Jericho : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2006
Season #: 1, 2
Jericho Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In yet another "What the hell is going on?" serial, a small Kansas town is cut off from the outside world after a nuclear mushroom cloud appears on the horizon.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 9 out of 30
  1. Jericho works when it sticks to the eerie surreality of a nuclear attack... The show, unfortunately, flops about in its first two episodes, leaning too heavily on the action-adventure stuff.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    70
    There's enough human drama here to keep us occupied without having the walls fall down, too.
  3. Discerning viewers -- and anyone who's hooked on "Lost" -- will realize that "Jericho" is doling out hints to a very large mystery at a very slow pace, which is never a good combination.
  4. 50
    In Jericho, claustrophobia, paranoia and the threat of nuclear rain are merely an overlay meant to distract us from the mundane nature of everything else the town has to offer.
  5. There's tons of trouble in Jericho, and that starts with T and that rhymes with D and that stands for dumb. Not flat-footedly, spectacularly dumb, just a little bit too dumb to live up to its premise.
  6. It's not only about a bomb. It is one.
  7. 20
    “Jericho” lumbers; its townspeople spend all their time in the bar squabbling--they know one another so well that they haven’t got room to grow.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 167
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    It's my favorite TV-show! It's has everything you ever wanted. A post apocalyptic word, drama, action and the story behind the people's copingIt's my favorite TV-show! It's has everything you ever wanted. A post apocalyptic word, drama, action and the story behind the people's coping mechanism. Just awesome! Expand
  2. TimB.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Jericho is the best family show on television. Jericho has a great storyline that is brought to us by a terrific cast. Jericho is the only Jericho is the best family show on television. Jericho has a great storyline that is brought to us by a terrific cast. Jericho is the only must see tv in our house! Expand
  3. coco
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Original and thought-provoking. Suspense galore. Love it!
  4. KarenS.
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    THis is a great show. Every episode has been exciting. It is a good as 24. I want to see season 3. If CBS cancels it again ( which I hope THis is a great show. Every episode has been exciting. It is a good as 24. I want to see season 3. If CBS cancels it again ( which I hope they don't) why can't another network pick it up. Expand
  5. KarenC.
    Feb 18, 2008
    9
    I love this show. It's about the only really good fiction entertainment ON television. I am so tired of criminal and law shows, the I love this show. It's about the only really good fiction entertainment ON television. I am so tired of criminal and law shows, the comedies are mindless, as is reality tv. This is an action packed, suspenseful, yet oddly realistic "what if" scenario drama. I enjoy rewatching eps as much as new episodes. I can only hope CBS continues to respond. Ratings barameters now are so out of touch with how tv is viewed it is not funny. Also, they have to consider that they have probably already permanently lost a significant portion of viewers from the strike. If Jericho does not come back after this season, I may be another casualty. I suspect next year to be awful, thrown together from desperation and lacking thoughtful entertainment more than ever. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2015
    8
    I missed this little series and recently had a chance to see it. Really good. Likeable characters, most of them act in a believable way (notI missed this little series and recently had a chance to see it. Really good. Likeable characters, most of them act in a believable way (not too much drama or hollywood style action, which is good). Good writing, nice dialogues and many small stories in between the different characters. The major idea is rather ominous, tries to keep up the mystery (to a point where it becomes an unbelievable meta plot), but keeps the chars running. The degree of social desintegration caused by a disaster like shown here is too mild, though. I don't miss gung-ho man eating gunslingers, but I doubt that a city could stay that clean, that healthy for such a long period. Days after the power goes down the lack of clean drinking water, food and medicine would cause a much higher death toll, than shown. And never would people stay so calm and democratic for so long, they have to many guns and are to egocentric to keep up a functioning community. Fights would break out over small amounts of food, that no mayor speech could stop. Law would crumble and the weak would get trampled by their own people. Then there is the complete lack of radiation effects as long as they don't leave the city - wtf? No winds at all in months?

    I guess the production was'nt allowed to be more realistic (= depressing) because of target audience, channel and schedule. You have to imagine that everything would actually be ten times worth in reality.

    Still the best try in years to show the effects a major catastrophe will have on human society and civilization. Too bad that it didn't prevail. While watching it I felt a shiver down my spine, as the scenario shown is just an inch away. Our luxury life can be taken away any moment by some idiots (although a single large EMP strike by Mr. Putin or the Chinese is more realistic than terrorists setting up some 40 dirty nukes all over the states). A major sunstorm like in the 19th Century would have a pretty similar effect. All tech we rely on would be gone in a moment, leaving us as babies in an unforgiving world.

    Actually this series should be shown in schools. It should have been a major success as a waking call... but most people are so lazy and ignorant. Get your next iphone, I will laugh at you when the powergrid goes offline forever and you forgot to buy a knife or a water filter (I am not a survivalist, I just consider people denying the fact that we constantly walk on very very thin ice irrational).
    Expand
  7. DanG
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Primetime television should be entertaining without Holywoodization of a Nuclear bombs going off

See all 167 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns

    Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns Image
    Published: April 22, 2010
    Earlier this week, we told you which TV shows were in danger in cancellation. Now, learn about what you can do to save your favorite show -- and what other fans have done in the past to mount successful campaigns.