• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 4, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Danny DeVito, Glenn Howerton, Glenn Howerton
  • Summary: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia revolves around four friends who run a bar in the City of Brotherly Love and have to overcome their relentless self-involvement to make their friendship and business work.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Rob McElhenney
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Aug 4, 2005
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 15, 2013
    100
    Laden with laugh-out-loud moments. ... Just as "Curb Your Enthusiasm" so boldly and brilliantly attacks taboo subjects, so does "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," though the humor is spread from one clueless, self-centered ass to four, clueless, self-centered slackers. [4 Aug 2005]
  2. 88
    It's not your father's "Cheers." [3 Aug 2005]
  3. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Jul 15, 2013
    80
    The laughs, as they should, come fast and hard from the characters, somehow likable in their social ineptitude. But if you can't see the situations - irreverent barely begins to describe them - as absurd, you might not have a lot of fun. [4 Aug 2005]
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Lacks the hard, uncomfortable edges of [FX's also premiering] "Starved," but it's clear this show wants and intends to do a little damage, too. [4 Aug 2005]
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    What makes it palatable is that it is often laugh-out-loud hilarious. If Seinfeld broke down a few barriers when it came to subject matter in a sitcom, Philadelphia gleefully smashes right through them. [3 Aug 2005]
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Ridiculous, and somewhat predictable. [4 Aug 2005]
  7. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jul 15, 2013
    12
    Just because you can put something on TV doesn't mean you should. [3 Aug 2005]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    BEST SHOW EVER! Ridiculously funny. The whole cast is awesome. Never an episode that won't make you laugh. The cast are always gettingBEST SHOW EVER! Ridiculously funny. The whole cast is awesome. Never an episode that won't make you laugh. The cast are always getting themselves into crazy situations and it is always fun to watch. Expand
  2. May 18, 2013
    10
    The best funny tv-show ever! I watched it since it started and I can say, that it is my favorite show. It is comedy at its best. And alsoThe best funny tv-show ever! I watched it since it started and I can say, that it is my favorite show. It is comedy at its best. And also Charlies dumb actions are the best. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Best original show on TV! Every character is a comedic genius. Each season gets better and better and the stories are having more and moreBest original show on TV! Every character is a comedic genius. Each season gets better and better and the stories are having more and more overlapping themes. AWESOME! Already can't wait until Sept. for season 7! Let's keep our fingers crossed that they keep them coming after that. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    Never before has ANYONE tried so hard to purposely step on the toes of the "politically correct cops" in Hollywood/Showbiz, and successfullyNever before has ANYONE tried so hard to purposely step on the toes of the "politically correct cops" in Hollywood/Showbiz, and successfully gotten away with it. Nor has anyone so blatantly called out the "City of Brotherly Love" on their total *ss-hole-ness. Cheers. Bravo. Bravo Fortissimo! Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    As well as being consistently hilarious and well written, this show is also very intelligent with good pacing and characters we both love andAs well as being consistently hilarious and well written, this show is also very intelligent with good pacing and characters we both love and hate. The actors play off each other and they have a great chemistry together. What I love most about this show is the seamless blend it creates between reality and ridiculousness, to the extent that at the end of each episode you can't help but think "How the hell did they get themselves into this situation?" Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    Probably the funniest show on TV right now. It's amazing that we are 6 seasons in and it still feels as fresh and funny as the first fewProbably the funniest show on TV right now. It's amazing that we are 6 seasons in and it still feels as fresh and funny as the first few seasons. I can't wait for Thursdays now because of this show alone. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Not too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically untilNot too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically until Danny Devito comes in to play Frank Reynolds. I think Devito being on the show attracted better writers and made the characters more funny. Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews