• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Knight Rider Image
Metascore
21

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: KITT gets a makeover as well as a new driver in the form of Michael's son (Justin Bruening).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 18 out of 20
  1. 40
    Silliness limits this cartoon, which forces actors to take a back seat to know-it-all KITT (voice by Val Kilmer).
  2. ["Gary Unmarried"] has lots of laughs. But not as many as tonight’s episode of the new Knight Rider.
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    30
    Knight Rider arrives tricked out with just enough eccentricity to avoid utterly craven stupidity.
  4. 20
    Russo tries to pick up the gaping chasm of slack and get a little energy going, but she just looks embarrassed to be yelling at a car, arguing with a car, flirting with a car, whatever.
  5. [An] almost hilariously cheesy remake of the David Hasselhoff original.
  6. Knight Rider, a remake that stays true to the awfulness of the original. It's so bad it's good, in a bad way.
  7. 0
    I'm paying a bounty of $5 per vicious blow administered to the heads of any NBC executive involved in any way with Knight Rider, which cost me an hour of my life and 50 IQ points that I'll never get back.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 12 out of 25
  1. SH
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Is the show cheesy? Are some of the FX laughably lame (i.e. Attack Mode... WTF?) YES, but are you forgetting just how cheesy & often stupid the original 80's series with The Hoff was? Stop complaining! If you hate the show so much, watch your ever-overglorified Pushing Daisies or some other dreck that only giddy teenagers or shut-ins would like. As for those of you complaining about the T&A, get real. Transformers movie was geared towards 10-15 year-olds as well and it featured an entire scene discussing masturbation!!! Talk about awkward & inappropriate! Expand
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    This rocks.. Better than the old one in many ways... Look at the car... Those new technology... The attack mode is cool... There's no way the old one is better... Expand
  3. May 21, 2014
    10
    According to the critics, this sucks.. According to me this rocks... We are in 2014 guys, just watch it with ur popcorn.. Ull tell me.. It's worth our time,,, Expand
  4. TaomanT
    Oct 23, 2008
    7
    The show is uneven. It is, at times, either good, above average, mediocre or bad. This is valid for all aspects, such acting, special effect, action scenes etc. Over all it is a light but enjoyable show like its predecessor. Expand
  5. CJM
    Oct 2, 2008
    1
    I had low expectations going in, from the movie. The movie was enjoyable, and for the most part, believable. Not the premiere. The series should have either been lighthearted Camp, or somewhat intelligent. It fails at both. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Sep 25, 2008
    0
    Gut-wrenchingly HORRIBLE!!! Zero stars...... NBC has got to be smoking crack..... Tell me. How can a plot targeted for 10 - 12 year olds be successful when part of the storyline includes discussions about watching porn? I'm heading for the hills if it now is becoming casually customary to be exposing our pre-teens to the notion of pornography on prime time network television. Someone needs to be fired at both NBC and the FCC. At best, this series lasts a month from a mangled train wreck of atrocious acting, a Power Rangers plot, and 3rd rate non-special effects. I need to go puke. Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2014
    0
    Must be the potato chips I Ate after I Seen knight rider 2008, my stomach was feeling a little queasy, the feeling worsen as KITT (Ford Mustang) turbo boosted in the air and landed down.

    But talk about an adventure tv show without a talking car, knight rider 2008, the 5th in the series of talking supercar epics is dead in the water.

    The original knight rider created by glen a larson remains a classic adventure tale, the shows shiny supercar, morose theme song and performances by david hasselhoff, william daniels and the late edward mulhare are forever ingrained in show lore

    the others, Knight Rider 2000, Knight Rider 2010 and team knight rider, need not be discussed, keep in mind that in each knight rider, KITT has grown into a new and spectaular method, so you'd think that?
    supposedly, by 2008.

    A Quarter century since michael long was shot and left for dead and then revived as michael knight and then retired in 1990.
    retired in 1990?

    come on.

    Now his son, played by an idiotic justin breuning is fighting criminals who operate above the law with his former girlfriend and love interest by a not so good deanna russo.

    now kitt voiced by another waste of talent val kilmer who's scientist (played by yet another waste of talent bruce davison) wants KITT to battle criminals, go figure.

    the rest of the show is pathetic, story goes nowhere, nothing to do.

    Knight Rider 2008 has plenty of people and very little talking car, the car also looks incredibly phony, in one scene, KITT morphs into a truck.
    and as for the final climate sequence in that premiere, Michael Knight II gets shot and killed by the fbi, only to be turned up minutes later without blood, what a joke.

    glad this version was cancelled.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews