• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Ja'mie: Private School Girl Image
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest comedy from Australian comedian Chris Lilley sees his We Can Be Heroes/Summer Heights High character Ja'mie King returning to her private school to complete her senior year.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Nov 22, 2013
    80
    I admit to being underwhelmed by some of Lilley’s previous efforts, but Ja’mie is an enjoyably sick wallow in the evil that lurks in adolescence, as well as a formidable exercise in extreme portraiture.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Nov 25, 2013
    60
    Because this series doesn't tell us anything about the character we didn't know (a Mr. G spinoff might have been much better), it's often like spending time in purgatory. The laughs are there. Ja'mie's just not easy to take.
  3. Reviewed by: Christopher Muther
    Nov 22, 2013
    50
    Lilley’s writing is sharp and funny. He has an uncanny insight into high school. But the story is slow to unfold, and after two or three episodes, the premise feels stretched as tightly as Lilley trying to squeeze into Ja’mie’s school uniform.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 22, 2013
    40
    It's basically a one-joke show--a guy in drag plays the leader of a clique of mean girls--that pales compared with the smart unpredictable chaos of comedy in "Getting On."
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Nov 22, 2013
    30
    Centering one of Lilley's most annoying characters in a series to ramble on incessantly robs the character of its past effectiveness and makes her--and the series--almost unbearable to watch.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 22, 2013
    30
    It's a painfully obvious shtick, so camp and arch it's impossible to enjoy the joke.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Nov 21, 2013
    0
    Their all-that activities become redundant and tiresome at WARP speed, raising the overall question of whether watching Ja’mie: Private School Girl on a continuous loop would be worse than eternal burning in hell.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Ja'mie has joined an army of teen queen bees whose monstrous, perniciously pestiferous antics (from her deplorably racist comments - "No Asians!" - to her xenophobic mindset) has us joshing profusely, but when she turns into an antihero (The teen Walter White), has our mouths wide open thanks to her lewd tomfoolery, psycho tantrums and cruel regards of Asians, Blacks, and her lenient mother.

    In the writing department, Lilley's intelligent satire of modern day teenagers strikes a cord with our young folks who understand the terrifyingly pragmatical character of not only Ja'mie, but also her confidants, who follow her around like puppies, and her lovable GBF. It's sharp, often uproariously amusing, and very, VERY offensive. But, surprisingly enough, we can't get enough of her; frankly, we adore her.
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Another example of critics being totally wrong. Ja'mie is brilliant. Half way through you'll forget that you're watching a 30 something man playing a 17 year old girl. It's laugh out loud funny. Collapse
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Look at all these mad girls giving zeros! Sorry to shock you girls but this is how many of you act. I am so happy for this show's existence. It is hilarious and enlightening. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    I totally disagree with these negative reviews. (Notice how they are all written by men.) Who cares what the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette has to say about anything anyway? I thought the first episode of "Ja'mie" was hilarious. I had never heard of Chris Lilley before watching this, and I'm now interested in seeing the rest of his work. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2013
    5
    The initial concept is interesting and I'll admit I laughed a great deal during episode one however, after three episodes the jokes become a tad repetitive and some scenes honestly are hard to watch. You'll laugh but not sure I'd fully recommend Ja'mie..... Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    4
    Though this show has a clever premise and, occasionally, hilarious moments, the obvious attempts at blind shock comedy ruin what could have been a great show. Nothing else about this show really is bad, and Lilley does his job playing a stereotypical teenage girl very well, but rather than use this to create a truly intelligent comedy, the show reverts to stupid and repetitive gags that do nothing but almost make me gag. By the way, I do not think liking this show or not depends on if you are a guy or not. Several of the people who love this show are obviously guys and several are obviously girls, and the same goes for the people who do not like the show. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    0
    Just saw the show. It's strange and not just cause of the different school structure in Australia versus the US. Although the character played by lilley is the center of the mockumentary.......it's only that character that has any meaningful dialog. It's all lilley... and this strangely sexual child he portrays. For that reason alone it leaves the character without context and thus completely unsympathetic. In order for character studies to be funny the audience must resonate. I did not. I have been a girl and a woman all my life. I have never met any girl or woman that resembles that character. The self obsession in sexual terms is the center...and it fails. No girl does all the things this creature does. Ugh..
    Won't be watching or recommending.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews