It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia : Season 1

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 4, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia revolves around four friends who run a bar in the City of Brotherly Love and have to overcome their relentless self-involvement to make their friendship and business work.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 15, 2013
    100
    Laden with laugh-out-loud moments. ... Just as "Curb Your Enthusiasm" so boldly and brilliantly attacks taboo subjects, so does "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," though the humor is spread from one clueless, self-centered ass to four, clueless, self-centered slackers. [4 Aug 2005]
  2. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Charlie McCollum
    Jul 15, 2013
    88
    An underlying warmth and a certain charm to the characters mitigate some of the childish jokes and give the series real appeal. [5 Aug 2005]
  3. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Hilarious. [4 Aug 2005]
  4. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Ann Gerhart
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    [Has an] intimate, ensemble feel, without grandstanding or fussiness or mugginess. It keeps the four feeling like good company for a half-hour. [4 Aug 2005]
  5. Deseret News
    Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Has moments of brilliance. [11 Aug 2005]
  6. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 15, 2013
    60
    Ridiculous, and somewhat predictable. [4 Aug 2005]
  7. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jul 15, 2013
    12
    Just because you can put something on TV doesn't mean you should. [3 Aug 2005]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    BEST SHOW EVER! Ridiculously funny. The whole cast is awesome. Never an episode that won't make you laugh. The cast are always gettingBEST SHOW EVER! Ridiculously funny. The whole cast is awesome. Never an episode that won't make you laugh. The cast are always getting themselves into crazy situations and it is always fun to watch. Expand
  2. May 18, 2013
    10
    The best funny tv-show ever! I watched it since it started and I can say, that it is my favorite show. It is comedy at its best. And alsoThe best funny tv-show ever! I watched it since it started and I can say, that it is my favorite show. It is comedy at its best. And also Charlies dumb actions are the best. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Best original show on TV! Every character is a comedic genius. Each season gets better and better and the stories are having more and moreBest original show on TV! Every character is a comedic genius. Each season gets better and better and the stories are having more and more overlapping themes. AWESOME! Already can't wait until Sept. for season 7! Let's keep our fingers crossed that they keep them coming after that. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    I start watching the series of It's always sunny after watching one Episode, One episode was enough to get me addict to the fun and crazinessI start watching the series of It's always sunny after watching one Episode, One episode was enough to get me addict to the fun and craziness of the Sunny characters. for me is one of the best shows of all the times. I was using the D.E.N.N.I.S System unconsciously when i saw the that episode i was like Damn. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    As well as being consistently hilarious and well written, this show is also very intelligent with good pacing and characters we both love andAs well as being consistently hilarious and well written, this show is also very intelligent with good pacing and characters we both love and hate. The actors play off each other and they have a great chemistry together. What I love most about this show is the seamless blend it creates between reality and ridiculousness, to the extent that at the end of each episode you can't help but think "How the hell did they get themselves into this situation?" Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    Probably the funniest show on TV right now. It's amazing that we are 6 seasons in and it still feels as fresh and funny as the first fewProbably the funniest show on TV right now. It's amazing that we are 6 seasons in and it still feels as fresh and funny as the first few seasons. I can't wait for Thursdays now because of this show alone. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Not too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically untilNot too comical, alright to watch when you're really really really bored though. The show is not funny until later seasons, basically until Danny Devito comes in to play Frank Reynolds. I think Devito being on the show attracted better writers and made the characters more funny. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews