she truly does manage to make it hilarious. It's only been three episodes, so the show really is just getting started, and because of that I may have to update my review later if necessary, but so far I am really loving Inside Amy Schumer and I recommend that you check it out. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2013
    7
    Of all the new comedian-driven shows Comedy Central has put out in the last year, Inside Amy Schumer ranks second only to Nathan for You in being worthy of renewal. Her typical brand of self-effacing, sexually frank, and femme-centric comedy drives the best sketches to genuinely hilarious heights. As a bonus, her "on the street" segues, stand-up setups and surprising interviews are infused with the same humor, but with an honesty and rapport that almost elevate them above said best sketches. Of course, being a sketch comedy show, not every bit is going to hit for everyone. "I fart when I'm scared," and "I'm okay w/ your AIDS," showcase how bad the show can be, especially when it veers away from what makes Amy Schumer's comedy work in the first place. Worse, the bad sketches seem to stretch on far longer than the good ones, as if the writers know it's not very good but "if we just keep hammering we''ll eventually hit." The show ultimately suffers from this mentality. The foundation is there for a great show, period, with so many qualities and working elements; but, until they recognize when they have a dud, trim overlong bits that only work in spots, and improve the quality of material outside of Amy's comfort zone, the show will just be good. Here's hoping they address the issues and shoot for greatness next season. Collapse
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Inside Amy Schumer is often jumbled and half-formed, but when the show hits its stride, Schumer's comedic potential is fully realized. Most of the best sketches are up on YouTube, so I'd suggest you just watch those instead. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    4
    I've only seen it a few times, and I wasn't very impressed. I don't think it's awful, but there are a lot more worthwhile comedies out there. I've seen some funny moments, but most of it comes across as bland/cliche comedy. She's very hit and miss, and the show suffers for it. Expand
  7. May 28, 2013
    0
    Inside Amy is by far the worse comedy I have ever seen on television. Not funny at all. Very boring. Amy should be arrested for putting this show on television and wasting millions of hours of American lives. This show will be canceled soon because of how bad it is. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews