It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia : Season 1

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 4, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 248 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia revolves around four friends who run a bar in the City of Brotherly Love and have to overcome their relentless self-involvement to make their friendship and business work.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
IT'S ALWAYS SUNNY IN PHILADELPHIA: SEASON 2
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 15, 2013
    100
    Laden with laugh-out-loud moments. ... Just as "Curb Your Enthusiasm" so boldly and brilliantly attacks taboo subjects, so does "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," though the humor is spread from one clueless, self-centered ass to four, clueless, self-centered slackers. [4 Aug 2005]
  2. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Charlie McCollum
    Jul 15, 2013
    88
    An underlying warmth and a certain charm to the characters mitigate some of the childish jokes and give the series real appeal. [5 Aug 2005]
  3. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Hilarious. [4 Aug 2005]
  4. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Ann Gerhart
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    [Has an] intimate, ensemble feel, without grandstanding or fussiness or mugginess. It keeps the four feeling like good company for a half-hour. [4 Aug 2005]
  5. Deseret News
    Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Has moments of brilliance. [11 Aug 2005]
  6. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Ridiculous, and somewhat predictable. [4 Aug 2005]
  7. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jul 15, 2013
    12
    Just because you can put something on TV doesn't mean you should. [3 Aug 2005]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Best original show on TV! Every character is a comedic genius. Each season gets better and better and the stories are having more and moreBest original show on TV! Every character is a comedic genius. Each season gets better and better and the stories are having more and more overlapping themes. AWESOME! Already can't wait until Sept. for season 7! Let's keep our fingers crossed that they keep them coming after that. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2016
    10
    This TV show is VERY funny well I only watched like 10 episodes but all of them appeal to me amazingly and the jokes and characters areThis TV show is VERY funny well I only watched like 10 episodes but all of them appeal to me amazingly and the jokes and characters are hilarious. This tv show is my 6th favorite TV show. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    If you ever want to start watching a comedy TV Show and you didn't see this one yet, get it. It's worth it, because it's the best thing outIf you ever want to start watching a comedy TV Show and you didn't see this one yet, get it. It's worth it, because it's the best thing out there. The humor is everything from stupid and disgusting to subtle and genius. I love this show. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2017
    10
    Much of the material is original in this show such as, the little details (dead tooth), some of the characters getting progressively worseMuch of the material is original in this show such as, the little details (dead tooth), some of the characters getting progressively worse (cricket and mac getting fat), and many of the plots (A very Sunny Christmas and Sweet D gets Audited). When I first watched the show it gave me a similar feeling as the office (I actually thought it was a real documentary at first, and just didn't get the show) but in this show I didn't know if it was funny or not and I wasn't too sure about it. I kept giving it a go and started to realize that this is not your standard sit com. In fact this is the opposite. I was so used to everyone on T.V. being good guys on funny shows (scrubs, how I met your mother, friends, ect...) it was almost like... I didn't know how to laugh at this show. It is just very different. Once I realized this, I began to laugh my ass off. I think that this show is good because it is made by people who really care about the show and making it funny. That is the main focus.

    (For the anti It's Always Sunny people, I think you just don't get it. That is OK, but you need to watch another show and back off it's always sunny. This section is for you.) Too many shows try to push agendas on you. There are many scenes in this show where they 'try' to push political agenda's on you. And it is utterly hilarious. For example, in the first season they are talking about jews, and every time someone says jew they all get upset and talk about how racist that is. Then they go into how you have to say 'when a jewish person of the jewish faith who is in fact a jew...'. It's so stupid its funny. Curb your enthusiasm in my opinion must have inspired this a bit. But they definitely took that type of comedy to the level it need to go to. I like how they are unbiased in who they make fun of, similar to south park, and don't seem to be afraid of backlash. Too many shows are PC and try to push things on you. I just can't take it. When I come home I just want to watch a show that as a lower class white American I can relate to. If I had to give criticism it would be that the show is either on or off. Where it is either an 8 out of 10 or a 12 out of 10. Some episodes I watch multiple times in a row, just cause I like them so much. Some episodes I watch once and never watch again. 'Charlie gets molested' is so funny to me. I know it shouldn't be because it is so dark, but it just is. If you had to joke about that topic... well thats how you should do it lol (the part at the end where every is standing around Charlie asking him to show them on the doll where he was touched, makes laugh every single time). I think that Danny DeVito was a necessary addition to the show, but I think the show would have been a solid 8.5 without him. He is a very talented actor and has a lot of range in comedy. This would still be my favorite show without him. Every episode my favorite character changes. Sweet D is probably the best female comedian right now. I mean honestly the scene where she is screaming 'I am an independent woman' is so funny and such a great performance. Too many female comedians don't laugh at them selves. They seem to have this sort of magical wisdom and are smarter than everyone else. In this show the scene where D is a bird (an episode about who got D pregnant and it was halloween) just made me die. I think I cried it was so funny.

    (For die hard fans and the cast who probably won't ever read this) In general I think that Rob McElhenny is clearly one of the most talented writers of our generation. If you ever read this Rob, DONT EVER STOP. Even if this show dies, please keep working. Too many gifted people stop because the word bashes them for their brilliance. You have improved peoples lives. It is clearly obvious that you have the gift at coming up with funny lines. You understand that comedy is not a formula, but rather more like a horror movie where you don't want the audience to know when the joke is coming or what it will be. You seem like a remarkable guy from the podcast interviews I have heard you in. You also don't sound like you are full of yourself.

    (ways the show could be improved) Nothing is perfect, though some things are the best *cough It's Always Sunny*. Making a movie would be nice. Perhaps the bar could burn down and the scenery could change, just for an episode or two. Why isn't there an episode about Trump's wall (I am conservative, but even I think that would be funny)? Common you guys could totally build a wall around the bar for some reason, that would be funny. A lot of new people don't get that they don't do **** at the bar. Some people I have watched the show with don't even know that they are in a bar. They setting can be a bit confusing. Just say, in our bar at least once every other episode episode so new people get it.

    Thanks for reading, I would be surprised if someone really does.
    Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Pure godliness on TV 10 out of 10
  6. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    For awhile, this was my favorite show on television but it has slipped a bit lately. Seasons 3 and 4 are insanely funny and possibly theFor awhile, this was my favorite show on television but it has slipped a bit lately. Seasons 3 and 4 are insanely funny and possibly the funniest two seasons I've ever seen from any show. Seasons 1 and 2 are ok. Season 5 and 6 have about 2 good episodes each. I love a show that doesn't hold back and they definitely don't. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Not too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically untilNot too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically until Danny Devito comes in to play Frank Reynolds. I think Devito being on the show attracted better writers and made the characters more funny. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews