• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 16, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 454 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 454

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Has to be one of the best shows on TV at the moment. People who cannot pay attention to a continuing plot line need not watch. This is a TV show that tells a story in a sort of wild-west way, except this takes place in modern times and Kentucky. It is not reality TV. It's a great show with some really good writing behind it. Season two is even better. I don't understand how anyoneHas to be one of the best shows on TV at the moment. People who cannot pay attention to a continuing plot line need not watch. This is a TV show that tells a story in a sort of wild-west way, except this takes place in modern times and Kentucky. It is not reality TV. It's a great show with some really good writing behind it. Season two is even better. I don't understand how anyone can just give the show a 0 lol....they must have no taste in TV at all. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    I'm learning a lot about another world from watching, "Justified", that I've only vaguely been aware of, most of it based on my own family's history in Arkansas and Tennessee. There are plenty of very real characters portrayed in this series that could very easily be members of my family. It feels a little weird to get acquainted this way but its a whole lot safer than in person.I'm learning a lot about another world from watching, "Justified", that I've only vaguely been aware of, most of it based on my own family's history in Arkansas and Tennessee. There are plenty of very real characters portrayed in this series that could very easily be members of my family. It feels a little weird to get acquainted this way but its a whole lot safer than in person. Winter's Bone is movie that I would highly recommend for those who find this program worth watching. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    Every man who watches this show wishes he was Raylan Givens. Handsome, quietly confident, wry sense of humor, and kills bad guys, but only when it's wait for it justified. Several great supporting characters. The screen crackles when Raylan and Boyd Crowder have a scene together. Gorgeous actresses. GREAT villians. Fun twisty unpredictable stories. Somebody finally figured out how toEvery man who watches this show wishes he was Raylan Givens. Handsome, quietly confident, wry sense of humor, and kills bad guys, but only when it's wait for it justified. Several great supporting characters. The screen crackles when Raylan and Boyd Crowder have a scene together. Gorgeous actresses. GREAT villians. Fun twisty unpredictable stories. Somebody finally figured out how to "do" Elmore Leonard. My favorite show on TV Expand
  4. May 26, 2011
    10
    The last episode of this second season has left me breathless and proves that the series has tremendous staying power and can get even better than it already is. What sets this series apart from everything else that's on TV right now (and frankly, has been for the past few years) is plot and character development. Not only is the central plot gripping and innovative, all the subplots thusThe last episode of this second season has left me breathless and proves that the series has tremendous staying power and can get even better than it already is. What sets this series apart from everything else that's on TV right now (and frankly, has been for the past few years) is plot and character development. Not only is the central plot gripping and innovative, all the subplots thus far presented serve it amazingly well and are worthy in their own right. The same can be said about characters. As if characters as rich and multi-layered as Raylan and Boyd weren't enough, we still get marvelous supporting characters for them to play off of, such as the whole of the Bennett family. Elmore Leonard is a freaking genius!!! Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    Outstanding series. I agree with Whit (the man from Kentucky) that it's got the balls to tell stories like they should be told instead of reverting to the same old Hollywood patterns. It's a perfect offering for FX. The casting for the lead characters ex-wife was perfect. She was incredible in Dirty Sexy Money and even better on this show.
  6. Mar 20, 2011
    8
    Timothy Olyphant is a treasure as Raylan Givens and the show, although erratic in its quality throughout the season, often achieved brilliance. The last two episodes were some of the best television in recent memory.
  7. Aug 5, 2010
    8
    Great show-- well acted, and has the balls to go in some directions you would not expect. Doesn't hurt that it is set very near where I grew up-- but I do remember most residents being slightly less armed than portrayed on the show...
  8. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This show rocks. Plenty of gunfights, awesome characters, especially Givens, Neo-Nazi turned evangelical preacher Boyd Crowder (who happens to be an old friend of Givens', and they continue to be friends, which is fascinating), and fatherly hardass boss Marshal Art Mullen, and a cable show not afraid of the FCC, which I appreciate. But you all know, from critic reviews, that this show isThis show rocks. Plenty of gunfights, awesome characters, especially Givens, Neo-Nazi turned evangelical preacher Boyd Crowder (who happens to be an old friend of Givens', and they continue to be friends, which is fascinating), and fatherly hardass boss Marshal Art Mullen, and a cable show not afraid of the FCC, which I appreciate. But you all know, from critic reviews, that this show is awesome. I want to respond to some of the truly idiotic comments, especially from 'poppacastro.' First, the Marshal's office is in Lexington, Kentucky, a city of three hundred and fifty thousand people. Much of the action takes place in Harlan County, Kentucky, where Givens grew up, population 33,000. Most of the bad guys are from his hometown, also called Harlan, because it's the county seat, but the principal bad guys, mostly childhood acquaintances or friends of Givens', draw their manpower from all over this county. And the rocket launcher used to destroy the black church/pot dealership was a Vietnam era-LAW (light antitank weapon), and I'd be willing to bet you could get those for about two hundred bucks, with a new unit cost of $1000, and this weapon was emphatically not new. Definitely worth it to take out the competition. As to everyone being uneducated hicks, this is coal country, home of the most productive coal mines in the US. And coal mining takes MANPOWER. Education tends to be subpar in places with large industrial apparatuses capable of consuming legions of barely-literate high school graduates (given the rate at which such professions use up its practitioners). Detroit was the same until American cars went belly-up. That said, he is kind of a sap at times, though I hardly think that he's anything like a combination of House, Jack Bauer, and Don Draper. He's more like a combination of Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday. Expand
  9. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    I heart Timothy Olyphant. I have ever since he starred in Deadwood and even as far back as Go. Not that I want to see him typecasted but this is the type of role that he was made to play. He excels as the tough but fair lawman with a sensitive and oh so dreamy underbelly. This show has excellent dialogue, writing, editing and the acting is perfect. I am hoping that season two is just asI heart Timothy Olyphant. I have ever since he starred in Deadwood and even as far back as Go. Not that I want to see him typecasted but this is the type of role that he was made to play. He excels as the tough but fair lawman with a sensitive and oh so dreamy underbelly. This show has excellent dialogue, writing, editing and the acting is perfect. I am hoping that season two is just as good and am excitedly awaiting it's release to DVD. I highly recommend this show to anyone who enjoys a good old fashioned ass kicking, hard loving, tough guy sort of show. Bravo FX! Expand
  10. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    It's as if they have two sets of writers for this show. One set for dialog and one for plot. The dialog is great the plots are ludicrous. The main character just happens to always be at the right place at the right time. Another thing, they're still showing white chalk marks for bodies at crime scenes. Everyone knows, by now (except the crappy writers on this show) that those aren'tIt's as if they have two sets of writers for this show. One set for dialog and one for plot. The dialog is great the plots are ludicrous. The main character just happens to always be at the right place at the right time. Another thing, they're still showing white chalk marks for bodies at crime scenes. Everyone knows, by now (except the crappy writers on this show) that those aren't never actually used and are solely a Hollywood convention from the 1930's. The acting is fine, the dialog is great, but please get some better people to hash out the plot. Expand
  11. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    I know Olyphant from Deadwood, one of the best shows ever made. While this isn't quite in that category of greatness, Justified is a well-written show with a handful (though small) of interesting characters. Especially interesting is the relationship between Olyphant and the character Boyd, who seemingly becomes a born-again Christian after being locked up by Olyphant's character. OfI know Olyphant from Deadwood, one of the best shows ever made. While this isn't quite in that category of greatness, Justified is a well-written show with a handful (though small) of interesting characters. Especially interesting is the relationship between Olyphant and the character Boyd, who seemingly becomes a born-again Christian after being locked up by Olyphant's character. Of course, Olyphant isn't buying it one bit. Nice pacing with some genuinely funny moments, Justified is the only show I'm watching at the moment (other than Breaking Bad) where I don't have my expectations set in the toilet. Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    It's laughable that someone can watch a single episode of a show and then try and say something about it to people who are up to date. I try to give shows the benefit of the doubt until they at least have two, preferably three seasons under their belt certainly before giving a proper review. I don't consider the show to be off of the ground until the third season is finished and the fourthIt's laughable that someone can watch a single episode of a show and then try and say something about it to people who are up to date. I try to give shows the benefit of the doubt until they at least have two, preferably three seasons under their belt certainly before giving a proper review. I don't consider the show to be off of the ground until the third season is finished and the fourth has been greenlit. Justified is the best non sci-fi show that I have ever watched; and yes I was an avid viewer of Breaking Bad and the last season of that was utter garbage it completely disgraced everything the show had built itself up to be but that's okay because that show never gripped me like Justified does, I never cared about any of the characters in Breaking Bad they were all mind numbingly stupid not to mention boring and down right annoying, in season 1 of Justified you get to see what meth operations really look like not fantasy world where a geezer can just up and start cooking residential meth and pull the flukiest and cartoon-ish escapes from situations that are already farfetched I felt like it was a cartoon honestly the amount of ridiculously implausible occurrences that happen it's a joke; and at the end he admits that everything that happened in the whole show was pointless and just dies. Lamest ending of the season and yes I was a Dexter fan as well I still say nothing could possibly be as bad as that whole fifth season. Any way we're here fro A great show and praise it shall have... cheers to Justified a truly badass show Expand
  13. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    Good first season, had a few lulls, but got back to being a quality FX program. Acting is good, attachment to the characters is there, and understanding of each person's actions is solid. This show really helps to fill the void left after The Shield.
  14. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Brilliant show, especially for fans of Elmore Leonard's writing. Timothy Olyphant inhabits the laconic character with ease, grace and wit. Episodes are unhurried, thoughtful, and amusing. Violence is addressed in an understated manner, and even minor characters appear interesting and well cast. Long may it last!
  15. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    I missed season one, but added it to my Tivo wish list, and lo and behold I found three episodes this morning. My husband and I watched the first episode, then ended up watching all three. The Raylan Givens character played by Timothy Olyphant is a tough character and a bit of a rogue, but tough and charming make a nice mix. I like watching him. So far he is the only character theI missed season one, but added it to my Tivo wish list, and lo and behold I found three episodes this morning. My husband and I watched the first episode, then ended up watching all three. The Raylan Givens character played by Timothy Olyphant is a tough character and a bit of a rogue, but tough and charming make a nice mix. I like watching him. So far he is the only character the writers have developed to any degree. It is a violent show, but I'm not averse to violence. It also has a sense of humor, and I love that it's in KY (rather than LA, LV or NY, etc.), which makes for an interesting backdrop. Three more episodes will be on in the wee hours next week, and I am already anticipating them. (Anyone else recording them should add about ten minutes to the third show as each show, running consecutively, came up short and by the third, we had missed five or so minutes.) Expand
  16. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Here's a show that is unpredictable, funny, dark and entertaining all at once. Combining the procedural cop show with the Western is a great move, made even greater by the witty scripts and the great talent of the performers, Olyphant being the stand out. A show that embraces the Western but somehow manages to avoid most of the tired cop show cliches, this is brilliant stuff. Roll on Season 2!
  17. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    'Justified' captures the mood of Elmore Leonard better than any other previous adaptation of his works. Olyphant's Raylan Givens has enough swagger to fill any scene, but any time he is joined on screen by Walton Goggins' Boyd Crowder, the whole thing goes up a notch. Love me some Justified
  18. Feb 15, 2011
    0
    Now this may just be one of the sappiest shows I have seen in a long, long time. Timothy Olyphant may be a fine actor for a television commercial, but dress him up in a cheesy cowboy hat at your own peril. While the premise of the show may be interesting, one should note that it's set in Nowhere, Kentucky, and how many people can he really shoot in a town of 57 habitants? I've seen ol' TimNow this may just be one of the sappiest shows I have seen in a long, long time. Timothy Olyphant may be a fine actor for a television commercial, but dress him up in a cheesy cowboy hat at your own peril. While the premise of the show may be interesting, one should note that it's set in Nowhere, Kentucky, and how many people can he really shoot in a town of 57 habitants? I've seen ol' Tim play a bunch of terrible bad guys in movies and television before and I really wanted him to do well in this one. He doesn't seem like too bad of a guy and why not cheer for the Working Man's Hero, but the writing in this show is truly brutal. Why even attempt to turn this guy into some sort of mutant television character with Jack Bauer's mean streak, Dr House's wit and Don Draper's womanizing charm? I'd rather saw off my own foot with a rusty saw from 8th grade shop class than be forced to watch this tripe. After all, it's just like my old man used to say: you can't make chicken salad from chicken **** Expand
  19. Aug 15, 2010
    2
    Certainly starts well, but quickly degenerated into a confusion of crime thriller with teenage type comedy. Script lacked tightness and development, instead remaining lightweight and superficial. What a waste of Timothy Olyphant.
  20. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    Since I canceled my subscriptions to premium channels, FX and AMC are the only channels keeping me from canceling my cable deal. Justified is a prime example of why. Admittedly, the show takes about half a season to really get off the ground, but the writing remains strong throughout and once it gets off the ground, it's propelled into the stratosphere. Walton Goggins is fantastic.
  21. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    It was too disjointed for me to enjoy. I like good plotting and characterization, and although the latter was there, the lack of the former was evident until later in the season. The last few episodes managed to weave the whole story together somewhat but it wasn't enough. There are definitely better first seasons out there. This season was overrated and did not make me want to watch theIt was too disjointed for me to enjoy. I like good plotting and characterization, and although the latter was there, the lack of the former was evident until later in the season. The last few episodes managed to weave the whole story together somewhat but it wasn't enough. There are definitely better first seasons out there. This season was overrated and did not make me want to watch the next season. Expand
  22. Mar 2, 2013
    2
    I started out liking this show but I must have been confused thinking it was a western-type police show. Although I like the main character it seems it has morphed into nothing but a never ending soap opera as I haven't seen "the Marshall" do any investigating or arresting in the last three shows. I am old-fashioned in liking shows that the good guys win and the show has a conclusionI started out liking this show but I must have been confused thinking it was a western-type police show. Although I like the main character it seems it has morphed into nothing but a never ending soap opera as I haven't seen "the Marshall" do any investigating or arresting in the last three shows. I am old-fashioned in liking shows that the good guys win and the show has a conclusion after one hour. No longer on my list. Expand
  23. Mar 14, 2013
    5
    I have mixed feelings about this show. I love some of the characters Olyphant channels a good Clint Eastwood vibe. But the writing is splintered where is Natalie Zea (the ex-wife)? Why not involve other marshals more fully (which is usually done)? The actress who plays "Boyd's" fiance has the worst fake accent I think I have ever heard it's distracting and her character has lost a lotI have mixed feelings about this show. I love some of the characters Olyphant channels a good Clint Eastwood vibe. But the writing is splintered where is Natalie Zea (the ex-wife)? Why not involve other marshals more fully (which is usually done)? The actress who plays "Boyd's" fiance has the worst fake accent I think I have ever heard it's distracting and her character has lost a lot of strength. That character would have been more interesting by toeing the line between Crowder (bad) and Givens (good). The writing leads to obvious conclusions with dead-ends for continuance. And ugh, the editing. It's horrible. Discrepancies in almost every scene glasses are on a table, then gone in the next shot. The contrast even varies shot to shot. There are mountains in the background (Kentucky has green hills), and worse yet, our local Santa Clarita numbers on some signs in the background. Hey guys look me up lauramhealy1 at g mail. I work as a freelance editor and consultant. I bet I could do a better job for less money. The setting should be more authentic I grew up in the Midwest before coming out here. Kentucky has bluegrass (not sand), maples and elms (not desert scrub trees), huge expanses of green fields (not dusty desert roads/highways), songbirds (not many crows), black dirt (not sand), lots of horses and loose dogs (the only animals are dead hanging hogs), and a lot of people who smoke. It would be pretty inexpensive to actually film in Kentucky. A little more authenticity and sharper writing (and basic editing!) could make this show a blockbuster. Expand
  24. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    I cannot fathom why the accolades for this show abound. I think just about everything to do with this show is below par. There is absolutely zero realism.. In all of the first season, the Marshall has done actual marshal work only two or three times. He spends 90% of his time pursuing personal grudges and disobeying his directives, harassing people with no evidence, and it usually ends inI cannot fathom why the accolades for this show abound. I think just about everything to do with this show is below par. There is absolutely zero realism.. In all of the first season, the Marshall has done actual marshal work only two or three times. He spends 90% of his time pursuing personal grudges and disobeying his directives, harassing people with no evidence, and it usually ends in bloodshed; but at the end of most episodes he's applauded for doing great work? The scope of characters is far too narrow and in every single episode it comes back to the same villains, who are jokes of bad guys. The plot is over simple as are the characters. Timothy Olyphant does look good in his hat, but that's only worth 1 out of 10. Expand
  25. May 27, 2013
    6
    Now lets be honest the start of series "Justified" wasn't something impressive, it was more generic, unoriginal. But as the show went on it build some interesting characters. But overall season 1 fairy engaging, just above average!
  26. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    A great show with excellent dialogue, dry humor and quality actors. It has it's downfalls and poorly written episodes like every other show but overall it is a fun ride.
  27. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of the best newcomers on television, the characters may at first seem a little generic and used but as soon as the Kentucky background is seen for the first time everything takes on a life of its own and makes for a entertaining and nail biting show
  28. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I give it a 10 out of 10, although not as good as Sons of Anarchy, the show does not deserve less than ten. Maybe Sons gets a 10.5. The show hardly ever gets cheesy, keeps me on my toes, and offers a great story to follow, without leaving any show boring. It should be watched from the beginning, S01E01, or you may miss much. But I love this show, and even after Season 3, it still is great,I give it a 10 out of 10, although not as good as Sons of Anarchy, the show does not deserve less than ten. Maybe Sons gets a 10.5. The show hardly ever gets cheesy, keeps me on my toes, and offers a great story to follow, without leaving any show boring. It should be watched from the beginning, S01E01, or you may miss much. But I love this show, and even after Season 3, it still is great, actually, it is better. Expand
  29. May 29, 2011
    9
    This show is awesome. Every aspect of it. The stories are interesting, the characters well developed and Olyphant is very potent. The reviews are right, it takes time to get off the ground but it is worth being patient.
  30. Aug 4, 2011
    9
    One of the only a few shows that I will watch as soon as an episode is available. The show doesn't take itself to seriously and helps keep the viewer interested with some wild story lines. I'm surprised how much the show has put these characters through in only two seasons. I would highly suggest to anyone looking for something to watch over the summer.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    100
    Olyphant is surrounded by a terrific supporting cast, including Dirty Sexy Money's Natalie Zea as Raylan's ex-wife and Nick Searcy (Deke Slayton in From the Earth to the Moon) as his deceptively cornpone boss. But in the end, it comes down to hard stares and that combination of drawled amusement and sudden violence that make him so cool yet exciting.
  2. 88
    Olyphant plays this laconic, loping lawman with a smiling minimalism that makes Givens both iconic and contemporary.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    The result is a new-style western that's both entertaining and as mesmerizing as Givens' cold-blooded speech to the crook with the scattergun.