• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 29, 2011
    25
    Allen tries too hard to be cranky and offensive and misogynistic and yet ultimately--aww--a good guy.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 11, 2011
    25
    It's strange that the same network that airs these two stellar comedies [Modern Family & The Middle] would chose to regress and put this dreck on the air.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 7, 2011
    25
    We're supposed to believe that there's a nice guy lurking underneath that misogynistic, bigoted shell. But just like everything that's for sale at Outdoor Man, I'm not buying it.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 11, 2011
    33
    The whole thing feels like a gross miscalculation--a failed attempt to update Allen's familiar persona for an angrier, more desperate time.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 11, 2011
    30
    The jokes and plots have been efficiently constructed, but most have no traction; they slide right off you, and the characters themselves seem disconnected from one another.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 11, 2011
    0
    With tediously unfunny scripts and a listless cast that looks as if it can barely wait for the director to shout "Cut!" so it can head en masse to the unemployment office, Last Man Standing is some kind of voracious video parasite that sucks out all intellect, sense of purpose or will to live.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 11, 2011
    20
    Everything in Mike's life seems contrived to set up ba-ba-boom punch lines.
  8. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 7, 2011
    33
    Dreadful. Or to use a more manly phrase, aaarrgggh, awful.
  9. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 7, 2011
    38
    Allen and Travis, who are both better than you r average comic actor, seem aware that they're trapped in a particular cookie-cutter sitcom hell, forced to laugh their way through stale gags about kids while other new TV comedies explore family life with clever, contemporary touches. [17 Oct 2011, p.39]
  10. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 11, 2011
    30
    We all know Allen can work a punchline. He just shouldn't have to be working these so hard.
  11. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 10, 2011
    30
    It feels both orchestrated and dated, like a show whose time came and went around the same TV era that "Home Improvement" aired in.
  12. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Very probably the worst sitcom on network television, Last Man Standing makes Whitney Cummings look like Noël Coward.
  13. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Oct 11, 2011
    20
    It's a stale sitcom right out of the early '90s, and like Mike, it seems to believe it can just harangue the world into changing back with it.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 11, 2011
    20
    It's pretty much impossible to care, since we've heard it all before, and it was funnier and fresher the first time around.
  15. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 10, 2011
    30
    Mostly, it's an excuse to watch Allen occupy an Archie Bunker-like role 20 years after he began raking in cash for ABC. Good luck catching lightning in a bottle twice.
  16. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Oct 11, 2011
    10
    It's less of a newly conceived comedy and more of a prime-time haunting.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    4
    It started out quite good but once it got going the family just got boring. There are a few jokes per episode that are funny but most of themIt started out quite good but once it got going the family just got boring. There are a few jokes per episode that are funny but most of them fall flat. It kinda feels like an American version of 'My Family' but worse. Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    this is the best thing to happen to tv since 1992. Thats right.. when home improvement started. I miss home improvement and it was a greatthis is the best thing to happen to tv since 1992. Thats right.. when home improvement started. I miss home improvement and it was a great show with a great cast. I love this show, but small issue is nancy travis, she is not a good mother figure for this. And it makes a feel weird seing tim with nancy on here and not jill. It makes me feel he left her since 1999 and stuff and not seing wilson over the fence and tool time. I miss home improvement. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Love this show! It reminds me of the sitcoms I grew up with in the 90's!!! Tim Allen is funny as usual!