Ja'mie: Private School Girl : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 24, 2013
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Nov 22, 2013
    30
    Centering one of Lilley's most annoying characters in a series to ramble on incessantly robs the character of its past effectiveness and makes her--and the series--almost unbearable to watch.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 22, 2013
    30
    It's a painfully obvious shtick, so camp and arch it's impossible to enjoy the joke.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Nov 21, 2013
    25
    You can consider this too much of a not-good-enough thing.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Nov 21, 2013
    0
    Their all-that activities become redundant and tiresome at WARP speed, raising the overall question of whether watching Ja’mie: Private School Girl on a continuous loop would be worse than eternal burning in hell.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Look at all these mad girls giving zeros! Sorry to shock you girls but this is how many of you act. I am so happy for this show's existence.Look at all these mad girls giving zeros! Sorry to shock you girls but this is how many of you act. I am so happy for this show's existence. It is hilarious and enlightening. Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    Utter garbage. This self-indulgent, puerile nonsense is unbearable to watch as the view is subjected to the off-putting experience of watchingUtter garbage. This self-indulgent, puerile nonsense is unbearable to watch as the view is subjected to the off-putting experience of watching a man in drag fondle school girls and flog a dead horse. Its unfunny, irritating and pathetic. All those harping about Lilley's perceived 'genius' need to share whatever it is they are smoking. Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    After three episodes I have to agree with the critics here. I don't find the show funny or interesting at all. It's got an interesting idea,After three episodes I have to agree with the critics here. I don't find the show funny or interesting at all. It's got an interesting idea, watching a dude play as a typical stuck-up teenage girl could have been hilarious, but unfortunately the show ends up being just as irritating and hard to be around as the people it is trying to mock. I have to give the show credit for really nailing how these type of girls act, but rather than poking fun at them it just blindly acts like them. There's a difference mockery and mimicry, and unfortunately this show doesn't get that. It really is just hard to watch. Full Review »