• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Kitchen Nightmares Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chefs may have escaped from his version of hell, but Gordon Ramsay haunts Fox with his American adaptation of his UK show of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Game Show, Food & Cooking
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Since CBS doesn’t want us to see "Kid Nation" in advance, I guess I’ll just have to declare Kitchen Nightmares the best new reality show of the fall.
  2. 88
    As usual, he's demanding, brutal and fearless. He repeatedly insults egotistical managers and chefs and yells, "Just smell that for me!" And they do.
  3. Mary Poppins it ain't--which is fine because the snooty broad couldn't begin to handle this. [21 Sep 2007, p.74]
  4. The subtext of Kitchen Nightmares is that ordinary middle-class business owners need brash and brilliant moguls to save them from a sad reliance on their own mediocrity. It is an ugly message that Mr. Ramsay makes undeniably hypnotic.
  5. It is loud and manipulative and ugly to behold, but it isn't dull.
  6. Kitchen Nightmares pushes all of the proper emotional buttons to draw we viewers in. But we're never for a moment able to suspend the notion that we, the audience, are being played.
  7. 30
    The show's boorishness is exceeded only by its dissimulation; not one frame of this thing--from the diners who seem not to notice that their table is surrounded by camera crews to the melodramatically villainous managers--is remotely believable.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    Kitchen Nightmares is a great show with chef Gordon Ramsey from Hell's Kitchen. On the show he visits
    restaurants that are in crisis and he
    turns their problems into success. This is the best show I've seen
    Gordon Ramsey on.
    Expand
  2. WhitneyH
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    I loved the show!! It had me laughing hysterically throughout the whole episode.I loved the family bonding and working together it shows a real family there with real emotions. It is TV and this is NY! We are who are! That stupid Italian goodfellas stereotype is insulting to me as an Italian myself. Every Italian is not a "Soprano" another fictitious show that is just entertainment for people. The point of TV at the end of the day/show is to be entertained and not to pass judgment on people on a reality show! If you liked it or didn't it, it impacted the people who wrote good or bad reviews enough to make the effort to go out of their way to say something and take the time out to actually write it! Good Luck to Peter and "Peters Restaurant." Expand
  3. BillK
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    One of the best shows on TV. I think I even like it more than Hell's Kitchen and I hope the plan is to keep it ongoing. Its entertaining when Chef Ramsey tees off on the inept people, but what's really great is when he inspires the people who do care about making the restaurants work, be it the owner or chef. I wish it was on more than once a week! Expand
  4. MacD.
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    The first episode was very good! Can't wait till the next episode!
  5. MartinS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    This show shows Gordon Ramsey at his best. The man may be a complete social pariah but he speaks the truth without reservation. How many people can you say that about. Expand
  6. MartinSmith
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    It's a bit formulaic (you've seen one you've seen them all) but Gordon Ramsay is the absolute truth.
  7. CraigB
    Oct 25, 2007
    0
    Another piece of junk from Fox. Oh, great idea, let's have the star totally destroy ANY self confidence the contestants have. Are you listening, Simon? I'm proud to say I've never seen any episode of American Idle. This show is no better. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews