• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2006
  • Season #: 1
Jane Eyre Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Toby Stephens, Ruth Wilson
  • Summary: The oft-filmed Charlotte Bronte novel is re-imagined once again as a BBC-produced Masterpiece Theatre miniseries.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 100
    Even if you know Jane Eyre, you don't know her like this.
  2. Scene after scene transports viewers across time and space to a place made vivid and real. By doing all this, the robust, two-part, four-hour "Masterpiece Theatre" program raises the bar for future "Jane Eyre" productions to a level that will not be easily hurdled.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Moore
    88
    Love, betrayal, despair, redemption, reconciliation. All of the elements expected of any epic love story are included. The distinction here: The story is splendidly retold.
  4. Reviewed by: Jim Heinrich
    80
    The casting is close to perfect.... This production of "Jane Eyre" holds its own against any other.
  5. The casting of the leads is a bit disappointing.
  6. 60
    Ever respectful of its source, the miniseries doesn't add on sexuality so much as it seeks and finds character depth and dimensionality.
  7. A more than usually steamy "Jane Eyre," it seems to have been made especially to appeal to viewers whose week peaks with "Grey's Anatomy." ... And yet, despite these passages, the production overall comes off as a little dry and dutiful.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. SallyannB
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    I was hooked by the chemistry between the two leads.
  2. CharlotteC.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    I have read the novel three times and seen four different movie versions. This is a truly amazing representation. It shows passion and detail like none of the others. Rochester captures the personality and stirs the viewers emotion as the rough but inwardly loving man. A stellar presentation and I could go on and on. Expand
  3. tayekok
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    Excellent adaptation. I thoroughly enjoyed every second. BEautifully cast and performed.
  4. ChrissyK
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Awesome, the new authoritative Jane Eyre.
  5. KLow
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    I was huge fan of an old BBC version that I saw when I was in 6th grade in the 70's. I've read the book dozens of times and was a bit apprehensive about yet another adaptation (William Hurt anyone?). But this was terrific; wonderful cinematography, casting, particularly Toby Stephens & Ruth WIlson (who both seemed born to play them!). My only gripe is that they short changed us on the Helen backstory (it still haunts me from the 70's version). Though I understand the DVD has deleted scenes from this part! Expand
  6. DougR
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    Wonderfully written, acted, and filmed. It is better than most full length movies that have been produced lately. Hopelessly romantic perhaps, but brilliantly done nonetheless. Particularly liked the fact it did not unnecessarily modernize the characters - they remained as Charlotte Bronte intended them. Expand
  7. AliceW
    Jan 22, 2007
    2
    I am so disappointed in this version that I hardly know where to begin. Jane's childhood and time at Lowood are raced through at such a frantic pace that there's no time for character development. The production adds things that never happened , changes those that did, and dwells on the relatively unimportant (Rochester's affair with the Adele's mother) at the expense of the more crucial events. Dialogue is "updated" and watered-down, and neither of the main characters resembles Bronte's description. This is not at all a "faithful retelling." Viewers' time would be better spent going back to the Timothy Dalton version or, better yet, reading the book. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews