• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 4, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth season of the comedy moves to the new FX channel, FXX.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 3, 2013
    100
    Sunny is Punch and Judy for our time: invigoratingly primal entertainment.[9 Sep 2013, p.41]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 4, 2013
    83
    Sunny is now in its ninth season, but is not showing its age.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 4, 2013
    80
    Sunny gets its ninth season off to a strong start with a typically perverse episode.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Sep 3, 2013
    75
    Charlie (Charlie Day), Mac (Rob McElhenney), Dennis (Glenn Howerton), Dee (Kaitlin Olson), and Frank (Danny DeVito) are as magnetically dysfunctional as ever, and their neurotic efforts to scheme their way to happiness, fame, and fortune continue to coincide with skewed views on a variety of real-world issues that blend well with the show's onslaught of crude, scattershot humor.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    IASIP is a brilliant show and it always will be, the first episode of season 9 was a hilarious kick off to the start of the season, I can only imagine the Hijinks' that are in store for the group. The jokes on dee. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    Best show on TV! I love how you never know what the gang will do next. Charlie's songs about the pub and Frank inexplicably being stuck in the coil are the sort of delightful treats that keep me counting down the days until the next episode. Best show on TV!! Collapse
  3. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    I only just got the DVDs to this show because I hadn't watched a comedy series in a long time. It is an amazing achievement in sheer, hard-hitting, perverse hilarity. It has an infinite number of amazing qualities, but the its best quality is its honesty. It does not pander to the masses (read CBS audience) or sink into melodrama and touching moments; rather, it delivers laughters aplenty with an almost0psychopathic detachment. I have watched it thru season 9 and I hope there are many further seasons in the future. Kudos. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia’s ninth season sometimes seemed to lack the kind of manic energy of the show at its very best but it remains one of the funniest comedies currently on TV, and certainly had me laughing throughout. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    This season eventually redeemed itself with some pretty funny episodes. My favorite was when Charlie believed he was a genius. However, I still can't believe how bad of a start it got off too, and even this season's best episodes don't have nearly the wild brilliance of their predecessors. But, glad the year was saved anyways. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    I am a little disappointed with this season. I still love this show, and all the characters, however, i feel like this season is going downhill a little bit. Some of the jokes are not as funny and 'real' as previous seasons, as it feels quite forced and overly done, specially the fact that they experimented with a lot of stuffs with the action and special effects that i personally think it has lost its personality that was meant to be sort of more 'grounded'. I also felt like the creativity is fading, mainly because of the humors taken has already been done in the past seasons, and they are not as funny as their original episodes. I still found many humorous parts though, and still find some of them enjoyable to watch. I just felt like it could have done better. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    As much as I love this show, this season has been noticeably weaker compared to all the previous ones. Out of the six episodes to air so far, only the third episode "The Gang Tries Desperately to Win an Award" was the only good episode. Here's to hoping for a strong finish! Expand

See all 11 User Reviews