Joan & Melissa: Joan Knows Best? Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Joan Rivers moves from New York to Malibu to live with her daughter, Melissa Rivers.
  • Genre(s): Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 1, 2011
    75
    Rivers scarcely pretends any of the setups are real--it's just more material for her. [7 Feb 2011, p.41]
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 26, 2011
    70
    If you're a committed Riversian, and I am, Joan & Melissa: Joan Knows Best? is an enjoyably lighthearted hour of prime Joan shtick.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 26, 2011
    60
    Ms. Rivers is, even in this silly imposture, very funny, making jokes and playing the role of doting grandmother and interfering mother self-mockingly.
  4. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 25, 2011
    58
    The target viewer wouldn't watch all this predictable--I mean, impulsive--bickering and button-pushing while thinking: I wonder why all the paintings and posters on the walls in the background are blurred out? And then think: Geez, why am I even wondering about that? The audience for Joan Knows Best? will be loving Joan's visits to three plastic surgeons Tuesday, not fretting.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 25, 2011
    50
    At 60 minutes, these episodes will test even loyal fans, although some viewers will discover a new respect for Melissa, who displays patience not unlike Job in her trials. Still, Joan is her mother. Everyone else can skip the guilt trip.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 25, 2011
    25
    Episodes are one hour each, requiring ample manufactured "drama" to keep this thing percolating.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 25, 2011
    25
    Added to these uncomfortable, setup situations are some others that simply defy explanation.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this show! Joan is funny and the chemistry between her and Melissa is the best! Joan holds nothing back. I think this is a pretty darnI LOVE this show! Joan is funny and the chemistry between her and Melissa is the best! Joan holds nothing back. I think this is a pretty darn "close to normal" life situation show that I have seen for a long time. Very entertaining! Please don't take it off the air....! Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    I love this show! Had to find a place to express this. Joan had me on the apprentice. I watched Joan as a kid when she performed whileI love this show! Had to find a place to express this. Joan had me on the apprentice. I watched Joan as a kid when she performed while pregnant with Melissa on TV... love watching Joan push the boundaries and Melissa react....Joan's grandson - well only out of the mouths of babes..."it's a chick magnet" describing her car was hysterical....Love this show...hope to follow it for a long time.... Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    I love this show. Of course the incidents are set up to let Joan do what she does best...be hysterically funny...but being the mother of aI love this show. Of course the incidents are set up to let Joan do what she does best...be hysterically funny...but being the mother of a grown daughter the show highlights many of the same big issues that arise between mothers and daughters...albeit a bit over the top...but that is what makes it entertaining. I admire Ms Rivers for how she has reacted to all of the setbacks in her life and career..she is a real workhorse and a very talented one at that. And I love Melissa....she loves her mom but struggles to assert her own identity...love love love the show Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite reality show, and very insightful into both Joan & Melissa's lives. What a treat to get to see Joan every week, and alsoThis is my favorite reality show, and very insightful into both Joan & Melissa's lives. What a treat to get to see Joan every week, and also get a glimpse of what life is really like for themselves and their families. Although some moments appear a bit scripted, overall the viewer gets the sense that this is the real deal. And there's no one in entertainment today who is as quick, and as funny as Joan.

    I highly recommend this show!!!
    Collapse