• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Last Man Standing (2011) Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Nancy Travis, Hector Elizondo, Tim Allen
  • Summary: Tim Allen returns to network television as Max Baxter, who feels outnumbered by his wife and three daughters.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
  • Creator: Jack Burditt
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 11, 2011
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 11, 2011
    63
    It's all standard stuff, but outside of the tiresome, heard-it-all-before rants, it's not without its appeal.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Oct 11, 2011
    50
    It still carries a decidedly throwback vibe, and the ongoing bluster about the state of manhood in the world feels, at best, two steps behind the times.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 10, 2011
    42
    Allen's mere presence may keep it in business for a while. But it already seems as though it belongs on TV Land, where Home Improvement repeats already reside.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 11, 2011
    30
    We all know Allen can work a punchline. He just shouldn't have to be working these so hard.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 11, 2011
    25
    It's strange that the same network that airs these two stellar comedies [Modern Family & The Middle] would chose to regress and put this dreck on the air.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 11, 2011
    20
    Everything in Mike's life seems contrived to set up ba-ba-boom punch lines.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 11, 2011
    0
    With tediously unfunny scripts and a listless cast that looks as if it can barely wait for the director to shout "Cut!" so it can head en masse to the unemployment office, Last Man Standing is some kind of voracious video parasite that sucks out all intellect, sense of purpose or will to live.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    this is the best thing to happen to tv since 1992. Thats right.. when home improvement started. I miss home improvement and it was a great show with a great cast. I love this show, but small issue is nancy travis, she is not a good mother figure for this. And it makes a feel weird seing tim with nancy on here and not jill. It makes me feel he left her since 1999 and stuff and not seing wilson over the fence and tool time. I miss home improvement. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A pretty good show with a lot of potential the writing is excellent, the acting is admittedly sub-par and Tim Allens vlogs are hilarious as well as offers powerful insight into the plight of the modern day man. Finally a show that 21st century namby pambys can learn from. In this day and age of neurotic shy love-struck male leads such as "Raising Hope" "Wilfred" and even "Glee" (on a whole new level of femininity) its good for kids to see how a real man is supposed to look. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    I'm not a huge Tim Allen fan, not a big Home Improvement fan, but Last Man Standing is one show I DVR every week. It's fresh; it's funny. The writing contains some surprises. The daughters' roles are diverse and clearly defined yet allowed to develop into rounded, believable characters. This is true, but to a lesser extent, of Kyle (Christoph Sanders) and of Ed (Hector Elizondo). Overall the show is fun, funny, well-crafted, and well-produced. To say that it's Home Improvement with daughters instead of sons misses the point. It's a family sitcom with equal parts humor and warmth and I, for one, like that combination a lot. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    Actually pretty funny. In the same ball park as Home Improvement but certainly a different show and plot line as he is the father of 3, 1 of which is a single mother. Good for a 30 min sitcom. Expand
  5. May 23, 2012
    6
    Last Man Standing is everything bad that all the people out there say it is. Still, I gotta claim guilty pleasure here. I watch it with my father-in-law, who, born in the 1940's, is very much part of "man's man" nation where Clint Eastwood and Tom Selleck are gods and the word "tampon" is unlawful to be uttered by male lips. I guess I just like watching him watch. He laughs so hard at the man jokes that I can't help but enjoy myself when this show is on. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    4
    It started out quite good but once it got going the family just got boring. There are a few jokes per episode that are funny but most of them fall flat. It kinda feels like an American version of 'My Family' but worse. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    Boy this was bad and this coming from a huge Tim allen fan, this show should be canceled ASAP, I can´t believe anyone even still watches this mess. Hopefully Tim Allen finally gets himself a worthy vehicle and not something as tragic as this sitcom. Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  3. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.