• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 10, 2013
  • Season #: 1
King & Maxwell Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ex-Secret Service agents Sean Maxwell (Jon Tenney) and Michelle Maxwell (Rebecca Romijn) are private investigators in this adaptation of the book series by David Baldacci.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 10, 2013
    80
    A promising new summer series.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    Tenney and Romijn make fun partners, and the pilot by executive producer Shane Brennan follows an intriguing course that might have seemed far-fetched only a week ago, before we learned that truth might be stranger than "Person of Interest."
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 7, 2013
    67
    The script and circumstances really labor down the stretch. Still, Tenney and Romijn make for a pretty nifty pair, whether quipping on cue or subduing some henchmen with their feet and fists.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 10, 2013
    50
    It’s a bland, cliched kind of offbeat, as she teases him and he teases her in an all too familiar manner.
  5. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jun 10, 2013
    50
    Together, they're charming, but the "will they or won't they?" romantic tension feels forced, and that takes much of the fun out of it.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 7, 2013
    42
    The dialogue's preposterous, the plot ludicrous, and the premise as fresh as a wrung-out old mop.
  7. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jun 10, 2013
    30
    King & Maxwell is all lazy writing, clumsy plotting, and somnambulistic acting.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    I think it is refreshing to have a detective show that is finally just about detecting. Jon Tenney and Rebecca Rominji don't have to showI think it is refreshing to have a detective show that is finally just about detecting. Jon Tenney and Rebecca Rominji don't have to show their skin, or use bad language this show reminds me of the "Rockford Files". Just good old fashioned detecting pure entertainment. It's about time! Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Different than the Baldacci book that its based on, but I really enjoy this show. Both actors are likable and their playful banter is fun toDifferent than the Baldacci book that its based on, but I really enjoy this show. Both actors are likable and their playful banter is fun to watch. Liked Tenney in "The Closer", and Romijn comes across as having a good sense of humor. Don't let the critics' opinion stop you from watching. I generally find that if the critics like something, it'll be a slow-moving bore.
    '
    Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    8
    I love this show and i love the banter between Tenney and Romijin. The actor who plays edgar is ryan hurst he does a great. The rest of theI love this show and i love the banter between Tenney and Romijin. The actor who plays edgar is ryan hurst he does a great. The rest of the cast is great as well. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    6
    This show is good love John Tenney, loved him in the Closer
    but get him a new partner Rebecca Rominji is terrible
    as his partner he needs
    This show is good love John Tenney, loved him in the Closer
    but get him a new partner Rebecca Rominji is terrible
    as his partner he needs someone with more class to be
    Partnered with!!!!!!
    Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    I like the premise but somehow it needs a little more zing. I have read the books and that may lead me to expect a little more. This isI like the premise but somehow it needs a little more zing. I have read the books and that may lead me to expect a little more. This is still good enough to TIVO. My wife and I have made this one of our "shows to watch." Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    The main cast has no chemistry no likeability its semi there but not ill say it probably wont last thru its second season but who knows I'llThe main cast has no chemistry no likeability its semi there but not ill say it probably wont last thru its second season but who knows I'll watch till the end Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    3
    Can't decide whether I like this show or not. I really like Jon Tenney (loved him in The Closer) but I don't think Rebecca Romijn works forCan't decide whether I like this show or not. I really like Jon Tenney (loved him in The Closer) but I don't think Rebecca Romijn works for the other character. There is just something so forced about her portrayal and I don't think they have much chemistry together. I i like the characters, Edgar and Benny, but the actor who plays FBI agent Rigsby needs to be replaced. I guess if the producers did some actor changes for the second season, it might save this show. Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews