• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 20, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Last Tango in Halifax Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Derek Jacobi, Anne Reid, Nicola Walker
  • Summary: Childhood sweethearts Allen (Derek Jacobi) and Celia (Anne Reid) reconnect and marry after nearly 60 years apart.
  • Genre(s): Drama
  • Creator: Sally Wainwright
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Nov 20, 2012
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 9, 2013
    90
    It is the best new show of the fall. It's a rapturous mix of absurdly fairy-tale-romance and frantic modern complications, set in the picturesque drear of Yorkshire and brought to life by masterfully shaded performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 5, 2013
    80
    An enchanting six-part series about lost love, missed opportunities and second chances.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 5, 2013
    80
    Last Tango in Halifax is an absorbing, sometimes surprising tale of late-in-life romance marked by stunning performances.
  4. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Sep 6, 2013
    80
    A high-hearted script awash in flinty wit and two extraordinary performances.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 9, 2013
    80
    A charming comedy-drama about finding new love late in life and all the complications that come with any coupling.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 5, 2013
    75
    A lot of momentum is lost having the lovers live 60 miles apart.... But the tender wrap-up will leave the waterworks flushed and refreshed. [9 Sep 2013, p.42]
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 6, 2013
    60
    It’s treacle, but it’s distinguished by several things, beginning with its relatively dry style and careful modulation of tone and volume--even the shouting and the car chases are discreetly tasteful.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    This series is a class act with great writing and beautiful performances. Anne Reid and Derek Jacobi bring out all the nuances of characterThis series is a class act with great writing and beautiful performances. Anne Reid and Derek Jacobi bring out all the nuances of character and the drama hits the nail on the head in showing us the bitter and the sweet of family life. There is also some lovely humour to be enjoyed. The whole cast is perfect. A small, but exquisite gem. Collapse
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    To be fair, I've only just watched the first episode, but it was so good and complex that I watched it twice. I can't wait to see more. ITo be fair, I've only just watched the first episode, but it was so good and complex that I watched it twice. I can't wait to see more. I was worried it would be some kind of thing like Red, with older characters acting young and one dimensional, but it is not. The older characters are fascinating and there are all age groups represented. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    8
    What a nice show! It's good to see Mr. Jacobi back on TV for any reason. I wasn't holding out major hopes for this show because I thoughtWhat a nice show! It's good to see Mr. Jacobi back on TV for any reason. I wasn't holding out major hopes for this show because I thought it had a bit of a Hallmark/Lifetime look to it but the convincing characters, first class acting, and believable writing have sold me on it. I await each episode with joyful anticipation. Expand