It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia : Season 1

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 4, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia revolves around four friends who run a bar in the City of Brotherly Love and have to overcome their relentless self-involvement to make their friendship and business work.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 15, 2013
    100
    Laden with laugh-out-loud moments. ... Just as "Curb Your Enthusiasm" so boldly and brilliantly attacks taboo subjects, so does "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," though the humor is spread from one clueless, self-centered ass to four, clueless, self-centered slackers. [4 Aug 2005]
  2. An underlying warmth and a certain charm to the characters mitigate some of the childish jokes and give the series real appeal. [5 Aug 2005]
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Hilarious. [4 Aug 2005]
  4. Reviewed by: Ann Gerhart
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    [Has an] intimate, ensemble feel, without grandstanding or fussiness or mugginess. It keeps the four feeling like good company for a half-hour. [4 Aug 2005]
  5. Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Has moments of brilliance. [11 Aug 2005]
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Ridiculous, and somewhat predictable. [4 Aug 2005]
  7. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jul 15, 2013
    12
    Just because you can put something on TV doesn't mean you should. [3 Aug 2005]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    BEST SHOW EVER! Ridiculously funny. The whole cast is awesome. Never an episode that won't make you laugh. The cast are always gettingBEST SHOW EVER! Ridiculously funny. The whole cast is awesome. Never an episode that won't make you laugh. The cast are always getting themselves into crazy situations and it is always fun to watch. Expand
  2. May 23, 2013
    10
    Love this show its the most funniest sarcastic show i have ever seen season 7 was a bit boring but taking season 1-6 and 8 into account itsLove this show its the most funniest sarcastic show i have ever seen season 7 was a bit boring but taking season 1-6 and 8 into account its more than great i would love to see more seasons Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Pure godliness on TV 10 out of 10
  4. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    I start watching the series of It's always sunny after watching one Episode, One episode was enough to get me addict to the fun and crazinessI start watching the series of It's always sunny after watching one Episode, One episode was enough to get me addict to the fun and craziness of the Sunny characters. for me is one of the best shows of all the times. I was using the D.E.N.N.I.S System unconsciously when i saw the that episode i was like Damn. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious. This show is hilarious.
  6. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    For awhile, this was my favorite show on television but it has slipped a bit lately. Seasons 3 and 4 are insanely funny and possibly theFor awhile, this was my favorite show on television but it has slipped a bit lately. Seasons 3 and 4 are insanely funny and possibly the funniest two seasons I've ever seen from any show. Seasons 1 and 2 are ok. Season 5 and 6 have about 2 good episodes each. I love a show that doesn't hold back and they definitely don't. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Not too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically untilNot too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically until Danny Devito comes in to play Frank Reynolds. I think Devito being on the show attracted better writers and made the characters more funny. Collapse

See all 29 User Reviews