• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 7, 2014
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Gabriel Black (Josh Holloway), an agent with US Cyber Command, has a microchip implanted in his brain that allows him to see the full electromagnetic spectrum.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    75
    The good thing about procedurals is you can come and go and not miss much. The bad thing about procedurals is you can come and go and not miss much. Holloway, though, should be enough to keep you coming back.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 7, 2014
    70
    Breathlessly paced and festooned with some pretty groovy computer graphics--the chip allows Holloway to walk through scenes of past destruction in his mind--Intelligence isn't trying to be anything more than what it obviously is. The show is a panoply of familiar elements anchored by a new and attractive leading man.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Jan 2, 2014
    67
    The pilot sets up some promising intrigue but plays like the lowest-common-denominator version of itself: muscular action, a cutout Chinese villain, a rote twist, lots of Josh. Get smarter, please. [10 Jan 2013, p.66]
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jan 6, 2014
    50
    Both ["Killer Women" on ABC, Intelligence on CBS] feel like paint-by-numbers hours, unsatisfying offerings that are difficult to recall an hour after you've watched them.
  5. 50
    Let's just call Intelligence competently made.... It's just fundamentally impossible to care about.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 6, 2014
    50
    It feels cobbled together, from the premise of “Chuck,” “Jake 2.0” and other shows to scenes and situations that recall better productions like “Person of Interest,” “Homeland” and “Raiders of the Lost Ark.”
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 6, 2014
    40
    Networks want their shows to look like movies these days, but the Intelligence pilot makes the border of Pakistan and Rock Creek Park in Washington, D.C., both look like Vancouver, where the pilot was filmed. It's a minor but telling detail in this unimaginative rehash.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    Love it, I just love it. I have waited all week for tonight. I will be watching this show and hope they make it into a long success. JoshLove it, I just love it. I have waited all week for tonight. I will be watching this show and hope they make it into a long success. Josh Holloway's good guy, bad guy attitude is perfect for this show, he is a wonderful actor.... Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    If I could..I would give Episode 7 a 100!! Josh Holloway's portrayal has gradually gotten better and better and yet in this episode,, OMG theIf I could..I would give Episode 7 a 100!! Josh Holloway's portrayal has gradually gotten better and better and yet in this episode,, OMG the scene where the scientist describes how he feels that nanites and chips in people's heads would create Frankenstein's Monster and Josh confronts him with "Well here is your Frankenstein, standing in front of you..!" Powerful stuff in this episode.. It seems like in the last three or four episodes "Intelligence" has finally found its voice. The chemistry between Gabriel and Riley is fantastic and I love how Riley is just as much a bad ass as Gabriel.. Finally an action pairing between a male and female that is treated equally! And Marg (Lillian) Helgenberger I always loved her on C.S.I. and its so nice to see her in such a juicy role as this. And John Bingsley (Dr. Crispin) is brilliant, quirky and delivers some of the best smart ass lines in the show. But in this episode you really get to see his acting chops.. Great Episode and can wait to see more.. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Liked it from the beginning, now loving it ! This series had a good start, but it got even better. Its not just about some superhuman agentLiked it from the beginning, now loving it ! This series had a good start, but it got even better. Its not just about some superhuman agent saving the world, but its about a Gabriel and his partner/protector Riley, working as a team and going on missions while being in a internal conflict between us agencies. Because as we know great power brings great responsibilities, and some don't like the idea that they don't have this power, or not the sufficient control over it.

    The show got me with its fourth episode, and really love the dynamic between the two main characters, there are great action scenes, and whole chip in the brain thing is really realistic, I mean people use Google glasses now a day!

    If you like action series, or series about secret agent, you shouldnt miss this one, its just getting started and I am sure its gonna be great in the future.
    Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2014
    4
    The pilot was decent, but not great, then after that it gets worse. It's the concept of Chuck except super serious, which doesn't really workThe pilot was decent, but not great, then after that it gets worse. It's the concept of Chuck except super serious, which doesn't really work with such a ridiculously unrealistic concept. Everyone on IMDB seems to hate the show cos its so 'patriotic and pro CIA' but that's not really the problem. It's just not very interesting. The story about his wife and his obsession with finding her is an annoying and pointless distraction from the episodes main plot. Maybe a serious version of computer-brain-man could be executed well in the right hands but this isn't it. Chuck was way better at computer-brain-man and Person of Interest is way better at action with a meaningful plot. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    4
    Interesting enough show with nothing very special to make it a regular TV event. Only the pilot so far, but. The wise-a$$ hero hasInteresting enough show with nothing very special to make it a regular TV event. Only the pilot so far, but. The wise-a$$ hero has certainly been overdone in recent TV shows and it is right on top again with "Intelligence". Gets tedious. The top-notch Secret Service lady chosen to protect our hero is about as lackluster a character as possible. Pretty girl, and that's about it. Marge Helgenberger does her limited job on this show with efficiency.

    All-in-all a derivative show which will require an otherwise pretty boring Monday evening to build a large and regular audience.
    Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The premise for this show isn't bad but it's presented to the viewer in a way that is so far fetched it lacks any plausibility so as to allow the audience, even for a moment, to suspend their disbelief. In other words, I just didn't buy it.

    Josh Holloway's character, in my opinion, wasn't likeable which is a shame because he's a decent actor. The female lead lacked any charisma, and there is zero chemistry between them even though she's obviously intended as a love interest. A love triangle between her, Josh and his missing wife is clearly on the cards at some stage. I also noticed a great similarity between the female lead's character bio and that of Kate in Lost. She also bears more than a passing resemblance to her. Could the creators be attempting to recreate the Sawyer-Kate relationship as a means to spark some interested in the show? Me thinks yes. Shame. The actress cast as his wife also appeared in Lost. The apparent need to piggyback on the success of that show is honestly disappointing.

    The FX are great, slick and add polish to what is otherwise an underwhelming introduction to the show's storyline. I don't want to be too harsh, it was only the first episode after all and perhaps the upcoming instalments will provide some redemption. I'm sure Holloway's fans will give a decent showing of support for the season regardless, he is as they say, 'hot'.
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    Iv'e only watched the pilot and my views only reflect that limited exposure. I wont be continuing with this series and I wouldn't recommend toIv'e only watched the pilot and my views only reflect that limited exposure. I wont be continuing with this series and I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

    The portrayal of hacking in TV and movies was already absurd. Not all information is collated and instantly accessible even if you were given access to databases. Intelligence builds upon this absurdity making "sci-fi" into "fantasy". Techno-mancy at its finest and completely unbelievable; Gabriel might as well be a clairvoyant.

    Aside from the technomancy, the cast are banal stock characters with illogical villains who forget they already have leverage, indicating poor writing as the hero relies on their mercy and stupidity. Computerised scopes with wifi for some bizarre reason are probably best avoided when dealing with a technomancer and further indicates poor writing with dependence upon unreasonable happy coincidences. Intelligence feels like it will be like the typical cop investigation show, with a clairvoyant who will undoubtedly be irredeemably arrogant and snarky.

    The mystery of Gabriel's wife will at least spare the typical sexual tension between the leads confining their relationship to a platonic level. If I am to be compelled to feel compassion for the missing wife I need more then Gabriel's angst to justify an investment into the overarching plot.

    Naming the lead Gabriel feels like a desperate ploy to help make the character more endearing. Unless Gabriel develops some humility or at least a passable sense of humour, I can only hope the chip that miraculously doesn't require a cooling system overheats and boils his blood.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV: A Guide to Winter's New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV: A Guide to Winter's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 2, 2014
    Browse our guide to the most notable shows debuting over the next few months, including promising newcomers like HBO's True Detective and returning favorites such as Justified, House of Cards, Sherlock, and The Americans.