Killer Women : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 7, 2014
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Jan 7, 2014
    83
    It’s not doing a whole lot of work to examine the role of women in society, but it is a show with a single and still-novel goal: to entertain women, without patronizing them.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 6, 2014
    75
    As the title declares with pride, the show has a lot in common with old-style drive-in second features at drive-ins.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 6, 2014
    70
    The show's action-packed and wildly improbable, but Helfer looks as if she might be having fun, and if you don't think too hard (and wouldn't rather be watching the gunplay in "Justified"), you might, too.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 3, 2014
    67
    Like all shows set in Texas, Killer Women is cooked through with too much yee-haw sauce and a whole lot of urban-cowgirl chic, but Helfer ably carries off the assignment and keeps the momentum going.
  5. 63
    It breaks absolutely no new ground, but it's lively, fast-paced and enjoyable enough, if you like this sort of thing.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Feb 6, 2014
    7
    I like this show. Tricia Helfer looks like a Texas Ranger. Thing is, when she draws her 1911 I get a bit annoyed. The Colt 1911 is anI like this show. Tricia Helfer looks like a Texas Ranger. Thing is, when she draws her 1911 I get a bit annoyed. The Colt 1911 is an amazing fighting weapon, but to be of any use it has to be carried cocked and locked, i.e., with the hammer cocked and the safety on. It won't shoot otherwise. Twice now I've seen Ranger Parker draw her weapon only to observe the hammer in the down position. If she pulled the trigger, nothing would happen. In the 4th episode Molly drew her 1911 as she descended into a cellar to save Becca from the crazy broad Carmen. Again, the hammer was down. Useless like that. However, when Carmen smacked Molly and took her gun away, all of a sudden the hammer was cocked. These might be little details most people would miss, but to those of us who admire authenticity, it detracts from the show. Full Review »
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    7
    It's a pretty good show. It's got a great cast and so far the cases have been good as well. It also manages to include the main charactersIt's a pretty good show. It's got a great cast and so far the cases have been good as well. It also manages to include the main characters non-work related issues to give the show a more dramatic feel, even if one or two of them feels a little awkwardly written. I would also have liked to see a larger focus on action, as the trailers had me believing the show would have a sort of grindhouse feel to it. Even though I see room for improvement I still enjoy the show and I recommend you give it a look. Who knows, you might just end up loving it. Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    I thought Tricia Helfer was awesome and the show was very well written. Compared to the most popular shows that make it look normal to beI thought Tricia Helfer was awesome and the show was very well written. Compared to the most popular shows that make it look normal to be totally off the chart dysfunctional this show was a breath of fresh air. Full Review »