• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Knight Rider Image
Metascore
21

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: KITT gets a makeover as well as a new driver in the form of Michael's son (Justin Bruening).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 18 out of 20
  1. 40
    Silliness limits this cartoon, which forces actors to take a back seat to know-it-all KITT (voice by Val Kilmer).
  2. ["Gary Unmarried"] has lots of laughs. But not as many as tonight’s episode of the new Knight Rider.
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    30
    Knight Rider arrives tricked out with just enough eccentricity to avoid utterly craven stupidity.
  4. 20
    Russo tries to pick up the gaping chasm of slack and get a little energy going, but she just looks embarrassed to be yelling at a car, arguing with a car, flirting with a car, whatever.
  5. [An] almost hilariously cheesy remake of the David Hasselhoff original.
  6. Knight Rider, a remake that stays true to the awfulness of the original. It's so bad it's good, in a bad way.
  7. 0
    I'm paying a bounty of $5 per vicious blow administered to the heads of any NBC executive involved in any way with Knight Rider, which cost me an hour of my life and 50 IQ points that I'll never get back.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 11 out of 18
  1. SH
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Is the show cheesy? Are some of the FX laughably lame (i.e. Attack Mode... WTF?) YES, but are you forgetting just how cheesy & often stupid the original 80's series with The Hoff was? Stop complaining! If you hate the show so much, watch your ever-overglorified Pushing Daisies or some other dreck that only giddy teenagers or shut-ins would like. As for those of you complaining about the T&A, get real. Transformers movie was geared towards 10-15 year-olds as well and it featured an entire scene discussing masturbation!!! Talk about awkward & inappropriate! Expand
  2. RajRam
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    More car than people...but still good.
  3. KristyM.
    Oct 16, 2008
    8
    Some of us really do enjoy this show. Everyone needs to quit picking on it. Sure the acting is a bit campy, but so was Vegas, which was a big hit.
  4. CJM
    Oct 2, 2008
    1
    I had low expectations going in, from the movie. The movie was enjoyable, and for the most part, believable. Not the premiere. The series should have either been lighthearted Camp, or somewhat intelligent. It fails at both. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 25, 2008
    0
    Gut-wrenchingly HORRIBLE!!! Zero stars...... NBC has got to be smoking crack..... Tell me. How can a plot targeted for 10 - 12 year olds be successful when part of the storyline includes discussions about watching porn? I'm heading for the hills if it now is becoming casually customary to be exposing our pre-teens to the notion of pornography on prime time network television. Someone needs to be fired at both NBC and the FCC. At best, this series lasts a month from a mangled train wreck of atrocious acting, a Power Rangers plot, and 3rd rate non-special effects. I need to go puke. Expand
  6. DanielK
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    The show is TERRIBLE. Just simply atrocious. I really was interested in it, and started watching the premier episode, and immediately realized that I would not like the show. I then tried to watch the second episode the next week, and I simply could not make it through more than 10 minutes. I ended fast-forwarding through it and deleting. There simply is no redeeming factor to Knight Rider, the bottom of the barrel all around. It really feels like a joke when watching it, like something that could be written by SNL. I'm also amazed that NBC decided NOT to cancel it! They are renewing it for more episodes. Wow. Guess the Ford advertising makes it worth it for them. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    A remake redud. Back in the day, I was growing up watching Knight Rider, the show where David Hasselhoff is best remembered along with his car sidekick, KITT. Too bad The Hoff is now on the UK version of America's Got Talent. NBC tried to relieve the series into an orderly fashioned hit. But seeing Val Kilmer in the mix, he can't even fill onto Michael Turner's shoes. KITT was still cool, I really like that car. It reminds me of the Delorean from Back to the Future. But the new Knight Rider, totally unacceptable. Poor acting, wasteless 30 minutes of junk, and the only shows that definitely got the right reboots were Dallas and Hawaii Five-O. Maybe next time, NBC should not do any more reboots after that. Knight Rider is one of the worst TV reboots of all time. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews