John from Cincinnati : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 10, 2007
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 254

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MartinS
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    I realize David Milch has his own writing style but frankly I'm getting sick of his circuitous routes to the simplest of points.
  2. adam
    Jul 23, 2007
    4
    I'm trying to hang in there...but "waiting for something to happen" is really starting to get old. The Deadwood speak is tiring and no longer interesting. I can't connect with anybody, because everything is too unrealistic. I was hoping for smoother zen-like transitions that explore life through surfing...Not so. They might as well wear period wigs and shoot in natural I'm trying to hang in there...but "waiting for something to happen" is really starting to get old. The Deadwood speak is tiring and no longer interesting. I can't connect with anybody, because everything is too unrealistic. I was hoping for smoother zen-like transitions that explore life through surfing...Not so. They might as well wear period wigs and shoot in natural light...very grey, very very grey. Expand
  3. karen
    Jul 16, 2007
    5
    While this show keeps you tuned for the most part, its more like watching a train wreck. The character could have potential if they could complete a sentence without screaming at each other. I think Sissy is one of the worst characters with the "you moron" phrase in just about every sentence. Milch need to give the characters more depth so we can relate or sympathize or bond with at least While this show keeps you tuned for the most part, its more like watching a train wreck. The character could have potential if they could complete a sentence without screaming at each other. I think Sissy is one of the worst characters with the "you moron" phrase in just about every sentence. Milch need to give the characters more depth so we can relate or sympathize or bond with at least one or more of them!!! Expand
  4. MikeL
    Jul 15, 2007
    6
    It's addicting like a rubix cube. I don't have any idea what's going on, but I want to figure it out so I'll keep watching it. The acting is terrible and so is the plot. As soon as you think the series is about one thing, they come out of left field with a superpower or something. However, I can't stop watching it... not to entertain me, just because I have to It's addicting like a rubix cube. I don't have any idea what's going on, but I want to figure it out so I'll keep watching it. The acting is terrible and so is the plot. As soon as you think the series is about one thing, they come out of left field with a superpower or something. However, I can't stop watching it... not to entertain me, just because I have to figure out what's going on. Expand
  5. C.B.
    Jul 11, 2007
    6
    I was really interested through the first 4 episodes... now I'm just pissed
  6. AdamG
    Jun 17, 2007
    6
    I don't really know what to make of this, but there were funny bits that were worthwhile. It's quite off-putting in a lot of ways, but I really want to know more about John and so will be tuning in tonight for episode 2.
  7. BillR
    Jun 13, 2007
    6
    Pretty uneven plot. So far, the show doen't seem to know what it wants to be. However, it has potential.
  8. CraigT
    Jun 11, 2007
    5
    i watched the first episode right after the sopranos, and i just came up with a big "meh." i think the fact that surfing's not nearly as cool as the mafia, grizzled fightin' cowboys in the old west, or a neurotic man running around LA getting into arguments with people will be the death knell of this show.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. 50
    It's only June,? but I can confidently state that you won’t see a weirder show than "John From Cincinnati" all year long.
  2. Intriguing but not entirely satisfying.
  3. 70
    Mesmerizing and entertainingly confounding.