Last Man Standing (2011) : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Last Man Standing (2011) Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Tim Allen returns to network television as Max Baxter, who feels outnumbered by his wife and three daughters.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 11, 2011
    63
    It's all standard stuff, but outside of the tiresome, heard-it-all-before rants, it's not without its appeal.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 11, 2011
    50
    The only differences between Last Man Standing and the old "Home Improvement" are that Allen's name is Mike this time, his job is working for a sporting goods company as opposed to a hardware manufacturer, and his three kids are teenage daughters.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 10, 2011
    42
    Allen's mere presence may keep it in business for a while. But it already seems as though it belongs on TV Land, where Home Improvement repeats already reside.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 11, 2011
    30
    We all know Allen can work a punchline. He just shouldn't have to be working these so hard.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 11, 2011
    25
    It's strange that the same network that airs these two stellar comedies [Modern Family & The Middle] would chose to regress and put this dreck on the air.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 11, 2011
    20
    Everything in Mike's life seems contrived to set up ba-ba-boom punch lines.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 11, 2011
    0
    With tediously unfunny scripts and a listless cast that looks as if it can barely wait for the director to shout "Cut!" so it can head en masse to the unemployment office, Last Man Standing is some kind of voracious video parasite that sucks out all intellect, sense of purpose or will to live.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    I love this show. I typically do not get into modern sitcoms because they all seem to jam an agenda down your throat but this one does quiteI love this show. I typically do not get into modern sitcoms because they all seem to jam an agenda down your throat but this one does quite the opposite. This is a throwback to traditional American values when a male was allowed to be a male without being called a mysogynist or accused of committing micro-aggressions against folks who are gender fluid. In today's misandristic pop and TV culture this is a fresh look. It's okay to make fun of anything that is traditionally American in mainstream TV but this does the opposite and hammers people like Hillary Clinton and Barrack Obama. An episode started with him acquiring an old muscle car and I couldn't help but think what would happen if Jay Leno were to team up with Tim Allen. Sure enough Jay appeared in that very episode and they both made fun of Obama. I genuinely enjoy this throwback to the 90s and the fact that mainstream media articles deem the show "mysoginistic" makes it an even better show. Maybe if one of the daughters becomes a lesbian the mainstream media will hail it as a work of art? Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A pretty good show with a lot of potential the writing is excellent, the acting is admittedly sub-par and Tim Allens vlogs are hilarious asA pretty good show with a lot of potential the writing is excellent, the acting is admittedly sub-par and Tim Allens vlogs are hilarious as well as offers powerful insight into the plight of the modern day man. Finally a show that 21st century namby pambys can learn from. In this day and age of neurotic shy love-struck male leads such as "Raising Hope" "Wilfred" and even "Glee" (on a whole new level of femininity) its good for kids to see how a real man is supposed to look. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    this is the best thing to happen to tv since 1992. Thats right.. when home improvement started. I miss home improvement and it was a greatthis is the best thing to happen to tv since 1992. Thats right.. when home improvement started. I miss home improvement and it was a great show with a great cast. I love this show, but small issue is nancy travis, she is not a good mother figure for this. And it makes a feel weird seing tim with nancy on here and not jill. It makes me feel he left her since 1999 and stuff and not seing wilson over the fence and tool time. I miss home improvement. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    we all fans of Tim Allen's from Home Improvement days were eagerly waiting for his return to sitcom and its good to see him back afterwe all fans of Tim Allen's from Home Improvement days were eagerly waiting for his return to sitcom and its good to see him back after almost a decade. but the show is no where near to home improvement & their is nothing to blame Tim Allen or cast, its the script though by end of first season i think its getting better.Anonther flaw that i find with the series is that the character of Tim is quite tone down i dont know maybe its his age which has something to do with it. But still i fond it quite entertaining & waiting for second season. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    6
    I believe this show has alot of potential. I watched the first 2 episodes and im sure ill be watching the rest of the season. Tim Allen isI believe this show has alot of potential. I watched the first 2 episodes and im sure ill be watching the rest of the season. Tim Allen is very funny, his daughters can be annoying at times, and the mom is boring, but Tim Allen makes up for their lack of humour. I dont know why it has such a bad critic rating but its definitely a fun show to watch. Look forward to the rest of the season Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    With this show, you can't take things so seriously. Allen's already admitted that it's a nearly identical premise to Home Improvement.With this show, you can't take things so seriously. Allen's already admitted that it's a nearly identical premise to Home Improvement. Sometimes, for a family comedy, there needs to be a slapstick situation with a dumb punchline. So many shows strive for the all-to-real awkward silence instead of a laugh track outcome, which in most cases is commendable. But, with this show, it's better to just take it with a grain of salt and a light heart. It's a harmless sitcom that doesn't expect much from you as a viewer, so don't go into it expecting Modern Family. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    this was horrible tim allens not funny he never has been home improvment wasnt funny hes not a good comedian this is realy bad and i wontthis was horrible tim allens not funny he never has been home improvment wasnt funny hes not a good comedian this is realy bad and i wont watch it anymore Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  3. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.