• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date:
  • Season #: 1
Kirstie Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Broadway star Madison Banks (Kirstie Alley) finds Arlo, the son (Eric Peterson) she gave up for adoption 26 years ago, shows up. Madison's best friend/assistant Thelma Katz (Rhea Pearlman) and her chauffeur Frank Baxter (Michael Richards) help them adjust to this new development.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    By the end of a few episodes everything meshes nicely, and the prospect of watching more has become enticing.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 4, 2013
    60
    Kirstie breaks no new ground, and it doesn’t try to. It walks a path we have enjoyed before.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Dec 3, 2013
    58
    Alley, Perlman and Richards were far more gainfully employed on their previous classic comedy series. Now they’re in a sense doing dinner theater in Yuma but seemingly having a good time together nonetheless.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Dec 2, 2013
    50
    The comedy is predictable on every level, which is part of the TV Land formula.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 4, 2013
    40
    The jokes, while occasionally funny, almost all feel reheated.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 26, 2013
    30
    Basically, think “All About Eve,” if it were remade as a woefully broad TV Land sitcom, rife with jokes about promiscuity, ego and of course, weight.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 4, 2013
    30
    Kirstie goes for the worst of both worlds, arraying itself in the worn-thin comfort of predictable humor and sloppy sentiment in the vain hope that it comes off as retro, or quaint or something.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. May 4, 2014
    10
    I love Kirstie Alley. She's absolutely hilarious and I'm so happy she has her own show! Needs better writing. But still funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    excuse me I meant Hot in Cleveland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    6
    I love all the casts but it's obvious that the scripts are really lame. It seems like the characters are playing the roles that most of the audience can't relate to. For example, Kirstie playing a show person, Richards playing a driver and Pearlman playing a personal assistant, how many people can relate to those roles in real life? They are all boring professions that most audience don't care about. Cheers was popular because the whole premise revolves around a bar in which majority of audience can relate to and not to mention they had great stories. Anyway, the casts do their best to make us laugh but no story to back it up. It feels vague and somewhat empty. Otherwise, I'm still watching since there's nothing better on at the time this show is on. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2014
    2
    I tried to like this show because of the great actors in it.
    The writing is so bad that the acting looks bad.

    I think the whole adoption
    re union part of this show is in poor taste, as many people in America these days are reuniting with their birth families and from what I hear, it really isn't all that funny a situation and to think a 27 year old man would move in with his birth mother sounds rather ridiculous and very far fetched.

    And the way they have written this, making Kirstie a ditsy dame.... if you could call it that, kind of makes birth mothers out there look bad too. Just a bad idea in general, and not funny at all.

    Gave it two tries and the second one was worse than the first one. I don't think I even laughed once, come to think of it. There are much funnier shows out there to watch.
    Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    1
    Vapid and oh so predictable. The actors are playing themselves. I am just totally bored, but I knew I would be by the excessive promotional spots. I don't think it is funny, either. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    0
    I tried to give Kirstie a chance but I can't find anything positive to say about it. Bad acting, bad writing, terrible premise. It may improve with time but I won't know because I won't be watching. Collapse
  7. Jan 20, 2014
    0
    I would rather watch my cable box re-boot than sit through 5 minutes of this AWFUL tv show! To say it stinks would be such an understatement. I've got to wonder if Kirstie Alley is blackmailing the cast in order to get them to participate in this litter box of a sitcom! How in world did any network deem this program watchable? I can't "Boo" enough. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews