• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 10, 2007
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 254

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GaryT
    Jul 18, 2007
    1
    This show is a failure. It lacks the honesty of the characters of Deadwood or the captivating mystery with in the story line of Carnival. I'm losing patents with the very slow story line development. This show won't make it. The character of John might be the second coming but, this show isn't.
  2. chrisr
    Jul 23, 2007
    1
    This show is a mess... I like strange shows, but this is just horrible. The acting is crap, the script is crap... What was HBO thinking?
  3. HaroldS.
    Sep 7, 2007
    1
    A Milch mix with Nunn nuts, is a total waste of time. The Deadwood type talk is simply out of place; just so ostentatious I'm pleased that it was dropped from HBO.
  4. DanielN
    Jul 26, 2007
    0
    Worst show ever produced on HBO. HBO has given too much freedom to David Milch, who seems to think every word he touches turns to gold. I hope HBO quickly cancels this spectacle, or else they may lose too many viewers to afford it for a season two. David Milch is done in my book. He abandoned "Deadwood" for this BS. Wow, what an idiot!
  5. Renee
    Jul 26, 2007
    0
    This show is horrible. It makes no sense, characters are stiff, the script is junk. Don't bother watching unless you want it to put you to sleep!
  6. helenee
    Jul 29, 2007
    2
    Watching it is painful. It hurts my head. What the hell was the zombie green corpse that John brought out into the yard in that one episode? After that, the show lost it for me.
  7. TedB
    Aug 18, 2007
    0
    How in the world can so many people give this show a 10? And half of you that rated it that high admit you don't have a clue as to what the damn thing is all about! Somehow I managed to force myself to watch this show until the very end out of a sense of devotion to HBO and David Milch, but, oh my god, what a waste of time! And that had to be one of the worst endings for a supposedly How in the world can so many people give this show a 10? And half of you that rated it that high admit you don't have a clue as to what the damn thing is all about! Somehow I managed to force myself to watch this show until the very end out of a sense of devotion to HBO and David Milch, but, oh my god, what a waste of time! And that had to be one of the worst endings for a supposedly edgy show ever. It smacked of "Let's Get This Over With." The only thing it was missing was a group hug while they were all floating above the ground singing Kumbaya. Yes, there was some solid acting and direction, but the writing was straight out of a 5 day meth-bender. What, did they think we would be duped into buying the phony metaphysical subtext? More like metafarcical. And please don't try and tell that was the point or I will barf all over my keyboard. They didn't have a point. This wasn't just style over substance, it was gibberish over nonsense. I guess this is what successful writers and producers do once they have enough money to get coked out of their minds. And people gave it a 10? I give it a 0 in the name of sanity. If I could have given it a -10, I would have. The just punishment for HBO, should they chose to renew this series, would be to force them to watch it over and over again without their bongs and stash of coke. Expand
  8. MarcP.
    Sep 10, 2007
    0
    As satisfying as a Chinese crossword puzzle wish I had time to learn the language of Milchanese.
  9. HenryN.
    Sep 8, 2007
    0
    this show wasn't smart or complex, it was an embarrassing testament to how dumb the tv audience has gotten. Milch's politics and screwy beliefs in faith healing and miracles served up like some Universal Truth. Throw in a few magic tricks and some will mistake confusion for complexity. Only psychotics would think a show about some upcoming genocide and apocalypse is "uplifting." this show wasn't smart or complex, it was an embarrassing testament to how dumb the tv audience has gotten. Milch's politics and screwy beliefs in faith healing and miracles served up like some Universal Truth. Throw in a few magic tricks and some will mistake confusion for complexity. Only psychotics would think a show about some upcoming genocide and apocalypse is "uplifting." Think about THAT. Expand
  10. BillB
    Jul 23, 2007
    2
    i have watched this show all 5 episodes, mainly out of the inertia of plopping my old butt on the sofa at 9PM on Sundays to watch HBO- sort of rigor mortis from Sopranos days..... J from C has the worst dialogue i've ever seen in a show- did Bruce Greenwood quit already? how do you take the lead guy in a brand new series and shelve him for 2 or 3 episodes? and leave the lead to i have watched this show all 5 episodes, mainly out of the inertia of plopping my old butt on the sofa at 9PM on Sundays to watch HBO- sort of rigor mortis from Sopranos days..... J from C has the worst dialogue i've ever seen in a show- did Bruce Greenwood quit already? how do you take the lead guy in a brand new series and shelve him for 2 or 3 episodes? and leave the lead to Rebecca D- who walks around looking dazed and confused with her cracking voice patterns. i've tried to like it, because the california beach town/ surfer theme is interesting, but this is really, really poorly executed. there are some HBO types who believed their own BS/ infallibility who will be looking for jobs soon Expand
  11. AllyN
    Jul 26, 2007
    0
    If this show doesn't bring Milch back to reality (he is not the God of TV), then I don't know what will. I'm aggrivated at HBO for letting such crap take up time on their network. After all, HBO had produced such great series before, and I can't recall one that is as terrible as this one. My husband and I have watched the episodes in agony, waiting for something to If this show doesn't bring Milch back to reality (he is not the God of TV), then I don't know what will. I'm aggrivated at HBO for letting such crap take up time on their network. After all, HBO had produced such great series before, and I can't recall one that is as terrible as this one. My husband and I have watched the episodes in agony, waiting for something to make us look forward to next week's show. But we're done, not watching any more. A great show will hook you in an episode, a good show will hook you in two or three, but this piece of junk will make you want to watch Desperate Housewives and cancel HBO. Expand
  12. Brooke
    Jul 26, 2007
    0
    Worst show on cable ever. HBO should be ashamed of this crap. Please put us out of our misery and cancel it now!
  13. TG
    Aug 13, 2007
    1
    All the awful self-indulgence that Deadwood displayed, plus god-awful dialog, a dumb plot, and poor acting from talented actors.
  14. Bobv.
    Aug 13, 2007
    1
    I just don't like the premise, the acting, or anything else. I did not really like deadwood either. This show has way to much drama for my taste and wacky(lame) surrealism.
  15. RS.
    Aug 13, 2007
    0
    Contrived and obtuse
  16. lesm
    Aug 15, 2007
    0
    what a load of crap. I watched every episode hoping that it would make sense eventually. I watched it because it was by Milch I think he must be back on the sauce
  17. BrianS.
    Aug 17, 2007
    0
    This show was a hot, steaming Turd - Milch was definitely off the wagon on this one. Not in the same category as Deadwood, The Soprnos or even Carnivale. Now when is Bill Maher back on?
  18. Mike
    Aug 20, 2007
    1
    The premier was promising. That was the highlight of the series. David Milch thinks he's modern-day Shakespeare. If it's not bad enough he uses 960 words to express each sentence, it's written in such superfluous word-wasting nonsensical existential bullshit, I just don;t give a shit about a single character that opens his or her mouth, except for the parrots. Each week The premier was promising. That was the highlight of the series. David Milch thinks he's modern-day Shakespeare. If it's not bad enough he uses 960 words to express each sentence, it's written in such superfluous word-wasting nonsensical existential bullshit, I just don;t give a shit about a single character that opens his or her mouth, except for the parrots. Each week drags on and on slower and slower, with 10 times more questions than answers about who these people are and what the hell they are doing, and more importantly, WHY DO WE CARE ABOUT THEM? Most of the episodes have absolutely NO plot advancement or resolutions whatsoever. Characters sleepwalk through the show dribbling out 60 second meaningless sentences like a child pissing in his diapers running down his leg and on our shoes. I am so sick of every character's self-indulged vacant paralysis I can;t even stand to watch them, especially the perpetually hyper-angry Sissy who spews a river of shit on anyone and everyone for no reasopn whatsoever. She has one speed and one dimension: EXTREME BITCH. I wish they would all drown together, except the parrots. Expand
  19. ElaineA.
    Aug 6, 2007
    2
    This is farb from a replacement for Six Feet Under and Sopranos. The dialogue is strange and the story boring so far. The acting seems sub par. In the last episode I wanted to turn it off and watch State of Mind after 10 minutes but stayed tune. The deal with Cissy running around looking for Shawn was boringand pathetic. Get a stroy soon or you will lose everyone.
  20. LReiman
    Jul 22, 2007
    2
    Very bizarre mess. No cohesion. While I watched Deadwood it was not my favorite despite being well done but J from C is just plain convoluted. Too many style mixes--too many disjointed subplots. Good luck trying to make sense out of it. I give up. Deadwood was better even in my book.
  21. Ken
    Jul 23, 2007
    2
    I tried to like this but who could. The characters are hateful, cheating, cursing unlikeable people who respond to situations that are so unreal. Hey I'm floating - grab a camera. Hey I'm not dead - I still just want to smoke and surf. Hey, there's this weird dude - let's invite him to follow us everywhere. Whatever, it's not a thinking person's series as I tried to like this but who could. The characters are hateful, cheating, cursing unlikeable people who respond to situations that are so unreal. Hey I'm floating - grab a camera. Hey I'm not dead - I still just want to smoke and surf. Hey, there's this weird dude - let's invite him to follow us everywhere. Whatever, it's not a thinking person's series as it's hateful people do stupid things. I'll be watching reruns of the Sopranos before watching more of this. Expand
  22. bat
    Jul 31, 2007
    2
    shame on david milch!!!!!!
  23. lynnen.
    Aug 13, 2007
    0
    Hate it - it drags on and on without making any sense - bring back Deadwood - but, if you want "Dead Wood" - that describes JFC.
  24. TimM
    Aug 13, 2007
    1
    Tried to like this show and give it a chance, but its impossible - finally put the last nail in the coffin last night - just couldn't even get thru the whole show. Can't believe Deadwood was given up for this crap. And we're supposed to accept the Deadwood actors in this new series? All they did was take the hooker clothes off Trixie - her personality is exactly the same - Tried to like this show and give it a chance, but its impossible - finally put the last nail in the coffin last night - just couldn't even get thru the whole show. Can't believe Deadwood was given up for this crap. And we're supposed to accept the Deadwood actors in this new series? All they did was take the hooker clothes off Trixie - her personality is exactly the same - its insane! what the heck is up with HBO - why abandon such great shows like Carnivale, Deadwood, & Rome and feed us this junk - its about time to cancel my HBO - all the reasons to keep paying for it are gone. Shame on you HBO Expand
  25. ericg.
    Aug 13, 2007
    3
    What the hell was that? Many of the great elements (including actors) of 'Deadwood', but without a coherent plot. While I saw every episode, at some point roughly a month ago, it dawned on me that the emperor's just not wearing any clothes.
  26. roycet.
    Aug 14, 2007
    2
    Ugh. What exactly was that?
  27. DonnellW
    Aug 17, 2007
    0
    How in the world can so many people give this show a 10? And half of you that rated it that high admit you don't have a clue as to what the damn thing is all about! Somehow I managed to force myself to watch this show until the very end out of a sense of devotion to HBO and David Milch, but, oh my god, what a waste of time! And that had to be one of the worst endings for a supposedly How in the world can so many people give this show a 10? And half of you that rated it that high admit you don't have a clue as to what the damn thing is all about! Somehow I managed to force myself to watch this show until the very end out of a sense of devotion to HBO and David Milch, but, oh my god, what a waste of time! And that had to be one of the worst endings for a supposedly edgy show ever. It smacked of "Let's Get This Over With." Yes, there was some solid acting and direction, but the writing was straight out of a 5 day meth-bender. What, did they think we would be duped into buying the phony metaphysical subtext? More like metafarcical. And please don't try and tell that was the point or I will barf all over my keyboard. I don't think they had a point. This wasn't just style over substance, it was gibberish over nonsense. I guess this is what successful writers and producers do once they have enough cash to get coked out of their minds. And people gave it a 10? I give it a 0 in the name of sanity. If I could have given it a -10, I would have. The just punishment for HBO, should they chose to renew this series, would be to force them to watch it over and over again without their bong and stash of coke. Expand
  28. C.M.
    Jun 27, 2007
    2
    I can not remember a show where the characters were more unlikeable and annoying than they are in this confusing mess of a show called "John From Cincinnati." After a frustrating three episodes, I am severely tempted to abandon the strain sitting through what amounts to a lot of hard to swallow wierdness and yelling. As I believe the story line has potential; however, I shall give it one I can not remember a show where the characters were more unlikeable and annoying than they are in this confusing mess of a show called "John From Cincinnati." After a frustrating three episodes, I am severely tempted to abandon the strain sitting through what amounts to a lot of hard to swallow wierdness and yelling. As I believe the story line has potential; however, I shall give it one more opportunity to charm and entice rather than fill me with distaste and bafflement. Expand
  29. Travis
    Jun 10, 2007
    1
    Not just bad (the kid who plays Sean must be one of the worst actors I've seen), but incredibly boring. I tried so hard to get through the entire premiere episode but had to give up halfway through.
  30. garya.
    Jul 16, 2007
    2
    No more Deadwood.....No more Rome.....For THIS load of crap?!! Somebody tell me that this is a just a very bad dream!
  31. JimboFromJersey
    Jul 1, 2007
    0
    Completely unwatchable.
  32. JessicaJ.
    Aug 6, 2007
    3
    It started off with such promise but never seems to get going. Too contrived after a while. Still, it's addicting.
  33. JohnW
    Jun 10, 2007
    2
    We got this instead of extending dead wood? Go f@#$ yourself.
  34. MichelleC
    Jun 11, 2007
    2
    very confusing - boring - and tuned out after 10 inutes.
  35. JM
    Jun 13, 2007
    3
    Left DEADWOOD for this? Shameful.
  36. biffk
    Jun 14, 2007
    2
    HBO's new "edgy" drama is a wipe out. Don't go near it without lots of pain medication nearby.
  37. Andre
    Jun 18, 2007
    0
    The worst show on TV. I can't believe HBO got rid of Deadwood for this.... So Very Sad
  38. TonyE
    Jun 18, 2007
    2
    This show is, at least based on the premiere, one of the most ridiculous, unwatchably pretentious TV shows ever produced. I give it a 2 only because it's good to see Ed O'Neill, the one member of the cast I didn't want to choke through the screen.
  39. JoannieS
    Jun 25, 2007
    1
    Insult to a thinking person's intelligence. No redeeming qualities. Worst show I've watched in years.
  40. StephenR
    Jun 25, 2007
    0
    No plot, characters that are imposible to sympathize with, let alone identify with or even relate to; self-important scenes with pretentious, awkward dialogue, total lack of believability and ultimatelys disconnected from mianstream America as the Bush administration. Someone's got too much money to take the time to shop at a supermarket.
  41. TylerS
    Jun 9, 2007
    0
    I had the [dis]pleasure of vieing the first three episodes in advance. Trust me, 20 minutes in, this one will have you racing towards you telephone to cancel your post-Soprano HBO subscription. I am literally appalled that they dropped the masterpiece that was Deadwood for this steaming piece of poo!
  42. BobW
    Jul 10, 2007
    0
    Just terrible. I keep watching because I simply cannot believe that the people at HBO could do something so pathetic, in fruitless anticipation of improvement.For this Deadwood was canceled? For this I would not cancel a beer commercial.
  43. JamieK.
    Jul 15, 2007
    1
    I can't believe I have watched 5 episodes of this crap. I see from the comments already posted is that people either love it or hate it. It had the potential of being very interesting, yet it has take so long for something to take shape, I have lost interest. I can't really feel anything for any of these characters who are so screwed up. I wonder if enough people will watch for I can't believe I have watched 5 episodes of this crap. I see from the comments already posted is that people either love it or hate it. It had the potential of being very interesting, yet it has take so long for something to take shape, I have lost interest. I can't really feel anything for any of these characters who are so screwed up. I wonder if enough people will watch for it to be picked up again. Now Flight of the Conchords....that is a show! Expand
  44. RalphM.
    Aug 11, 2007
    0
    Characters who, with few exceptions, suffer from minimal to serious brain damage and limited vocabulary, a plot that meanders, and a core mystery that is banal. Sad for the actors. "Shaun will be gone"? Best thing that could happen to him.
  45. GlenO.
    Aug 12, 2007
    3
    Well the first season is over and if anyone has a clue what this series is about please post it! I'm a super fan of sci-fi and obscure philosophy and theology and just about anything outside the box. I first thought that this could be something like Heinlein's 'Stranger in a Strange Land' or something on that kind of grand scale. By the end of season one I want to Well the first season is over and if anyone has a clue what this series is about please post it! I'm a super fan of sci-fi and obscure philosophy and theology and just about anything outside the box. I first thought that this could be something like Heinlein's 'Stranger in a Strange Land' or something on that kind of grand scale. By the end of season one I want to throw the remote through my TV screen because I don't even know which character I care about less! HBO is going to screw us with this series just like they did with Carnivale when it failed in the ratings. We never got to see the ending for Carnivale! Lucky Louie was another great comedy for adults who can handle adult themes. We got screwed again with that cancellation. Since I now know less than ever about John from Cincinatti, my guess is we won't have to worry about this ridiculous series for much longer. Thank God for Entourage! Don't get too attached to JFC. Most HBO fans are very tolerant, but even us Cable heads need a plot to follow. Looks like Sundays evenings will be a NetFlix evening at my house. Expand
  46. annak.
    Aug 9, 2007
    1
    Painful to watch.
  47. bwwest
    Jun 11, 2007
    1
    terrible-boring-uneventful-if they think cusing makes the show good they are fucked up.
  48. LacyR
    Jun 11, 2007
    1
    Pretentious dribble. A far reach to try to encompass the intellectual crowd. The only people who could enjoy this series are those as mentally challenged as the characters featured on it. Bottom line, "it sucked Dude"
  49. JimM
    Jun 14, 2007
    2
    I somehow, against my better instincts, managed to watch the first episode. The entire time I kept trying to figure out how they could take Deadwood off the air for this 'Twin Peaks' wanna-be.
  50. ts
    Jun 15, 2007
    2
    Dull. It might have lofty ambitions, but fails miserably in execution. Making it "weird" is no substitute for making it engaging. An frankly it wasn't that weird. I like weird. It was just tedious.
  51. Alexa
    Jun 18, 2007
    1
    Possibly the worst project Milch has ever undertaken. This show makes no sense. However it is about as good as NyQuil for putting you to sleep.
  52. RichardK
    Jun 25, 2007
    3
    This show is just plain bad. After barely being able to finish watching the 3rd show, I've concluded that I don't care about any of these people, especially John. After Deadwood, I thought David Milch would have come up with something really great. What a major dissapointment.
  53. RobL
    Jun 28, 2007
    1
    This show has no charm or pizazz. There is no actor/actress on the show that I find interesting.
  54. JayJ.
    Jul 13, 2007
    0
    booooooooring
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. 50
    It's only June,? but I can confidently state that you won’t see a weirder show than "John From Cincinnati" all year long.
  2. Intriguing but not entirely satisfying.
  3. 70
    Mesmerizing and entertainingly confounding.