John Doe : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2002
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    Feb 24, 2013
    40
    Who is he? Who-who, who-who? I really want to know. But I don't think I want to sit through four or five episodes, let alone a season or two, to find out. [20 Sept 2002]
  2. Detroit Free Press
    Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Feb 24, 2013
    50
    Mr. Know-It-All can be rather irritating. [20 Sept 2002]
  3. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Feb 24, 2013
    60
    The fun part of this series is watching Doe become aware of his powers and limitations. Purcell supplies all the wonder and charm needed to turn Doe into a fascinating and curious character. [19 Sept 2002]
  4. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Feb 24, 2013
    50
    Can we please have a moratorium on voice-over narration? This lazy device is being overused to convey what simple dialogue should. In John Doe, the title character's innermost thoughts won't stop. [19 Sept 2002, p.48]
  5. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 24, 2013
    40
    Viewers who don't mind being dragged along for a ride, who are gluttons for punishment ("X-Files" faithful, perhaps), may want to join in John Doe's search. For the rest of us, Doe will remain the personification of an unsolved mystery. [20 Sept 2002, p.40]
  6. 50
    So how come he knows absolutely everything, but some things he doesn't? You're not supposed to ask.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Feb 24, 2013
    60
    Distracting and annoying as some of its bad habits are, "John Doe" is still hauntingly distinctive enough to warrant further investigation. Who knows but that eventually we may even find -- yes, I'm going to say it -- Doe a dear.
  8. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Feb 24, 2013
    50
    There were so many paths that Joe Doe could have gone that the chosen route is a disappointment. Prime time has enough crime solvers. John Doe might not know who he is, but what he becomes is all too familiar. [20 Sept 2002, p.E1]
  9. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Feb 24, 2013
    40
    I found the lead's lack of irony or even much anxiety a bore. Just because you don't know who you are doesn't mean you can't be self-aware. [20 Sept 2002, p.C3]

Awards & Rankings

There are no user reviews yet.