• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 27, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Last Resort Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The USS Colorado is forced to take refuge on the island nation of Sainte Marina after it refuses orders to fire nuclear missiles at Pakistan. A number of circumstances causes both Captain Marcus Chaplin (Andre Braugher) and Lt. Commander Sam Kendal (Scott Speedman) to suspect they were setThe USS Colorado is forced to take refuge on the island nation of Sainte Marina after it refuses orders to fire nuclear missiles at Pakistan. A number of circumstances causes both Captain Marcus Chaplin (Andre Braugher) and Lt. Commander Sam Kendal (Scott Speedman) to suspect they were set up to cause trouble in the Middle East. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Last Resort [is] another epic, ambitious and distinctive new show that is cause for excitement.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 26, 2012
    88
    It's the season's riskiest new series, but also one of the best.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 26, 2012
    80
    What constitutes a nation? This is the heady question that underpins the action-movie thrills of ABC's submarine-gone-righteously-rogue drama Last Resort, one of the most promising dramas of the fall season.
  4. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 28, 2012
    80
    The show has one of the most thrilling pilots of recent years, but there are a few growing pains in the subsequent two episodes as the show sorts out the weight it gives stories involving the sub's crew, the locals on the tropical island they commandeer and the people back home who have connections to the sub.
  5. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Sep 26, 2012
    75
    The series manages to be both entertaining and self-reflexive, populist and purposeful, and that's a rare thing in and of itself.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    75
    This new series is a bold military thriller. [8 Oct 2012, p.60]
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 27, 2012
    25
    To be fair, Last Resort does not insult ideology--it merely knocks your intelligence.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This is, by far, one of the best shows I've seen in years. Knew it would be pretty good with Shawn Ryan at the helm. Sooo different fromThis is, by far, one of the best shows I've seen in years. Knew it would be pretty good with Shawn Ryan at the helm. Sooo different from anything else out there. Not a police drama. Not a medical drama. And, so current in its subject matter. Love Andre Brauer, Scott Speedman, and the rest of the cast. Not just military, but great relationship drama. Hope to God this one stays on the air. It's one of the few I'm watching. A+++ Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Due to the nature of United States (USA) citizen nowadays protesting heavily on the rigged and lobbied United States governments lead byDue to the nature of United States (USA) citizen nowadays protesting heavily on the rigged and lobbied United States governments lead by Barrack Obama and the 1% of the elite class, ABC network reluctantly refused to let the series continued to Season 2.

    After relentlessly being pressured from the United States MK Ultras(hidden government within it), the Chinese government that basically owned Hollywood and also the Pakistani government the network have decided to pull the plug on the series.

    The series clearly shows how such false flag operations done illegally by the US could influenced the US foreign policy to invade or engage in war in other countries easily systematically.

    This series have also woken up 99% of the ''sleeping'' American citizen and also the vast population of people around the globe of what the United States government is capable of doing under their nose.

    From the Pearl Harbour incident to the Korean war ,the Gulf of Tonkin incident that triggered the Vietnam war, until recently the 9-11 the World Trade Centre implosion after the planes hit the tower and the ''pulling'' of Building 7 that triggered the war that is still ongoing in the Middle East,Pakistan and Afghanistan.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    By far this is one of the best shows to come out in years. An interesting plot, well written characters, and just enough action to keep peopleBy far this is one of the best shows to come out in years. An interesting plot, well written characters, and just enough action to keep people interested without being "overkill". My only real complaint about the show is that the premiere was only 1 hour, when it should have been a 2 or even 3 hour event. Hopefully we'll get a little more back story through flashbacks etc. in the coming episodes. 10/10! Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    About as well done as any new show out there. It appears that this is going to be another "Lost", but done better. I'm not much for serials,About as well done as any new show out there. It appears that this is going to be another "Lost", but done better. I'm not much for serials, but the first episode was done so well that I'm going to give it a shot......if I have enough space on my DVR. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    A great start but can it keep up it's momentum? Basically it's "Lost" on a submarine. You really have to turn off the "disbelief" andA great start but can it keep up it's momentum? Basically it's "Lost" on a submarine. You really have to turn off the "disbelief" and "ludicrous" button, but then TV viewers have been doing that for years. Like 24 you have to refrain from screaming "come on" too much at the screen and just relax and let action take you where it takes you. We all know Patrick will be a major pain in the ass as he sticks to the " I follow orders no matter how stupid they are" character. But getting us to believe the American media will be fooled by all of this is another story. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    I would not recommend this show to anyone, but I can understand why some people may enjoy it. The story is interesting, but the casting,I would not recommend this show to anyone, but I can understand why some people may enjoy it. The story is interesting, but the casting, acting, and writing are terrible. I stopped watching, and removed it from my DVR list after episode 2. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    I would rather watch the Teletubbies movie than this... horrible scripting, acting is weak and completely unbelievable situations. Why whyI would rather watch the Teletubbies movie than this... horrible scripting, acting is weak and completely unbelievable situations. Why why why? The only thing this had going for it was CGI. The clincher is when the crew breaks into dancing on deck when they cross the equator to the song La Bamba...what? why? Yack...I just threw up a little bit of my lunch. Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: Last Resort (ABC)

    Fall TV Second Look: Last Resort (ABC) Image
    Published: October 19, 2012
    ABC's action-filled drama "Last Resort" began as one of the best-reviewed new shows of the fall season. How is it holding up after four episodes? Get the latest critical consensus inside.
  2. 2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide

    2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide Image
    Published: August 28, 2012
    Our massive preview has details on the most promising new shows and your favorite returning series arriving during the coming months, from "Last Resort" and "Revolution" to "American Horror Story" and "The Walking Dead." You'll also find schedules for each night of the week, and a look at what the networks have planned for midseason.