Justified : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 16, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Justified Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 524 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The new series based on Elmore Leonard's short story "Fire in the Hole" follows US Marshal Raylan Givens (Timothy Olyphant) as he is transferred from Miami back to his hometown of Harlan, Kentucky, after causing trouble for his superiors with a high-profile shooting of a suspect.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    Olyphant is surrounded by a terrific supporting cast, including Dirty Sexy Money's Natalie Zea as Raylan's ex-wife and Nick Searcy (Deke Slayton in From the Earth to the Moon) as his deceptively cornpone boss. But in the end, it comes down to hard stares and that combination of drawled amusement and sudden violence that make him so cool yet exciting.
  2. 100
    Finishing each episode is like closing up a really great, gritty, little crime novel.
  3. On screen the show has a soaked-in mood, courtesy of pilot director Michael Dinner, and terrific performances that mark Justified as the best new series premiere so far in 2010.
  4. 88
    Olyphant's devilish looks balance his white-cowboy-hat principles.
  5. Justified will not stretch the dramatic envelope the way many FX shows have. Still, with its white knight of a hero, fine guest stars and intriguing relationships, one can rely on the show to deliver 13 hours of entertaining and occasionally taut crime drama.
  6. 75
    Less brutal than "Sons of Anarchy" or "The Shield," it's nonetheless a true male fantasy show complete with broads, bad guys, blow-ups, bullets and buckets of blood.
  7. 40
    Although Justified qualifies as cryptic, and its mouth is plenty potty, it definitely lacks edge, the most important quality of the three. In fact, it can get downright sleepy between killings. It moseys. It meanders.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 56
  2. Negative: 5 out of 56
  1. May 26, 2011
    10
    The last episode of this second season has left me breathless and proves that the series has tremendous staying power and can get even betterThe last episode of this second season has left me breathless and proves that the series has tremendous staying power and can get even better than it already is. What sets this series apart from everything else that's on TV right now (and frankly, has been for the past few years) is plot and character development. Not only is the central plot gripping and innovative, all the subplots thus far presented serve it amazingly well and are worthy in their own right. The same can be said about characters. As if characters as rich and multi-layered as Raylan and Boyd weren't enough, we still get marvelous supporting characters for them to play off of, such as the whole of the Bennett family. Elmore Leonard is a freaking genius!!! Collapse
  2. rcj
    Feb 2, 2013
    10
    Perfect on all counts writing, directing, casting and acting. One of the few shows of all time that I've been addicted to. I've seen allPerfect on all counts writing, directing, casting and acting. One of the few shows of all time that I've been addicted to. I've seen all through season 3. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    I heart Timothy Olyphant. I have ever since he starred in Deadwood and even as far back as Go. Not that I want to see him typecasted but thisI heart Timothy Olyphant. I have ever since he starred in Deadwood and even as far back as Go. Not that I want to see him typecasted but this is the type of role that he was made to play. He excels as the tough but fair lawman with a sensitive and oh so dreamy underbelly. This show has excellent dialogue, writing, editing and the acting is perfect. I am hoping that season two is just as good and am excitedly awaiting it's release to DVD. I highly recommend this show to anyone who enjoys a good old fashioned ass kicking, hard loving, tough guy sort of show. Bravo FX! Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2011
    9
    One of the only a few shows that I will watch as soon as an episode is available. The show doesn't take itself to seriously and helps keep theOne of the only a few shows that I will watch as soon as an episode is available. The show doesn't take itself to seriously and helps keep the viewer interested with some wild story lines. I'm surprised how much the show has put these characters through in only two seasons. I would highly suggest to anyone looking for something to watch over the summer. Expand
  5. May 18, 2016
    9
    Now as a preface this is a review of not only season 1 but the whole series. Also I watched Season 1 year or two ago and then stopped forNow as a preface this is a review of not only season 1 but the whole series. Also I watched Season 1 year or two ago and then stopped for some reason. I returned recetnly since I had nothing else to watch and do not regret it.

    However be warned that Justified is not your regular TV Show. If there can be a comparison with different shows it would be that of "The Wire". And now before hard fans of that fantastic TV Show raise their pitchforks - think about it. Justified tells not only story of its main Protagonist. You get to see the life in Harlan County displayed from different angles via stories of main heroes and villains. Some characters stay for a long time, others jump into the scene here and there and many more meet their untimely deaths.

    Justified is masterpiece of story and character building, but it needs some investment from the viewer. It is very dynamic so if you don't like where some story or character arc leads more likely than not you will be positively surprised later. The world of Harlan County is very well fleshed out and very believable, the acting is top notch together with intelligent dialogues.

    In my opinion one of the best TV Shows of all times.
    Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2015
    8
    Having been involved in a high profile, and rather questionable shooting, US Marshal Raylan Givens is transferred from Miami back to his homeHaving been involved in a high profile, and rather questionable shooting, US Marshal Raylan Givens is transferred from Miami back to his home town in Kentucky and soon becomes tangled up in business he thought he'd left behind for good.

    Justified is one of those those shows that hits the ground running from the very first scene and, thanks to some very good writing and performances, makes for a great watch throughout the thirteen episodes on offer here.
    Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2011
    0
    Now this may just be one of the sappiest shows I have seen in a long, long time. Timothy Olyphant may be a fine actor for a televisionNow this may just be one of the sappiest shows I have seen in a long, long time. Timothy Olyphant may be a fine actor for a television commercial, but dress him up in a cheesy cowboy hat at your own peril. While the premise of the show may be interesting, one should note that it's set in Nowhere, Kentucky, and how many people can he really shoot in a town of 57 habitants? I've seen ol' Tim play a bunch of terrible bad guys in movies and television before and I really wanted him to do well in this one. He doesn't seem like too bad of a guy and why not cheer for the Working Man's Hero, but the writing in this show is truly brutal. Why even attempt to turn this guy into some sort of mutant television character with Jack Bauer's mean streak, Dr House's wit and Don Draper's womanizing charm? I'd rather saw off my own foot with a rusty saw from 8th grade shop class than be forced to watch this tripe. After all, it's just like my old man used to say: you can't make chicken salad from chicken **** Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Justified Series Finale

    Episode Review: Justified Series Finale Image
    Published: April 15, 2015
    What did critics think of last night's series finale of Justified? Find out inside, and give us your take.
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  3. Episode Review: Justified Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Justified Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: April 3, 2013
    Critics are raving about last night's finale of Justified. Find out what they liked about the show, and give us your take on the episode and the season as a whole.
  4. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  5. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.