Kroll Show Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the new sketch comedy show from The League's Nick Kroll.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Adam B. Vary
    Jan 14, 2013
    83
    Kroll Show runs on the idea that imitation is the highest form of parody, skewering, through pitch-perfect re-creation.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 15, 2013
    75
    Kroll Show works often enough to make a name for itself among young males in particular. Men of a certain age might be more resistant, but still susceptible.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 16, 2013
    40
    In almost every case, even the good concepts (like Kroll as a mic'ed up referee during an NBA game, needily badgering the players) peter out, while the more esoteric ones, such as a spoof of Canadian dramas, are a little too precious for their own good, eh?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 13 out of 20
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Rich Dicks alone justifies the existence of this show. Add in all the great Bobby Bottleservice stuff, Oh Hello and Pony Tales and you have the funniest new show of the year. What I was impressed with the most is the show's ability to build a dense world for itself. Tiny references to things that happened previously on the show are thrown in at key moments to establish the dense mythology that one can imagine will only get deeper and therefore funnier in future seasons. Most of the morons who reviewed the show here only did so after watching episode 1. Shame on them. This is a show that deserves a full evaluation. Not an insta reaction. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe it's just me, conditioned by enough oddball sketch show comedy from the UK and Australia that I don't mind the offbeat humour on offer here, but I found the first three episodes of "Kroll Show" consistently hilarious. While lacking the mile-a-minute laughter you might expect from previous genre favourites, Kroll and Co.'s comedy continually hit the mark in concept, aping--for example--the editing and dramatic conventions of reality TV so immaculately that you can't help but chuckle (or cry, if you flip to TLC soon after and find no difference between imitation and "reality"). Anyone familiar with the sensationalist, unintentionally funny offerings of Zac Bagens' "Ghost Adventures," for instance, should get a fair bit of laughs out of Kroll's "Ghost Bouncers" sketch, in which a gweedo Kroll and crew investigate "para-legal" activity with unnecessary bravado and spout what is "very much" poor grammar.

    On their own, you might not find that these parodies elicit enough laughter to justify your time, but even the bizarre "Wheels Ontario"--which plays like the unexpected child of a teenage "Degrassi Jr. High"--is funny enough in retrospect even while it's actual substance might hit and miss (must refrain from making a "whurling" pun here). In other words, check this show out if you're looking for a satirical take on pop culture, rather than the usual, self-contained humour of conventional sketch shows
    Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2013
    7
    Once you get past the first episode, it starts to get consistently good and funny. Give it another go if you turned it off early, seriously. It's like night and day how much better the show has gotten in just a few episodes; most comedies take an entire season to get this good. I hope enough people stayed with it, because the show does deserve the viewership. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    1
    I thought it was going to be great because Kroll is funny as hell in the League. But this is just god awful. Total fail. Good thing its on after workaholics so no one has to watch this crap before an actual funny show comes on. Don't waste your time watching this terrible attempt of a skit comedy show. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2013
    1
    Kroll rules on The League, which is why I couldn't wait to watch him on his own show. I made it through the halfway point of one episode and I was stunned - it's just really, really bad. It's as bad as The League is good. I don't know if he has bad writers on this show helping him, something is just really wrong here. There is just nothing funny going on. It was hard to watch. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    the show is the opposite of funny. Nick kroll needs to retire and stop fouling up the humor business. He can make a fortune working for his dad. humor just isn't his gift. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    I was excited to watch this .Had it on the DVR and everything. Then I watched it and I was like huh?! This isn't funny at all. So many things not funny with this show. Don't waste your time with this. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews