It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia : Season 1

  • Network: FX , FXX
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 4, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Denver Post
    Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Funny - barely - in an uncomfortable, theatrical way, some moments feel like performance art or improv exercises, albeit with nice title sequences. [14 Aug 2005]
  2. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Ridiculous, and somewhat predictable. [4 Aug 2005]
  3. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    "It's Always Sunny" peddles immaturity and discomfort with remarkable wit in a few instances. [4 Aug 2005]
  4. Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    Jun 18, 2013
    50
    It is smug enough to think it's breaking ground, but not smart enough to know it isn't.
  5. Newark Star-Ledger
    Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 15, 2013
    40
    In general, "Philadelphia" pulls back just short of being really tasteless, which seems to miss the point. [4 Aug 2005]
  6. Philadelphia Daily News
    Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 15, 2013
    40
    "Sunny" simply isn't funny enough often enough to justify its rather labored envelope-pushing. [4 Aug 2005]
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Aug 1, 2016
    10
    This TV show is VERY funny well I only watched like 10 episodes but all of them appeal to me amazingly and the jokes and characters areThis TV show is VERY funny well I only watched like 10 episodes but all of them appeal to me amazingly and the jokes and characters are hilarious. This tv show is my 6th favorite TV show. Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2016
    10
    My favourite sitcom ever, standard has dropped a little in the later seasons but as a whole the show is just awesome, the gang are all greatMy favourite sitcom ever, standard has dropped a little in the later seasons but as a whole the show is just awesome, the gang are all great and each bring their own thing to the table, comedy get get pretty dark at times but thats the way i like it Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2016
    9
    This show is a still for some unknown reason a hidden gem which not many in my country have heard about, but it is H-I-L-A-R-I-O-U-S andThis show is a still for some unknown reason a hidden gem which not many in my country have heard about, but it is H-I-L-A-R-I-O-U-S and written and played so smart (I guess because studio involvement was kept to a minimum).

    Highly recommended, if not just for all for all those laugh-out-loud joyful moments it gave me during the years.
    Full Review »