Last Man Standing (2011) : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 87
  2. Negative: 21 out of 87

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 26, 2016
    10
    This is a great show. The plots have been struggling as the children age (which is par for the course in family based comedies) but overall it's an excellent show.

    If you haven't watched it start from season 1. It's binge-watching worthy.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    I like it . we don't have many show like this at the time so i like it ! its not super awesome but its really good . Tim Alan is awesome . pilot episode was so funny . all the daughters have really funny character .looking forward to more funny plots .
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    I like this show. The first few episodes were clunky at best contained enough promise to keep me watching. Is it perfect? No. Overall, the tone is light, sweet and laugh out loud funny.
  4. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Love this show! It reminds me of the sitcoms I grew up with in the 90's!!! Tim Allen is funny as usual!
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A pretty good show with a lot of potential the writing is excellent, the acting is admittedly sub-par and Tim Allens vlogs are hilarious as well as offers powerful insight into the plight of the modern day man. Finally a show that 21st century namby pambys can learn from. In this day and age of neurotic shy love-struck male leads such as "Raising Hope" "Wilfred" and even "Glee" (on aA pretty good show with a lot of potential the writing is excellent, the acting is admittedly sub-par and Tim Allens vlogs are hilarious as well as offers powerful insight into the plight of the modern day man. Finally a show that 21st century namby pambys can learn from. In this day and age of neurotic shy love-struck male leads such as "Raising Hope" "Wilfred" and even "Glee" (on a whole new level of femininity) its good for kids to see how a real man is supposed to look. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    Actually pretty funny. In the same ball park as Home Improvement but certainly a different show and plot line as he is the father of 3, 1 of which is a single mother. Good for a 30 min sitcom.
  7. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    I'm not a huge Tim Allen fan, not a big Home Improvement fan, but Last Man Standing is one show I DVR every week. It's fresh; it's funny. The writing contains some surprises. The daughters' roles are diverse and clearly defined yet allowed to develop into rounded, believable characters. This is true, but to a lesser extent, of Kyle (Christoph Sanders) and of Ed (Hector Elizondo). OverallI'm not a huge Tim Allen fan, not a big Home Improvement fan, but Last Man Standing is one show I DVR every week. It's fresh; it's funny. The writing contains some surprises. The daughters' roles are diverse and clearly defined yet allowed to develop into rounded, believable characters. This is true, but to a lesser extent, of Kyle (Christoph Sanders) and of Ed (Hector Elizondo). Overall the show is fun, funny, well-crafted, and well-produced. To say that it's Home Improvement with daughters instead of sons misses the point. It's a family sitcom with equal parts humor and warmth and I, for one, like that combination a lot. Collapse
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    this is the best thing to happen to tv since 1992. Thats right.. when home improvement started. I miss home improvement and it was a great show with a great cast. I love this show, but small issue is nancy travis, she is not a good mother figure for this. And it makes a feel weird seing tim with nancy on here and not jill. It makes me feel he left her since 1999 and stuff and not seingthis is the best thing to happen to tv since 1992. Thats right.. when home improvement started. I miss home improvement and it was a great show with a great cast. I love this show, but small issue is nancy travis, she is not a good mother figure for this. And it makes a feel weird seing tim with nancy on here and not jill. It makes me feel he left her since 1999 and stuff and not seing wilson over the fence and tool time. I miss home improvement. Expand
  9. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Lighten up a little. All these shows are for entertaining the audience. Being critical of unrealistic situations is not a concern, it is whether the show has value as entertainment and this show does. Writing could be a little better but it is still enjoyable and especially for that time slot.
  10. Aug 23, 2012
    8
    The formula is definitely overused, but the show is fun to watch and the cast is great. I am a Tim Allen fan, so to see him back on tv is a treat. I hope the second season adds a little more comedy, but I am okay with what was presented in the first season. Like Home Improvement with female kids, not too much of a stretch for him.
  11. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    we all fans of Tim Allen's from Home Improvement days were eagerly waiting for his return to sitcom and its good to see him back after almost a decade. but the show is no where near to home improvement & their is nothing to blame Tim Allen or cast, its the script though by end of first season i think its getting better.Anonther flaw that i find with the series is that the character ofwe all fans of Tim Allen's from Home Improvement days were eagerly waiting for his return to sitcom and its good to see him back after almost a decade. but the show is no where near to home improvement & their is nothing to blame Tim Allen or cast, its the script though by end of first season i think its getting better.Anonther flaw that i find with the series is that the character of Tim is quite tone down i dont know maybe its his age which has something to do with it. But still i fond it quite entertaining & waiting for second season. Expand
  12. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    I love this show. I typically do not get into modern sitcoms because they all seem to jam an agenda down your throat but this one does quite the opposite. This is a throwback to traditional American values when a male was allowed to be a male without being called a mysogynist or accused of committing micro-aggressions against folks who are gender fluid. In today's misandristic pop and TVI love this show. I typically do not get into modern sitcoms because they all seem to jam an agenda down your throat but this one does quite the opposite. This is a throwback to traditional American values when a male was allowed to be a male without being called a mysogynist or accused of committing micro-aggressions against folks who are gender fluid. In today's misandristic pop and TV culture this is a fresh look. It's okay to make fun of anything that is traditionally American in mainstream TV but this does the opposite and hammers people like Hillary Clinton and Barrack Obama. An episode started with him acquiring an old muscle car and I couldn't help but think what would happen if Jay Leno were to team up with Tim Allen. Sure enough Jay appeared in that very episode and they both made fun of Obama. I genuinely enjoy this throwback to the 90s and the fact that mainstream media articles deem the show "mysoginistic" makes it an even better show. Maybe if one of the daughters becomes a lesbian the mainstream media will hail it as a work of art? Expand
  13. Feb 24, 2017
    10
    Considering that season one is usually for working out the kinks and having growing pains, Last Man Standing did pretty well. I see how the TV critics would be bashing the show, it has morals and a conservative message, so the usual hatred can be expected from the MSM. I give the producers and ABC credit for putting this on the air. Now that it's in season 6, and they have worked out theConsidering that season one is usually for working out the kinks and having growing pains, Last Man Standing did pretty well. I see how the TV critics would be bashing the show, it has morals and a conservative message, so the usual hatred can be expected from the MSM. I give the producers and ABC credit for putting this on the air. Now that it's in season 6, and they have worked out the cast kinks, and introduced new, interesting characters, I would like to have seen new reviews from those who bashed it in the first season. I doubt the critics would admit they were wrong, but I have hope. At least there is something out there on the networks that is for people that aren't jaded progressives. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Welch
    Oct 13, 2011
    60
    While it returns Allen to a Mr. Fix-it style of parenting and some broad he-man comedy, the show offers fewer grunts and more shrieking female voices.
  2. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Very probably the worst sitcom on network television, Last Man Standing makes Whitney Cummings look like Noël Coward.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 11, 2011
    25
    It's strange that the same network that airs these two stellar comedies [Modern Family & The Middle] would chose to regress and put this dreck on the air.