• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2007
K-Ville Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Post-Katrina, the Big Easy and its people find it's not so easy to return.
  • Genre(s): Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. As the denizens of K-Ville move among the ruins of the city, the real and the fake merge until you forget that this is mere entertainment. It's a new experience, and an invigorating one.
  2. 63
    K-Ville's" heavy tone and sober acting capture enough of that essence to make it interesting.
  3. 60
    K-Ville is a solidly crafted drama with admirable focus and energy.
  4. Fox and K-Ville creator Jonathan Lisco get credit for setting their new police drama in post-Katrina New Orleans--but future episodes will have to settle down and get serious if the show is to do justice to its setting and potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    The intent seems to be baiting a drama with a tantalizing marketing hook, but the resulting gumbo--despite a few promising ingredients--is all gristle, no beef.
  6. K-Ville's Lisco seems to want to have it both ways, presenting very complex cases and then wrapping them up neatly within the hour.
  7. 25
    A badly acted, clumsily constructed "Starsky & Hutch"/"Miami Vice" revival that imposes fictional clich├ęs on top of harsh realities.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. ShaunR.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    I really like the show a lot its not often you get to see good shows like that. You really put together a master piece with this show. I really like the show a lot its not often you get to see good shows like that. You really put together a master piece with this show. Definitely recommend it to every one i know!! Expand
  2. DerekD.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome premier... Should be similar to The Shield. Anxious to see where is goes.
  3. JanetS.
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    Kville is by far my favorite new show of the year. The characters have appealing individual personalities, the writing is excellent, the Kville is by far my favorite new show of the year. The characters have appealing individual personalities, the writing is excellent, the plots are fresh and interesting, and I like the fact that it may keep at least some of our attention focused on New Orleans where it is still so very much needed. I hope the show comes back strong after the writer's strike ends. I look forward to this one every week. Expand
  4. LoriB.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Like the intensity of the two characters, watch the storyline and focus on the city getting back on its feet. Obviously the characters are Like the intensity of the two characters, watch the storyline and focus on the city getting back on its feet. Obviously the characters are emotionally tied into New Orleans, don't belabor the point. Focus on the pain and payoff you get from helping out your fellow humans. One last note, get Cobb a dog; he needs something to love. Expand
  5. JaneK.
    Dec 7, 2007
    6
    Why is it so hard for the media to properly capture New Orleans on film? As a resident, I think I am not alone in saying me and my neighbors Why is it so hard for the media to properly capture New Orleans on film? As a resident, I think I am not alone in saying me and my neighbors are not watching this. We may have all tuned in with high expectations for the Pilot, but that was enough. Horrible cliches, bad writing, emotional angles that are meant to be deep but come off pathetic... The South is a gold mine of odd balls and unique characters and unexpected situations, but this show falls flat on its face when trying to depict it. What a shame, because New Orleans (pre and post Katrina) is still an ideal city for a great show... like Sex and the City did for New York, or The Sopranos did for New Jersey - this city could easily be a major reoccurring character. But Nooooo.... they screwed us in the media once again. Expand
  6. JoelP.
    Sep 18, 2007
    4
    Over the top, cliche, preachy.
  7. BJ
    Oct 9, 2007
    0
    kill it quick - the show is BAD - new orleans doesn't need any more bad publicity - the accents are the worst - but really the whole kill it quick - the show is BAD - new orleans doesn't need any more bad publicity - the accents are the worst - but really the whole show is a train wreck Expand

See all 24 User Reviews