• Network: FX , FXX
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 4, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 157 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 157

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Greatest TV show of all time... Hilarious as well as just overall fun to watch, you can't help but love all the dysfunctional characters, even Danny DeVito as Frank Reynolds, but especially Charlie. My fave TV series
  2. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    Probably the funniest show on TV right now. It's amazing that we are 6 seasons in and it still feels as fresh and funny as the first few seasons. I can't wait for Thursdays now because of this show alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!BEST SHOW EVER!!!the best Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    For awhile, this was my favorite show on television but it has slipped a bit lately. Seasons 3 and 4 are insanely funny and possibly the funniest two seasons I've ever seen from any show. Seasons 1 and 2 are ok. Season 5 and 6 have about 2 good episodes each. I love a show that doesn't hold back and they definitely don't.
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    BEST SHOW EVER! Ridiculously funny. The whole cast is awesome. Never an episode that won't make you laugh. The cast are always getting themselves into crazy situations and it is always fun to watch.
  6. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    It's Always Sunny is a comedy that hits all the right buttons, and plenty of the wrong ones, in pursuit of laughs and ass-backward social commentary. The show is Seinfeld-esque, but drops the laugh-track and is updated for the 21st century. The first episode tackles racism through the gang's inability to act natural around a new black friend, the second addresses abortion, feminism and childcare, and the third conquers underage drinking and the follies of dating young. The show is non-stop debauchery that manages to maintain an edge through 5+ seasons. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Best show on TV PERIOD. I live my life based on the teachings of Frank Reynolds and Charlie Kelly. Bird Law is in effect and the Gruesome Twosome is enforcing.
  8. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Best original show on TV! Every character is a comedic genius. Each season gets better and better and the stories are having more and more overlapping themes. AWESOME! Already can't wait until Sept. for season 7! Let's keep our fingers crossed that they keep them coming after that.
  9. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    As well as being consistently hilarious and well written, this show is also very intelligent with good pacing and characters we both love and hate. The actors play off each other and they have a great chemistry together. What I love most about this show is the seamless blend it creates between reality and ridiculousness, to the extent that at the end of each episode you can't help but think "How the hell did they get themselves into this situation?" Expand
  10. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This is seriously the best show ever! This show is just hilarious and makes me crack up so hard it makes me piss countless times(not literally). Not only is it just funny as hell, it doesn't have the stupid laugh tapes. I hate those. This show is fantastic and makes me laugh every episode.
  11. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious.
  12. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Pure godliness on TV 10 out of 10
  13. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This show is hilarious. Tosh is funny. And he will tear down anyone with no conscience. Most people are too weak minded to listen to this comedy. But as long as your not some Jesus freak and there's no kids around this guy will make you laugh
  14. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    A downright hilarious show that keeps you entertained from start to finish. I love watching it and I cant wait to watch the next season. Really enjoyable comedy show imo.
  15. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    If you ever want to start watching a comedy TV Show and you didn't see this one yet, get it. It's worth it, because it's the best thing out there. The humor is everything from stupid and disgusting to subtle and genius. I love this show.
  16. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This show will never die, as it shouldnt thankfully you can never kill the teachings of charlie kelly and the new fat mac which was a great addition in the 7th season
  17. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    One of the funniest shows I have ever seen, period. It's Always Sunny is packed with raunchy and hilarious humor that will make you laugh so hard you might cry. The acting in this show is just fantastic, all of the actors in this show (especially Danny DeVito) play these dysfunctional people fantastically. One of the best shows on TV, but easilly the funniest. The only thing keeping me from giving this a straight ten, is the fact that it may be predictable at times, but that doesn't take away from it at all, there can just be a few times when you can tell when something is going to happen. Other than that, this is an absolutely fabulous show that will keep you coming back for more. Expand
  18. May 23, 2013
    10
    Love this show its the most funniest sarcastic show i have ever seen season 7 was a bit boring but taking season 1-6 and 8 into account its more than great i would love to see more seasons
  19. May 18, 2013
    10
    The best funny tv-show ever! I watched it since it started and I can say, that it is my favorite show. It is comedy at its best. And also Charlies dumb actions are the best.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    What makes it palatable is that it is often laugh-out-loud hilarious. If Seinfeld broke down a few barriers when it came to subject matter in a sitcom, Philadelphia gleefully smashes right through them. [3 Aug 2005]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 15, 2013
    75
    The castmates aren't polished performers, but they know how to work a joke fast and move on. [4 Aug 2005]
  3. Reviewed by: Sid Smith
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Funny, refreshing and bold. [4 Aug 2005]