It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia : Season 1

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 4, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 235 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia revolves around four friends who run a bar in the City of Brotherly Love and have to overcome their relentless self-involvement to make their friendship and business work.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 15, 2013
    100
    Laden with laugh-out-loud moments. ... Just as "Curb Your Enthusiasm" so boldly and brilliantly attacks taboo subjects, so does "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," though the humor is spread from one clueless, self-centered ass to four, clueless, self-centered slackers. [4 Aug 2005]
  2. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Charlie McCollum
    Jul 15, 2013
    88
    An underlying warmth and a certain charm to the characters mitigate some of the childish jokes and give the series real appeal. [5 Aug 2005]
  3. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Hilarious. [4 Aug 2005]
  4. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Ann Gerhart
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    [Has an] intimate, ensemble feel, without grandstanding or fussiness or mugginess. It keeps the four feeling like good company for a half-hour. [4 Aug 2005]
  5. Deseret News
    Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Has moments of brilliance. [11 Aug 2005]
  6. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Ridiculous, and somewhat predictable. [4 Aug 2005]
  7. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jul 15, 2013
    12
    Just because you can put something on TV doesn't mean you should. [3 Aug 2005]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Aug 1, 2016
    10
    This TV show is VERY funny well I only watched like 10 episodes but all of them appeal to me amazingly and the jokes and characters areThis TV show is VERY funny well I only watched like 10 episodes but all of them appeal to me amazingly and the jokes and characters are hilarious. This tv show is my 6th favorite TV show. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2017
    10
    The best comedy series ever. Spontaneity at its best, while sometimes achieving quite remarkable, fresh episodes. The series it's intelligentThe best comedy series ever. Spontaneity at its best, while sometimes achieving quite remarkable, fresh episodes. The series it's intelligent in the way it explores the dumbness of its leading characters that are absolutely marvelous. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Best show on TV PERIOD. I live my life based on the teachings of Frank Reynolds and Charlie Kelly. Bird Law is in effect and the GruesomeBest show on TV PERIOD. I live my life based on the teachings of Frank Reynolds and Charlie Kelly. Bird Law is in effect and the Gruesome Twosome is enforcing. Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Pure godliness on TV 10 out of 10
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious.
  6. Mar 1, 2016
    9
    This show is a still for some unknown reason a hidden gem which not many in my country have heard about, but it is H-I-L-A-R-I-O-U-S andThis show is a still for some unknown reason a hidden gem which not many in my country have heard about, but it is H-I-L-A-R-I-O-U-S and written and played so smart (I guess because studio involvement was kept to a minimum).

    Highly recommended, if not just for all for all those laugh-out-loud joyful moments it gave me during the years.
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Not too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically untilNot too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically until Danny Devito comes in to play Frank Reynolds. I think Devito being on the show attracted better writers and made the characters more funny. Collapse

See all 35 User Reviews