• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 66
  2. Negative: 18 out of 66

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    this was horrible tim allens not funny he never has been home improvment wasnt funny hes not a good comedian this is realy bad and i wont watch it anymore
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Love this show! It reminds me of the sitcoms I grew up with in the 90's!!! Tim Allen is funny as usual!
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    this is the best thing to happen to tv since 1992. Thats right.. when home improvement started. I miss home improvement and it was a great show with a great cast. I love this show, but small issue is nancy travis, she is not a good mother figure for this. And it makes a feel weird seing tim with nancy on here and not jill. It makes me feel he left her since 1999 and stuff and not seing wilson over the fence and tool time. I miss home improvement. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    4
    It started out quite good but once it got going the family just got boring. There are a few jokes per episode that are funny but most of them fall flat. It kinda feels like an American version of 'My Family' but worse.
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    I like it . we don't have many show like this at the time so i like it ! its not super awesome but its really good . Tim Alan is awesome . pilot episode was so funny . all the daughters have really funny character .looking forward to more funny plots .
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    With this show, you can't take things so seriously. Allen's already admitted that it's a nearly identical premise to Home Improvement. Sometimes, for a family comedy, there needs to be a slapstick situation with a dumb punchline. So many shows strive for the all-to-real awkward silence instead of a laugh track outcome, which in most cases is commendable. But, with this show, it's better to just take it with a grain of salt and a light heart. It's a harmless sitcom that doesn't expect much from you as a viewer, so don't go into it expecting Modern Family. Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2011
    2
    why in this day and age are you makeing the man a idiot,he must be really rich.a young girl can buy 500$ in clothes and he is good with this.once again the man say's no an the wife correct's him.it's called repetition.why can't he win .?wrong messege and not even close to real life.you have no ideas of the real impact you are doing.this show will not last.we are tired of rich.he works at a 16$ hr job unless bass pro shoppe pays more than me.crap and sad.this will not last. Expand
  8. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Lighten up a little. All these shows are for entertaining the audience. Being critical of unrealistic situations is not a concern, it is whether the show has value as entertainment and this show does. Writing could be a little better but it is still enjoyable and especially for that time slot.
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A pretty good show with a lot of potential the writing is excellent, the acting is admittedly sub-par and Tim Allens vlogs are hilarious as well as offers powerful insight into the plight of the modern day man. Finally a show that 21st century namby pambys can learn from. In this day and age of neurotic shy love-struck male leads such as "Raising Hope" "Wilfred" and even "Glee" (on a whole new level of femininity) its good for kids to see how a real man is supposed to look. Expand
  10. Oct 27, 2011
    1
    What a horrible show and what a waste of talent. Lazy writing, bad acting and predictable. I was so excited to see Tim Allen back. But the show is just stupid and not even funny. Tim Allen is a "manly man" (whatever that means). Since he's a "real man", he's also homophobic and islamophobe and xenophobic, because we all know that real men don't tolerate any of that nonsense. He doesn't believe in baby proofing his house and when his wife forces him to, of course she is proven wrong. How can a woman know better than a manly man. Being super manly, he's really enjoys being at work because it "smells like balls" (umm, I am straight and I have no idea what that means. May be I would if I were gay. How does a homophobe "manly man" knows what balls smell like?)

    The show is politically incorrect enough to be annoying but not enough to be funny (hint: take cues from Family Guy or if you want to be PG, then Simpsons). Overall, the writing and acting is so bad that even Tim Allen cannot save the show. Which is sad because the overall concept of a "traditional man coping in a world where the definition of manhood is changing" really appealed to me. I do make fun of so-called "metrosexuals". Or "half fruits", as "Joy" in "My Name is Earl" called them. Now that's a funny term. The show might have been funny if they went Family Guy style politically incorrect. Or if they opted to stick with the standard "the manly man eats humble pie at the end for his narrow mindedness" format (in this show the "manly man" is proven correct, the woman is wrong). And what the heck is up with his alcoholic wife who's in the show to just smile? Or his stereotypical daughters? There are plenty of hilarious sitcoms these days. How I Met Your Mother, Modern Family, Community and even The Middle are all very good. There's no need to waste time with this one. That said, I do believe that the concep has potential and Tim Allen is very talented. But writers need to be fired and new ones need to be brought in to salvage this show. I predict this one won't see season-2.
    Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    Actually pretty funny. In the same ball park as Home Improvement but certainly a different show and plot line as he is the father of 3, 1 of which is a single mother. Good for a 30 min sitcom.
  12. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    Boy this was bad and this coming from a huge Tim allen fan, this show should be canceled ASAP, I can´t believe anyone even still watches this mess. Hopefully Tim Allen finally gets himself a worthy vehicle and not something as tragic as this sitcom.
  13. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    I'm not a huge Tim Allen fan, not a big Home Improvement fan, but Last Man Standing is one show I DVR every week. It's fresh; it's funny. The writing contains some surprises. The daughters' roles are diverse and clearly defined yet allowed to develop into rounded, believable characters. This is true, but to a lesser extent, of Kyle (Christoph Sanders) and of Ed (Hector Elizondo). Overall the show is fun, funny, well-crafted, and well-produced. To say that it's Home Improvement with daughters instead of sons misses the point. It's a family sitcom with equal parts humor and warmth and I, for one, like that combination a lot. Collapse
  14. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    I like this show. The first few episodes were clunky at best contained enough promise to keep me watching. Is it perfect? No. Overall, the tone is light, sweet and laugh out loud funny.
  15. Oct 4, 2014
    1
    A show full of stereotype jokes which aren't funny at all. We get it, the writers of the show hate Obama and the Liberals and like to make fun of the rules of modern society.
    Bottom line: boring, not funny and too many political statements. Don't waste your time watching this show.
  16. May 23, 2012
    6
    Last Man Standing is everything bad that all the people out there say it is. Still, I gotta claim guilty pleasure here. I watch it with my father-in-law, who, born in the 1940's, is very much part of "man's man" nation where Clint Eastwood and Tom Selleck are gods and the word "tampon" is unlawful to be uttered by male lips. I guess I just like watching him watch. He laughs so hard at the man jokes that I can't help but enjoy myself when this show is on. Expand
  17. Oct 20, 2011
    6
    I believe this show has alot of potential. I watched the first 2 episodes and im sure ill be watching the rest of the season. Tim Allen is very funny, his daughters can be annoying at times, and the mom is boring, but Tim Allen makes up for their lack of humour. I dont know why it has such a bad critic rating but its definitely a fun show to watch. Look forward to the rest of the season
  18. Aug 23, 2012
    8
    The formula is definitely overused, but the show is fun to watch and the cast is great. I am a Tim Allen fan, so to see him back on tv is a treat. I hope the second season adds a little more comedy, but I am okay with what was presented in the first season. Like Home Improvement with female kids, not too much of a stretch for him.
  19. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    we all fans of Tim Allen's from Home Improvement days were eagerly waiting for his return to sitcom and its good to see him back after almost a decade. but the show is no where near to home improvement & their is nothing to blame Tim Allen or cast, its the script though by end of first season i think its getting better.Anonther flaw that i find with the series is that the character of Tim is quite tone down i dont know maybe its his age which has something to do with it. But still i fond it quite entertaining & waiting for second season. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Welch
    Oct 13, 2011
    60
    While it returns Allen to a Mr. Fix-it style of parenting and some broad he-man comedy, the show offers fewer grunts and more shrieking female voices.
  2. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Very probably the worst sitcom on network television, Last Man Standing makes Whitney Cummings look like Noël Coward.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 11, 2011
    25
    It's strange that the same network that airs these two stellar comedies [Modern Family & The Middle] would chose to regress and put this dreck on the air.