Intelligence (2013) : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 7, 2014
Intelligence (2013) Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Gabriel Black (Josh Holloway), an agent with US Cyber Command, has a microchip implanted in his brain that allows him to see the full electromagnetic spectrum.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    75
    The good thing about procedurals is you can come and go and not miss much. The bad thing about procedurals is you can come and go and not miss much. Holloway, though, should be enough to keep you coming back.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 7, 2014
    70
    Breathlessly paced and festooned with some pretty groovy computer graphics--the chip allows Holloway to walk through scenes of past destruction in his mind--Intelligence isn't trying to be anything more than what it obviously is. The show is a panoply of familiar elements anchored by a new and attractive leading man.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Jan 2, 2014
    67
    The pilot sets up some promising intrigue but plays like the lowest-common-denominator version of itself: muscular action, a cutout Chinese villain, a rote twist, lots of Josh. Get smarter, please. [10 Jan 2013, p.66]
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jan 6, 2014
    50
    Both ["Killer Women" on ABC, Intelligence on CBS] feel like paint-by-numbers hours, unsatisfying offerings that are difficult to recall an hour after you've watched them.
  5. 50
    Let's just call Intelligence competently made.... It's just fundamentally impossible to care about.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 6, 2014
    50
    It feels cobbled together, from the premise of “Chuck,” “Jake 2.0” and other shows to scenes and situations that recall better productions like “Person of Interest,” “Homeland” and “Raiders of the Lost Ark.”
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 6, 2014
    40
    Networks want their shows to look like movies these days, but the Intelligence pilot makes the border of Pakistan and Rock Creek Park in Washington, D.C., both look like Vancouver, where the pilot was filmed. It's a minor but telling detail in this unimaginative rehash.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    Love it, I just love it. I have waited all week for tonight. I will be watching this show and hope they make it into a long success. JoshLove it, I just love it. I have waited all week for tonight. I will be watching this show and hope they make it into a long success. Josh Holloway's good guy, bad guy attitude is perfect for this show, he is a wonderful actor.... Collapse
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    this is a great tv show ..great characters and also the story behind is good..hope it will be one of the greatest show of all time. the pilotthis is a great tv show ..great characters and also the story behind is good..hope it will be one of the greatest show of all time. the pilot was awesome. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    the show needs time to show what it can offer and dose who don't like it don't like it, don't witch . INTELLIGENCE is a all some show. thethe show needs time to show what it can offer and dose who don't like it don't like it, don't witch . INTELLIGENCE is a all some show. the show get you thinking a lot. what happen in the show could be happen right now. so you have a right not to like the show. just don't in salt the creator intelligence, that how I feel right now. BUT it's up to CBS and some one said when I GET in to this show like INTELLIGENCE.. IT not on the tv. I AM THAT WAY... Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2014
    4
    didn't watch all the episodes after first three i realized this was going to be a very bad show and i haven't watched it since not recommendeddidn't watch all the episodes after first three i realized this was going to be a very bad show and i haven't watched it since not recommended by me. @@ Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    4
    Interesting enough show with nothing very special to make it a regular TV event. Only the pilot so far, but. The wise-a$$ hero hasInteresting enough show with nothing very special to make it a regular TV event. Only the pilot so far, but. The wise-a$$ hero has certainly been overdone in recent TV shows and it is right on top again with "Intelligence". Gets tedious. The top-notch Secret Service lady chosen to protect our hero is about as lackluster a character as possible. Pretty girl, and that's about it. Marge Helgenberger does her limited job on this show with efficiency.

    All-in-all a derivative show which will require an otherwise pretty boring Monday evening to build a large and regular audience.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find the premise of this show quite appealing but unfortunately the execution very poor. The whole show just comes off as very low budget, especially the surrounding cast.
    The story about the right to Gabriel's life, his or the government is slightly touched upon but is never explored in debt.
    The story of the show started off quite interesting but has already veered off course into a unbelievable mess to set up a main villain who also has superpowers. Unfortunately no one deemed it necessary to try and find her or tell the government that they inserted another chip into a different person until it's too late.
    Also the whole premise with his super computers ability is hardly used by him except to find video footage of things that already has happened. Hardly something you need one human being for.
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    Iv'e only watched the pilot and my views only reflect that limited exposure. I wont be continuing with this series and I wouldn't recommend toIv'e only watched the pilot and my views only reflect that limited exposure. I wont be continuing with this series and I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

    The portrayal of hacking in TV and movies was already absurd. Not all information is collated and instantly accessible even if you were given access to databases. Intelligence builds upon this absurdity making "sci-fi" into "fantasy". Techno-mancy at its finest and completely unbelievable; Gabriel might as well be a clairvoyant.

    Aside from the technomancy, the cast are banal stock characters with illogical villains who forget they already have leverage, indicating poor writing as the hero relies on their mercy and stupidity. Computerised scopes with wifi for some bizarre reason are probably best avoided when dealing with a technomancer and further indicates poor writing with dependence upon unreasonable happy coincidences. Intelligence feels like it will be like the typical cop investigation show, with a clairvoyant who will undoubtedly be irredeemably arrogant and snarky.

    The mystery of Gabriel's wife will at least spare the typical sexual tension between the leads confining their relationship to a platonic level. If I am to be compelled to feel compassion for the missing wife I need more then Gabriel's angst to justify an investment into the overarching plot.

    Naming the lead Gabriel feels like a desperate ploy to help make the character more endearing. Unless Gabriel develops some humility or at least a passable sense of humour, I can only hope the chip that miraculously doesn't require a cooling system overheats and boils his blood.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV: A Guide to Winter's New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV: A Guide to Winter's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 2, 2014
    Browse our guide to the most notable shows debuting over the next few months, including promising newcomers like HBO's True Detective and returning favorites such as Justified, House of Cards, Sherlock, and The Americans.