Jane Eyre

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 3 out of 36

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AliceW
    Jan 22, 2007
    2
    I am so disappointed in this version that I hardly know where to begin. Jane's childhood and time at Lowood are raced through at such a frantic pace that there's no time for character development. The production adds things that never happened , changes those that did, and dwells on the relatively unimportant (Rochester's affair with the Adele's mother) at the expense I am so disappointed in this version that I hardly know where to begin. Jane's childhood and time at Lowood are raced through at such a frantic pace that there's no time for character development. The production adds things that never happened , changes those that did, and dwells on the relatively unimportant (Rochester's affair with the Adele's mother) at the expense of the more crucial events. Dialogue is "updated" and watered-down, and neither of the main characters resembles Bronte's description. This is not at all a "faithful retelling." Viewers' time would be better spent going back to the Timothy Dalton version or, better yet, reading the book. Expand
  2. AriM
    Feb 6, 2007
    6
    I almost wonder if I watched the same thing everyone else did! Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books, but everything I really love about it seemed largely diminished or missing from this production. The only really interesting thing I found was the portrayal of the ward, Adele. Though she is not exactly a central character of the book, she stole every scene she was in. I was only hoping I almost wonder if I watched the same thing everyone else did! Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books, but everything I really love about it seemed largely diminished or missing from this production. The only really interesting thing I found was the portrayal of the ward, Adele. Though she is not exactly a central character of the book, she stole every scene she was in. I was only hoping she wouldn't be annoying, but she was actually endearing and entertaining. Unfortunately, jane Eyre wasn't. Expand
  3. MargaretB
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    By far the best Jane Eyre filmed yet. Toby Stephens is mesmerizing as Rochester and makes him real, unlike other actors cast in previous versions. Ruth Wilson is superb. I an so pleased to finally see a "Jane Eyre" which does justice to the book.
  4. NormaG
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Keep making series like these!!
  5. mica
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    This is the best adaptation so far! Great acting, best chemistry ever. Critics with bad reviews should keep their opinions for themself !
  6. GraziB
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    I would just add that these actors give us the best Jane and the best Rochester that I've seen. The scene, when they reveal their love for each other is one of the most romantic I've ever watched. I've cried myself out. Perfect entertainment!!!!!!!!!!
  7. CharlotteC.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    I have read the novel three times and seen four different movie versions. This is a truly amazing representation. It shows passion and detail like none of the others. Rochester captures the personality and stirs the viewers emotion as the rough but inwardly loving man. A stellar presentation and I could go on and on.
  8. LisaW
    Jan 22, 2007
    7
    Dry, dull and a bit forced. I was really anticipating as it is my fav book. I'm disappointed in this version.
  9. SallyannB
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    I was hooked by the chemistry between the two leads.
  10. TammyN
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    I caught the movie while flipping through some cable channels and got enraptured by the actors portrayals of the characters and the stunning scenery. Having read the novel a couple years before, I did not fully appreciate it until I saw this movie. I plan to go back and reread it in order to be able to fully appreciate the story in both mediums.
  11. LisaB
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    At first I thought the leads were too pretty but their acting was first rate. I began to see Jane as somewhat plain and Rochester as brooding/angst and it was great to delve into their relationship. It was a fantastic movie, the best one since George C. Scott
  12. JillH
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Anyone who is not moved by Mr. Rochester's heartfelt lines, like "I love you like my own flesh" and "be my second self" is a corpse. The brooding master of a house set in the brooding English countryside surrounded by the even more brooding moors successfully captures the secret pain that Jane and Mr. Rochester both hold. It's a work of art.
  13. MartinF
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Superb...loved every minute!
  14. KLow
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    I was huge fan of an old BBC version that I saw when I was in 6th grade in the 70's. I've read the book dozens of times and was a bit apprehensive about yet another adaptation (William Hurt anyone?). But this was terrific; wonderful cinematography, casting, particularly Toby Stephens & Ruth WIlson (who both seemed born to play them!). My only gripe is that they short changed us I was huge fan of an old BBC version that I saw when I was in 6th grade in the 70's. I've read the book dozens of times and was a bit apprehensive about yet another adaptation (William Hurt anyone?). But this was terrific; wonderful cinematography, casting, particularly Toby Stephens & Ruth WIlson (who both seemed born to play them!). My only gripe is that they short changed us on the Helen backstory (it still haunts me from the 70's version). Though I understand the DVD has deleted scenes from this part! Expand
  15. BeverlyPease
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    Jane Eyre has been my favorite book since I was 16. I've always thought of Mr. Rochester as older than the one portrayed by Toby Stephens in this recent adaptation--also more tormented and brooding. But he does an excellent job, as does Ruth Wilson, whose character is more compelling. I will definitely be watching Part 2 next Sunday. Great performances by all! Congratulations to Jane Eyre has been my favorite book since I was 16. I've always thought of Mr. Rochester as older than the one portrayed by Toby Stephens in this recent adaptation--also more tormented and brooding. But he does an excellent job, as does Ruth Wilson, whose character is more compelling. I will definitely be watching Part 2 next Sunday. Great performances by all! Congratulations to Masterpiece Theater. Expand
  16. AnneA
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Finally, the right casting of Rochester! Gorgeous production. Closest of any I've seen to what I pictured when I first read the book.
  17. J.Suleski
    Jan 22, 2007
    7
    Inexplicable and unecessary changes, script a bit too tight (could it not have been done over 6 hours?) and other minor flaws balanced out by the idea of a Rochester that is actually much more charming than the book suggests, while still being bitter, defensive, resigned, and just a bit dissipated.
  18. tayekok
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    Excellent adaptation. I thoroughly enjoyed every second. BEautifully cast and performed.
  19. KHollifield
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    Wonderful and well done!
  20. DougR
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    Wonderfully written, acted, and filmed. It is better than most full length movies that have been produced lately. Hopelessly romantic perhaps, but brilliantly done nonetheless. Particularly liked the fact it did not unnecessarily modernize the characters - they remained as Charlotte Bronte intended them.
  21. ChrissyK
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Awesome, the new authoritative Jane Eyre.
  22. TerryLS
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    This version loses the overacting of Orson Wells and others who turned Rochester into a raving maniac rather than a melancholy man duped into a tragic marriage. Jane is also well-done, and her story unravels as the author intended imo. Jane Eyre is my favorite romantic tale, and I give this rating unequivocally as the Best treatment I've seen yet. Even the physical look of the actors This version loses the overacting of Orson Wells and others who turned Rochester into a raving maniac rather than a melancholy man duped into a tragic marriage. Jane is also well-done, and her story unravels as the author intended imo. Jane Eyre is my favorite romantic tale, and I give this rating unequivocally as the Best treatment I've seen yet. Even the physical look of the actors is right-on for this tale. Bravo. Expand
  23. NoemiL
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    This movie was great! I would love to see it again. Where can I get a dvd copy?
  24. PamS
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    I can't quit watching it. I love it!!! I am such a hopeless romantic. I have just about every version of Jane Eyre on video or DVD but this one is my favorite. The combination of excellent acting, magical scenery and beautiful music are just some of the attributes that make this version so captivating. Thanks for a brilliant adaption of such a beloved book. (I ordered a second one, I can't quit watching it. I love it!!! I am such a hopeless romantic. I have just about every version of Jane Eyre on video or DVD but this one is my favorite. The combination of excellent acting, magical scenery and beautiful music are just some of the attributes that make this version so captivating. Thanks for a brilliant adaption of such a beloved book. (I ordered a second one, just in case the first DVD gets scratched.) Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 60
    Ever respectful of its source, the miniseries doesn't add on sexuality so much as it seeks and finds character depth and dimensionality.
  2. Scene after scene transports viewers across time and space to a place made vivid and real. By doing all this, the robust, two-part, four-hour "Masterpiece Theatre" program raises the bar for future "Jane Eyre" productions to a level that will not be easily hurdled.
  3. A more than usually steamy "Jane Eyre," it seems to have been made especially to appeal to viewers whose week peaks with "Grey's Anatomy." ... And yet, despite these passages, the production overall comes off as a little dry and dutiful.